Angst Under Control, Really

All weekends should be 4 days long.  I’m just saying.  Waking up a little late and lazing around in bed 4 days a week would be so nice.  This is why no one lets me be in charge of anything.  I’d make that the standard policy. 🙂

All right, I’ll start out by apologizing a little for that last very ranty post.  I did need to get that out of my system, but sometimes I think I should avoid angsting in public.  It’s not nice to the people who read this blog to flood that all over the place.  I’ll try to avoid doing that too often, but I can’t go so far as to promise it’ll never happen again.  I’m sure it will, knowing myself as I do.

The good news is that I’ve done the rewrite on Chapter 1 of The Nine, and just finished rereading it.  We’re talking about a significant improvement here,  and though it isn’t perfect, it’s at least good enough to move on, so I’ll take it.  I also managed to get Chapter 2 done, and I was right, it wasn’t anywhere near as bad as Chapter 1.  It was in pretty decent shape, actually, so I’m going into Chapter 3 and beyond with some hope that maybe it was just me sitting there and info-dumping because, well, omg, there were two previous books and everyone needs to know all the things.  Except they don’t need to know everything and not all at once at the beginning.  If Chapter 1 is a slog, they likely won’t get to anything else because they’ll give up in disgust.  I’ve done that, so it’s very easy for me to envision others doing so.

You see, when I’m writing these trilogies, I have zero intention of making it so you can pick up book 3 and not bother reading the other two.  I’m sorry, but I HATE the idea that I have to, so I refuse to do it.  We aren’t talking about a long series here, and besides, the journey itself is part of the joy of reading trilogies and series for me, which means reading all the stories involved, rather than the short summary of what happened.  It’s about seeing the characters grow and try and eventually succeed.  You miss all that if you start skipping books.  I believe that, if your readers can skip whole books in the series, you’re doing it wrong (if they tell a continuous story, as opposed to existing simply in the same world with the same cast).  So that’s how I’m writing these.  Start at Book 1 or you’ll miss a lot.  It’s not about sales either, I swear.  I want you to go with my characters and experience their journey.  I wrote all the books for a reason, because there’s a whole story to tell.  Do yourself a favour, enjoy it all.  It’s worth it.

Sadly, I suspect that today will be spent mostly out of the house.  They’re just about to start banging on my balcony again and probably won’t quit for several hours.  Oh well.  Maybe I’ll get to see Mr. Textbook this time, or someone else really cute and intelligent.  Both are necessary traits, because I don’t date cute but dumb.  I like conversation too much for that to be anything but torture.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Angst Under Control, Really

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    Hope the balcony gets done soon! Construction noise is some of the worst, along with neighbors blaring their choice of music….

  2. Subtlekate says:

    I’m sorry about the ongoing noise. I do relate 😦 Don’t you worry about ranty posts. They are a great way to get out some frustrations.

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, but they can get old fast too, in my experience, if they’re done all the time. I should be okay if I only do them occasionally. 🙂

      At least it’s a long weekend, so I have a break right now from all the noise. They knocked off early today, and won’t be back on Monday. Yay!

  3. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Sorry I disappeared off the face of the earth… I took a week or so off from the interwebs to get some writing and life stuff done (yay booksales!!!).

    And, like I figured, I missed the big news of the end of Stitched! Congrats!!! Totally not surprising me you finished early, but 102k in 22 days?!! That’s about how much I wrote in the entirety of 2011! 😀 Ah, Julie, you just keep getting more amazing… Ooh, and bookcover! Can’t wait! 🙂

    No problem about the ranting – I can relate with the problems involved… And face it, your stories are “bound” (laughs at own joke before remembering it’s impolite to do so. *Ahem.*) to have some problems when written so fast… You really are too hard on yourself! You’re amazing, and that is that!

    Hope the construction finishes soon. Good luck on the edits and plotting and stuff! 😀 I can’t believe NaNo is only 2 months away!

    Oh, and I said I was going to announce loudly that I hit 50k… Well, I did! And 56k shortly thereafter, which is where I am at the moment and about to pop off to do more. SOOOO happy! I may actually manage to finish this month! 🙂

    Anyway, with that . . . er . . . lengthy letter, I shall consider myself returned. Glad to be back and reading your blog again! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Well, as long as it was writing-related, I totally forgive you. 😉

      As I’ve said, I just expected I’d have taken care of that particular type of problem in the first round of edits, but apparently not. Oh well. As for problems vs speed, keep in mind that there are layers of preparation that go on before I start writing. Most of the problems are worked out before I start actually doing the first draft. It’s not like I sit down and pants through it at that rate. That’s an alarming prospect.

      Yeah, I get a whole two months off before I write another book. I don’t think I’ve taken that long of a break all year 🙂 I’d ask what I’ll do with that time, but I have a novel to plan, two more to do second round edits on and another to do third. I think I’ll find a way to fill the hours, somehow.

      Congrats on 56k! Well done! Tell me you did some version of the happy dance when you hit 50k. If you didn’t, do it now. Better late than never. Always happy dance at milestones.

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        So glad to hear it. 😉

        Yes, I totally understand you have it figured out and that your first-drafts are good quality. I’m just saying that you shouldn’t beat yourself up over problems like that when overall you’re doing better than any writer I know of! 😀 You’re right though, that is an alarming prospect, pantsing it that fast…

        I’m sure you’ll fill in the time just fine! 😀 *is secretly laughing my head off for no apparent good reason*

        Thank you! 🙂 Well . . . I saw the number, stared at it for several seconds, squealed very loudly and dashed off to announce it very loudly to anyone who happened to be in the house. I’d say that might count. 😉 That’s a stupendous idea to happy dance at milestones… I hope to do that very soon with 60k. 😀

  4. phew, *breaths sigh of relief that editing continues apace*

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

