Back On The Rails

Well, it took me a day to get back on track, but I’m there, and a good thing since the end is in sight.

Friday wasn’t a great day, purely by the numbers, but if felt better in many other ways, so I’m going to call it a win. I only wrote 2,471 words, though I had enough prep (detailed chapter outline) done for more.  I just ended up feeling like my brain was pure mush, so I called it a night, rather than push on and make a mess of things.  I did feel a lot better about what I wrote though, and it was nice to start Saturday with some of my prep work done. I worked through that, did some more prep, spent some time at Starbucks again (no, he wasn’t there) and then came home. Then I kept writing.  I ended the day yesterday with 6,221 words written, which made me very happy.  It also meant that one of the very key scenes in the whole trilogy was written, and I think I’m even happy with it.  Yay!

All Stitched Up currently stands at 94,250 words, and I think I still have about 10-15k to go.  Maybe.  It’s so hard to tell, because this last part of the outline is still a bit swiss cheese, and it’s hard to be sure in advance how much something is going to take word-wise. In any case, it’s likely to be my longest first draft ever, no qualifications needed to give it that title.  Holy crap.  Worse, I have some sense that the final book may be longer, but we’ll see what comes out in the notes and outline for Book 3.  It’s still way early for that.  I have to finish Stitched first.  But at least I’m back on track with it and in the home stretch.

Today will be about writing the climax of the book and whatever else I can get in.  Truthfully, if I can get the next chapter done right, I’ll be happy enough with that.  I’m like that when it comes to writing the climax.  I want to make sure I get that as close to right as I can in the first draft.  We’ll see where today takes me after that. I will say, at this rate, I’m totally on target to finish by the end of the month.  Even I’m impressed by this little whirlwind.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back On The Rails

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    Looks like you’ve kept busy while I took my break! 🙂 But I’m looking forward to working on some new writing and revising now that I’m back home.

  2. Subtlekate says:

    You have a lot to be impressed about.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! The problem is getting me to admit it to myself. Trust me, that doesn’t always happen. I’m the worst at giving myself credit, though I did do well yesterday.

      • Subtlekate says:

        You absolutely deserve to give yourself credit for making a plan and speeding along it’s path.

        • Julie says:

          If only it were so easy to convince my subconscious that I was doing enough. I remember when a 2k day would have made me feel like the queen of the world, like I had totally kicked butt. Now it’s the point at which I stop kicking my own ass or thinking I’m slacking. 😮 Thank you for reminding me though. I do appreciate it. Comments like that help me regain a touch of perspective.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

