Out For Eye Candy

I definitely should go out more often.  Apparently good things happen when you leave the house.  Yes, there’s a story to this, and it’s totally G-rated… well, maybe PG, given the things I was thinking, but I’m not sharing those.

So, yesterday, when the heat of the day began to crank up, I decided to descend on my local Starbucks for a frappachino, wifi and some writing in AC.  It was a good plan that had worked out on Friday.  This time was way better than Friday though.  This time, there was a really hot guy that showed up.  And stayed.  For a few hours. What was a girl to do? I stayed and enjoyed the view.  And the looks we exchanged. He started out on the patio but eventually moved inside. I don’t think it was too cold on the patio either, though I would never assume I can take the credit. 🙂

No, nothing other than glances were exchanged, but it’s my plan to go back today around the same time and see if he’s there again.  A girl can hope, right?

Um, there was something else I was supposed to talk about here… Oh yeah, Devan.  I’m sorry. I still love Devan, but he has this achilles heel of not being real, where the guy at Starbucks is. I don’t know him, but I can always tack on a mental “yet” to that statement. Oh well.  In any case, in between all those glances, I did still manage to do some writing, adding to what I did before going there and after I went home. Yesterday’s total was 5,929, which is pretty damn good after tossing down 7,386 on Friday.  That brings me to a total of 66,760 as of last night. Yeah, I know. I blew past 60k like it was nothing. Write me the ticket.  I’ll pay it while laughing my head off.

It’s been a good weekend so far, the heat notwithstanding. One more day and then I’ll be back at the day job and writing nights, but I enjoy these long writing weekends. It renews my drive to keep writing more, editing harder, to learn and grow so I can eventually make it as a full time writer.  I want these kinds of days to be my every day. Mentally, I’m ready.  Soon enough… Always assuming I find an audience for my books, or I should say a big enough one. Again, the Dream, the goal I work toward. I think I’ll get there, though. I think it’s in me to get there. I just have to follow the path for now, one foot in front of the other.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Out For Eye Candy

  1. Are you sure it wasn’t Devan you’d willed into existence? If so and he’s there again oday, make sure you willed some money into his pocket for your next frappachino.

    • Julie says:

      ROFL! While both are blonds, there was no question that they aren’t the same person. Too many other differences. And if I can will Devan into existence, I’ll be willing more than frappachino money into his pocket. I’m thinking a valid check for a million dollars, if I have that kind of power. 😀

  2. Subtlekate says:

    You are a writing superwoman. Add in all the glances and it’s a wonderful day 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! The only problem is that he wasn’t there today *heartbroken*. Oh well, got more words done and on my way to a nice day, so I’ll manage to keep the sobbing down to a minimum /sarc 🙂

  3. 4amWriter says:

    Look at you. Getting a little crazy at Starbucks. 🙂 Is Devan going to be jealous?

    • Julie says:

      It seems more like he’s working hard to ensure he has my attention. God knows, the story has been flowing well every day since… 🙂

      And I thought we already established that I’m crazy everywhere. It’s kind of like breathing and writing, I can’t not be crazy. But of course, I like me that way, so everyone else is stuck with it.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

