Detouring To A Better Story

A quick update, then I’m back to the keyboard for more banging.

To those waiting in breathless anticipation, no, the cute guy didn’t show yesterday. Or today.  Honest, I’m not stalking him (I’d need his name for that, at the very least). I needed food for the cats and the Starbucks I’ve been hanging at is in the same plaza, so I’d planned to sit for a while and write before doing my errand and going home.  That didn’t work out either, not just because the cute guy wasn’t there.  No, it was the slightly odiferous person who sat next to me and seemed to think my lap was a fine place for the straps of his backpack that made it really not work out.  Ugh.  I remember now why random human beings often bother me.  So yeah, I left after less than an hour.  I hope I didn’t miss him. 😉

The writing is still going well, but the plot has taken a slight… detour.  Yes, I still have my outline, but I’m not really on it anymore, and I think part of it is getting a bit scrambled. I’ll make it back on soonish, I think. Maybe another couple chapters from now.  The thing I’ve found with outlining is that, for me, I need to be a little flexible with it. If something else seems to want to grow out of it, I do a quick mental exploration and see if it still fits with the overall story of the book and the trilogy.  If it does, I go with it. That’s what’s happening now.  It’s not quite as bad as the time Tavis forced me to rewrite half an outline, but Devan was insistent. He, like Tavis, is right. And no, this detour hasn’t slowed me down either. Yesterday I put in 6,636 words and I’m already over 1k for today, and it’s still WAY early. I have another 4-5 hours of writing time ahead of me.  Why yes, I am cackling with glee.  Why do you ask?

What I find funny about this detour is that it’s bringing Devan to his knees even more than I’d planned.  And he asked for this, I swear.  We’re both gluttons for punishment I think.

The other funny part is that at this moment, I’m at 74470 words and I still have probably a quarter to a third of the plot to go. In the first draft. For a writer whose drafts grow, this is slightly frightening.  How long is this sucker going to be when I’m done? How long is the editing going to take? How long is that second draft going to be? *quails in fear*

Oh well, it’s all good, everything in the service of the story, that’s my philosophy. Beyond that, well, you have no idea how much I want to take Friday off again.  Another three day weekend. Need more time for Devan!  Do you think they’ll let me work part time but still pay me full time money?  No? Me either.

And yes, I’m a bit giddy about how well this is going, but can you honestly blame me? Two weeks of working on this and I have almost 75k written! Even I know that’s amazing, me, the person who rarely gives herself credit. Now that’s saying something.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Detouring To A Better Story

  1. Chris says:

    That’s awesome! Congratulations on such a high word count. 75K in two weeks is amazing progress. Very nice!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks, Chris. It always helps when the characters cooperate. I’ve been lucky that way so far in the last year. We’ll see what the next project brings after I wrap the current trilogy in November. I’m hoping Reah will be as cooperative, if only out of gratitude that it’s her turn. She’s been waiting since like March. 🙂

  2. Subtlekate says:

    Wonderful. Not so wonderful about cute guy going AWAL. Every girl needs a bit of inspiration when she’s plotting.
    My plots seem to go the same way as yours. We are plot wanders.

    • Julie says:

      Lol, yeah. I think part of why I wanted to mention it here though is that I seem to be one of the rare people who outlines obsessively. I can’t write without them. But I see people talking about outlines curtailing creativity or not allowing the story to grow. I wanted to show that it doesn’t mean that at all. It’s more like a roadmap that sometimes requires detours. You still get there in the end.

      And yes, he really should have been more considerate than to be absent like that, but I swear, I will totally forgive him if he shows up and talks to me. Yes, he was that kind of cute. 🙂

  3. Well, Credit where Credit’s due. You’re doing phenomenally well on the word count. Maybe Mr.Dreamboat didn’t come by so you weren’t distracted, even though you were by the pongiferous guy nearby. Rather than give up on him you’ll just have to persevere until you’ve tried every flavour in the shop.
    Really well done on the writing. Hugs

    • Julie says:

      Okay, first, pongiferous is my new favorite word. That’s awesome.

      Second, I’m still hoping he’ll come back. Mr. Dreamboat was working on his own stuff and I think I might have been distracting him right back. Only, I can write while distracted. I think he was having more of a problem with that. Maybe he’ll return when he’s done whatever he was working on, just to see if someone’s still around. If not, I’ve seen a few other prospects around, just none quite as interesting as he was. Time shall tell that tale. 😀

      *hugs*

  4. dex says:

    I think that’s how stories should be written. With detours. Outlines are great for overall story arch (and so that you have an idea of what you’d like to say), but for me they’re like crude maps. If I get out there in fiction land and discover a river that looked much smaller on the map, I might follow it for a while. I can always get back on track later. 🙂

    Happy writing! (And flirting…)

    • Julie says:

      My process tends to layer in, but it’s always open to a detour. Sometimes it has to happen, and other times it’s just better that way. I would never refuse to follow one just because my outline said “We’re going here.” I think I’m just too curious for that. 😀

      As for flirting, he’d have to show up again. *pouts* Maybe someone else equally interesting will come along today.

      • dex says:

        Well, like we’ve agreed before, the story has a mind of it’s own. You can’t betray your muse by refusing to follow when she hops up and down and points you in a direction you hadn’t planned on. You can only smile and, like the detour or not, accommodate her.

        As for the flirting, keep your eyes open. Something will come along…

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

