This Sucks, In A Good Way

The glory of the weekend is upon me.  It’s going to be way too hot.  I see me heading to the coffee shop today.  I probably won’t have my wifi on, so responses to tweets/emails/blog comments will be delayed when that happens. I’m sure you’ll all survive somehow.

I’ve decided that hot summer weather is never going to help my productivity, unless of course I move into a place with air conditioning.  The way the windows are in my apartment, I can’t do that here.  Oh well.  It’s forcing me to try to do some thinking in between writing bursts, even though the heat is scrambling my thoughts.  I feel like I’m in some kind of writer-specific challenge mode in a contest I don’t remember entering. It kind of sucks.  That said, by any scale other than my own, I’m still doing well, with 2,515 on Wednesday and 2,719 last night. I’m not kicking myself for not getting over 3k.  Really.  *kicks self in the shadows* In other news, that brought All Stitched Up to 53,445. Yeah, apparently I only need 10 days to win NaNo. 😮 Not that the book’s done. There’s still more. And more summer (stupid summer).

I really do think it’s the heat, in all seriousness, that’s brought my numbers down lately.  It took until like 8:30 at night before it was cool enough to think at last, and even then, it was only barely thinking.  I’m beginning to wish for a water-proof laptop. I’d sit in the shower and write under the cool spray.  Totally not kidding.  It’s that kind of unpleasant.  Where’s my damn ocean breeze when I really need it?

That said, last night included an awesome pick-me-up that made the heat go away for a few minutes at least. Remember I said I’d contracted someone to do the cover for Bound? I have concept art (squeeeeeeee). Um, yeah, I didn’t just do that.  You saw nothing! Anyway, I got the concept art and looked at it when I got home from work. I have a favorite among them, but wanted to wait and look again after a little while.  To me, it’s like editing.  You don’t make all the decisions in a single pass. In any case, before I could go for that second pass, another email from my cover designer dropped into my box. I had sent her the manuscript to read for feel, even though I had an idea of what I wanted, because I value her expertise in a field where I don’t have a lot. The second email started with her informing me that she’d been sucked into the story. YAY!!!!!!!  Seriously, writer glow totally going on.  Still.  The next day.  She has some thoughts she wants to explore as alternatives, so I’m waiting to hear back on that.  But yeah, that second email totally made my night.  Take that, heat wave.

No, I’m not going out with my camera this weekend if the heat keeps up like that.  If it’s this bad in the shade of my darkened apartment, how much worse will it be in the sun?

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to This Sucks, In A Good Way

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    10 days for a Nano, eh? Whoa. 😀 And yay, that’s all so exciting!!! 🙂 I just made a sort of cover for my upcoming Nano, which has me excited. I like to make cheesy little covers sometimes to inspire me. 🙂 And I finally have a plot, too, which is BEYOND exciting!

    Hoping to hit that magical 50k number on my WIP this week, and if I do you will hear it loudly on here. Unless of course you don’t want to. 😀

    Sorry about the heat though . . . I really would love to hear an actual number for the degrees. Haha! It’s WAY hot here… I wonder if that influences my lack of writing too?

    • Julie says:

      I haven’t used numbers on purpose. For one thing, it’s been unusually humid here, which makes it feel worse. For another, it’s about what you’re used to. This is not what I’m used to here in Vancouver, so it feels awful. By the numbers though, someone else would think it wasn’t too bad because of what they’re used to. It’s all about perspective. Something to think about in writing too.

      Glad to hear about your progress, and I look forward to hearing you hit 50k. 🙂

  2. Peggy Isaacs says:

    I hear ya on the heat. I always feel so sluggish in July and August. I can’t wait for fall.

    And…can’t wait to see your cover art.

    • Julie says:

      That makes both of us, on both counts. So looking forward to that. I’ll have to find a way to celebrate here on the blog when I do that. 😀

  3. Ottabelle says:

    So great what you’re doing and so great you’re having happies. I can’t imagine no A/C honestly. I get uncomfortable hot even with our A/C units. I can’t breathe when I’m too hot, let alone think. Good on you for handling it. 🙂

  4. quix689 says:

    It’s so exciting that you have a cover! Well, okay, not exactly a cover, but close enough. 🙂 And sorry about the heat. I have trouble concentrating when I’m hot, but you’re right – it’s about what you’re used to, and when you don’t really have any other option, you have to just do what you can. Still, I’m impressed.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. It’s not easy and Fall can’t come soon enough, or at least an end to the current heat wave. I want a return of my good old rainy Vancouver weather. A good all-day rain would suit me wonderfully now. That said, I’m dealing with it. Life could be infinitely worse. 🙂 I mean, I’m writing. Anything including not-writing is worse by definition.

  5. 4amWriter says:

    Un-air conditioned room/house is the pits when you’re working over a hot computer/laptop. I can usually get by with a fan, but once the humidity hits and hovers for weeks on end, fans are useless. Good luck getting through it!

    • Julie says:

      Yeah. With me being off work for a long weekend, it’s even worse in that regard, because I don’t have the work AC through the daytime. I’ve found an alternative though. My local Starbucks. They also have caffeine, so it seems kind of perfect. I’m there now, banging away for a couple of hours before I go home. It’s at least a bit cloudy today and some small, almost-optimistic part of me wants to believe that it might rain today. Then the rest of me laughs at that part. Oh well.

      But you’re totally right. There’s a point at which fans don’t cut it anymore.

  6. Oh, I am really loving my air-conditioning, but not my electric bill. Ask your artist to do something “cool” to make you feel better. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

