Life Drives Me To Caffeine

Hmm, it’s been a few days and Devan left the door open on the room he locked me in. Maybe I should update this…

Just kidding, he’d never lock me up. I couldn’t get to the keyboard if he did, and that’s the last thing he’d want.

So, I’ve spent the past few days going from work to my local Starbucks again. No, I was not looking for Mr. Textbook (yeah, I know, I gave him a nickname, pathetic, but he had one with him at the time). Honest, I had to get away from my apartment. Why? Because they’re cutting the balcony off my apartment in order to replace it and I finish my day-job work day before they do.  Ugh.  It’s hard to work when they have saws and hammers going. It’s a wooden balcony, in case you couldn’t guess. Worse, I suspect I’m in for at least a few more days of this.  Oh well.  More Starbucks, maybe more cute guys too. 🙂

I was also in need of extra caffeine today. Have you ever woke up from a nightmare that you slept through your alarm clock? Oh, no? That’s just me?  Hmm.  Need to rethink these dreams then. In any case, I did exactly that at 3:30 this morning. My brain was trying to say it was 6:30 (I get up at 6). It tried to tell me that same thing at 4.  And every half hour after that. Until 5:30. When my neighbour in the apartment below me started banging on something, I know not what.  The day did not get better from there. I worked through my lunch. At 3 though, I got some potential good news, and that made me late leaving, but was totally worth it if this proves out.  Still, after all that, there needed to be more coffee in this writer, and I knew they’d still be working on my balcony.

It’s funny, with all the crap going on in my life, I’m amazed at how well the writing has been going. Monday I finished the day at 3,633. Yesterday, I put in a solid 4,094 words. That blew me right by 80k and into 81,123 words. Yeah, go me.  I’m pretty much back to the outline, though it won’t be smooth sailing through it for a little while.  The detour used some bits and made swiss cheese out of some entries.  Oh well, it worked out well enough that I really can’t find it in me to regret that.  I’ll make it work in the end.  I’m sure I can do it.

Of course, being on the later part of this book, part of my mind is, quite predictably even to me, turning to the next book, the close of the Necromantic trilogy. I have some good ideas, and the writing of this book, especially some of the sections I’m working on now, is leading to more and fleshing out some of what I already have.  We’ll see what I’ve got when I’m done this book, and build from there.  I’m not writing Book 3 until November.  I’ve already promised a friend that we’re going to buddy up for NaNoWriMo Classic, as it’s her first time. 🙂

Also predictably, an upcoming period of being between books is making Reah come out of the woodwork. She just spent 15 minutes whispering some of the most delightful things in my ear.  Spire of Time is shaping up to be a fun project, for me at least. Reah’s going to go through hell, but she seems willing. It makes me wonder about her sometimes.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Life Drives Me To Caffeine

  1. R. K. MacPherson says:

    I’m confused on only one point…I thought caffeine WAS life.

    • Julie says:

      Well, two per day has become normal for me. A third coffee indicates serious issues. I haven’t had more than that in a single day since I WORKED at a Starbucks (post job there detox was a bit painful, I won’t lie). Also, since I can’t drink straight drip coffee for health reasons, my caffeine habit is ex-pen-sive. I have to keep in marginally in control. Today was just… SPECIAL. :p

      • R. K. MacPherson says:

        I see! i get my caffeine the way nature intended it–carbonated. 😉

        Hope the workers finish their noise creation in record time.

        • Julie says:

          Yeah, I had to quit all carbonated beverages in my teens. It causes severe pain for some reason and, as much as I miss orange Cplus, I don’t miss that pain. So it’s lattes and frappachinos for me and I’ll have to hope my writing eventually makes enough to cover the habit.

          And I second your hope. Could be worse though. They at least don’t work on weekends.

  2. 4amWriter says:

    I used to drink about 4 cups of coffee a day, and I think my body got so whacky on it that I can no longer tolerate more than 2 cups–if that. I refuse to think it’s age. It’s got to be the quality of the bean. That’s it, I’m sure.

    It’s lucky you have a place to go when they work on your balcony and that you don’t mind writing in a public atmosphere. I have trouble doing that. Probably because I talk out loud to myself. 😉

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, fair enough. I had to train myself a long time ago to only talk to my characters in my inside-my-head voice. I’m sure I look strange when I giggle for no reason, but at least I can pretend I’m having a witty conversation on the internet when that happens…

  3. quix689 says:

    There was a period in college when I went through like a pound of ground coffee in like six weeks, which when I did the math (because I’m a nerd like that) came out to about six cups a day. Now, sure, those six cups were probably actual cups and not the size cups real people use, but still…I understand about coffee, and any time you need extra coffee, something’s wrong. 🙂

    And you’re not the only one who has those nightmares! Whenever I wake up in the middle of the night, I have to check my phone and make sure that I didn’t miss my alarm, because if I wake up on my own, I assume that I slept through it or something. It’s horrible!

    • Julie says:

      Well, given the night I’d had, the need for extra coffee was understandable. I think I’m still in recovery mode from that today.

      You have no idea, though, how comforting it is to not be alone on those kinds of nightmares. I generally blame my near-pathological need to be at least on time for everything for those kinds of nightmares. And yes, totally horrible.

      • quix689 says:

        Funny story – the very day after we talked about this, I missed my alarm. It was accidentally set for pm instead of am, and I slept in an extra 45 minutes. I still managed to make it to work on time, but I had to skip the shower and breakfast. It was not pleasant. But I had to share because the timing was just too funny. 😀

        • Julie says:

          I have totally done that. I swear, it’s probably what’s behind my nightmares about sleeping through my alarm, really. But yeah, the timing is hilarious.

  4. Subtlekate says:

    I hate renovation noise and would escape too.

  5. So you did set your alarm to get up and start banging things (and not just your keyboard) at 3am for a week non-stop I trust?? *grins*

    • Julie says:

      Um, wouldn’t that just be punishing myself (that whole waking up at 3 am thing sounds like medieval torture)? Instead, I ignored him, but if it happens again, I might mention the amount of noise he makes in general to the landlord. I’ve been nice so far, but that can change.

      • Ooooh when Julie goes mean? Go girl *grin* I am disappointed, I thought you wrote til 3am in the morning? *sighhhhhh* my world is just all awry

        • Julie says:

          No, I once made notes on ideas for two books until 3 am, but that was Tavis’ fault, and I haven’t had a repeat of that since. I’m mostly thankful for that, especially since it hasn’t been due to a lack of ideas. 🙂 Usually I quit writing for the night around midnight. But I start about 5-6 pm, so that’s a pretty full day of writing.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

