When Did I Join A Band?

Oh my god, can Summer be over already?  Have I mentioned how much I love Fall and Spring?  I’m so ready for Fall.  I mean, like, right now.  Hmm, the weather isn’t listening to me.  Grr.  Oh well, at least this is a short work week.  That doesn’t help me with this icky humidity, but extra writing time always makes things better in my view.

I’m kind of in the middle of writing for the night, but also waiting for the sun to go down so my brain will stop wandering off in search of shade. It’s the one downside of a west-facing apartment.  Spectacular sunsets, awful afternoon/early evening heat. So I thought I’d blog while I wait, because apparently I only need half my brain to do that. It’s been proven by the number of Saturday mornings in which I’ve blogged before coffee.  Trust me, you’re lucky if you get half my brain then.  So far as I can tell, no one notices the difference, which makes me wonder about the half of my brain that shows up post-coffee. *glares at half-brain*

All right, as the heat is clearly getting to me (glaring at my own brain? who thought of that? oh yeah, me), I’ll get on with this post.

Where was I? Oh yes, progress on All Stitched Up.  Devan’s stealing all of my time. And brains. Not to mention willpower.  No, I didn’t do another 8k yesterday (more stupid heat), but 5, 344 words is still pretty awesome, especially when you factor in the humidex. 🙂  At the end of that, I had made a milestone, ending the night at 40,589 words in total. Not bad for 8 days work. Not bad at all. I’m off to a slow start tonight, but I have some good scenes planned out, so it will get better once this heat dampens down a bit.  And of course, every time I try to do anything else, including work, all I want to do is write.  All the fault of my marvellous Necromancer.

Oh, for those of you who looked at the title of this post and experienced a moment of “WTF?”, that’s about one of the more bizarre, yet understandable search results that led someone to this blog.  It happened today.  I saw it when I got home from work and had one of those moments myself. The search term was “Necromantic Curse Vancouver Band.”  I even did the search, just to see what happened.  There I was, second spot, the page for that trilogy.  I don’t know where the band part comes into things (I seriously don’t play anything worth recording), but I can totally see how the rest of it led to this blog, mostly because apparently Google uses “curse” and “swear” interchangeably. I do too sometimes, so totally understandable. I couldn’t find the Vancouver band called Necromantic Curse though.  I was terribly disappointed by that, because it sounded like a wonderful band name.  Most of the search terms that get people here are pretty tame, and I suspect I’m not what they were looking for most of the time (unless it’s the blog name or address), but that one really got my attention.  I wonder how long it’ll take to top that one on my weird-o-meter.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When Did I Join A Band?

  1. Somebody found my blog through “adjustable piano benches”. I have no idea.

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, some of them are bizarre. Or sometimes it says I got a referral from a search engine but show no search terms for the day. That’s when I decide that WP is haunted. 🙂

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    I just got yet another Russian search for flowering trees, this time from Belarus. Who knew Russians were so into them?

    Somewhere in the WordPress help section I read that some search engines are designed not to show what’s being searched. So WordPress knows a search engine brought someone to your blog, but they don’t know what it was. I do wonder what they are, though…. 😉

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, but it always seems to be google, which often does show me the search terms. I’m totally confused by it, except that I don’t really care that much. I just smile and nod mostly.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

