The Writer’s Magic Words

I think I just felt my brain give out.  I think it’s earned the rest of the night off though. It held on until the end like a good soldier.

Yes, that’s what I said. The. End. All Stitched Up is complete now. First draft done and in the can.  102,928 words, which makes it my longest workable first draft to date, and only a bit under 4k from being my longest draft of a novel ever.  Oh my god, let me sit here and catch my breath.  Devan took me for one wild ride with this one.  I wrote all that in 22 days.  Yeah, even I’m a bit amazed by that.

Yesterday was a fairly good day. I put in 5,202 words before reaching a good place at a good hour for stopping.  Today was good too, 3,476 words. As it’s still fairly early my time, a couple of writable hours left, I could have gone higher, except of course for the story being done. So yeah, that’s Camp NaNo – August wrapped up. I started late, finished early and can’t stop grinning as I pant for breath and massage my abused fingers. Okay, the digits aren’t that bad, but Carlin said every good joke needs at least one exaggeration and I’m taking him at his word.

So far, after 6 manuscripts completed (I count the first and second drafts of Bound separately because they were so different and I didn’t use anything from the first one to write the second one), this feeling doesn’t get old.  May it never cease to elate me.  Yes, I know there’s still plenty of work to do with it, but this is an important step. You can’t finish editing a manuscript you never finish writing, after all.  I have a fair idea of what’s going to happen with the first round on this one too, when I get to it, and you guessed it. I’m sure this one will grow. I wrote parts that I knew were going to grow when I wrote them. I was racing to keep up with my thoughts, to get the words in my brain transmitted out through my fingers. I mostly managed to keep up, but plenty of times, I know dialogue tags, actions and other grace notes got missed in the headlong plunge forward. I’m okay with that. I saw that it turned out all right with Where The Ether Flows, so I refuse to beat myself up over it.

In other, equally fabulous news, I have settled on the concept art for the cover of Bound.  It took a few rounds to refine it down, and my cover designer was patient and helpful. I have to confess that I nearly squealed when I saw the one I’ve chosen.  I think that’s an important indicator of it’s awesomeness, especially given I’m not prone to squealing.  I can’t wait to see the final piece. Oh my god, it’s really happening.  I’m really doing this, rather than just sitting there and thinking about it.  I’m usually more of a think about it kind of person. Or I was until about this time last year.  No, I’m not putting the concept up here.  You’ll just have to wait until I have the final cover in my hot little hands. You know I’ll be sharing it then. 😀

In the meantime, I have two months and a few days until my next schedule bout of insanity book writing. I’m going to spend that time doing the second round of edits on The Nine for sure (it’s been so long and so much story since I last worked on this that I hardly remember anything) and maybe the second round on Ether Flows, if I have time. I also have notes to make for the final book of the Necromantic trilogy, then I have to outline it, since that’s what I’m writing for NaNo in November.  That should be enough to fill two months, but with me, you never know.  Some days I think I work to quickly for my own good. But what else am I going to do with my time?

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Writer’s Magic Words

  1. Many Congratulations. You’ve excelled yourself. Perhaps a little break before ploughing on again?

    • Julie says:

      I’ve said before that I would. It usually lasts until I finish work at the day job the next day. I don’t think I’ve taken a full day off from writing and writing-related activities since I decided to get serious and did NaNo last November. I’m not even going to suggest that I’ll be doing that this time. No, I’ll probably dive into edits on The Nine tomorrow. I’m a bit of a workaholic with my writing, I think. 🙂

  2. quix689 says:

    Congratulations! I’m duly impressed. Not that I’m all that surprised, of course, since you’re a beast when it comes to writing. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! In spite of a couple of rough days, this one went really well. Of course, only time will tell, when I go back in a few months and start editing.

  3. Subtlekate says:

    This is fantastic news. We need to celebrate. 🙂 You and your brain have earned a bit of a rest.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. Virtual chocolate cake?

      I think my brain doesn’t know what to do with rest. I’ll almost certainly start editing before the end of the day. I think I can already feel it shifting gears into that mode. 😀

  4. MythRider says:

    Great job. You go girl!

  5. jmmcdowell says:

    How about a celebratory virtual buffet with chocolate cake, Belgian truffles, and some exquisite wines to start. Everyone can bring their favorite foods and beverages. Hey, it’s virtual—no hangovers or extra pounds!

    Congrats on the nano win AND completing the first draft of the novel.

    What’s up for November’s book? 😉

    • Julie says:

      Omg, you are always invited for my virtual parties! I’d invite you for real ones but, well, I don’t throw those.

      Thanks, and November will be Book 3 of the Necromantic trilogy, closing that project out. No, I’m not putting the title out there yet. Soon enough. 🙂 Points for effort.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

