Shiny New Record

Um, wow.  I think my brain is still staggering around in my head a little this morning. What a night.

So yeah, All Stitched Up is definitely still going well. Devan is beyond cooperative, so I’ll accept him trying to demand every moment of my attention. The story is unfolding well, and with colours and shadings I hadn’t expected. It’s probably unprofessional to get so high off your own story, but I really can’t help it. I’m totally in love. Of course, the word counts have been good too.  Friday I put in a solid 4,031 words, but it was yesterday that I pulled out all the stops. I swear, I wasn’t trying to. I just… Well, I woke up early, and had some prep work already done, leftover from Friday, then did some more. Then I started writing. And kept writing. And writing. And wrote 8,009 words. For those keeping track at home, you are correct, that means we have a new record in the category of “Julie’s most insane number of words in a single day.” 🙂

Yeah, seriously, I wasn’t trying to do that, but dear god, was it worth it! Stitched is now up to 35,245 and 11 chapters. I think I’m in for about 30-ish chapters, so I’m somewhere in the vicinity of a third done. Maybe. I still refuse to try guesstimating final word count, except to say “A lot”. Again, so worth it.

It’s Sunday now, and I have another full day of writing ahead of me, of course. Chores and such shall fall into it (stupid housework fairies never show up at my house), but there will be many words. Only Sundays make me a bit melancholy. I wrapped myself up in Stitched on Friday, grateful for some uninterrupted time with Devan. Today, I know I have to unwrap myself at the end of the day, so that tomorrow, I can roll myself out to work. It makes me a bit sad, but drives me at the same time. I long for the day when I write, and that’s it, when there is no day job, and drafting goes on every day, all day. I want to be able to pull myself into the arms of whatever story I’m working on and not be released until I’ve written The End. That pushes me forward. One day. I’ll have that one day.

In the meantime, I’ll have to comfort myself with the knowledge that I’m taking Friday off from the day job, so I get an extra day to be wrapped in Stitched next weekend. For now, that will have to be enough, while I dream of story and a life composed of only that.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Shiny New Record

  1. quix689 says:

    That’s a very impressive word count! Congrats! 🙂

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Eeep. Julie, you are amazing. I only ever did 8k in one day, once upon a time long ago on the last day of Nano’10. Most I ever did. But you . . . Wow.

    Aand, here I was about to pop on and cheer at my own accomplishment of hitting 40k last night, and you’ll probably reach that today. 😄 I did write 2,800 last night and another 1-something this morning, so I’m a bit proud of myself. Anyways…

    You are fantastic!! Oh, and you just hit 365 followers — one for every day of the year. 😀

    Keep writing! (I know you will…) And I hope you reach that “one day” sometime soon. 🙂

  3. You have a very good ethos. Ha, mine’s so bad I haven’t put pen to paper ( yes, I always start like that) in about month. My get up and go got up and went. At the rate you’re going with words it’ll be a trilogy when you finish or no-one will be strong enough to pick it up as one book.
    Seriously, well done ! I hope things continue to go well and you continue to get a buzz from it as you should.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks!

      Despite the word counts I put in while drafting, my first drafts aren’t as big as you might think. This is the second book in the trilogy, the one I’m writing at the moment. The first was almost 78k in first draft (that editing grew it to almost 115k isn’t the point). Most of my first drafts are like that, 75-90k. It just means I’m done writing after about 20-25 days, which leaves me more time to edit. I don’t actually write those doorstop type books.

      I hope your get up and go returns soon. It’s always a shame to see talent unexpressed.

  4. gabriellan says:

    Way to go! For some reason Sundays always make me a little melancholy, too. I think it’s because I’m intimidated by Monday, even during the summer when I don’t have school to dread returning to. I don’t usually write on Sundays for that reason, but I was so busy yesterday that I never opened my WIP, so I’m forcing myself to write today and make up for it.

    • Julie says:

      See, for me, writing is one of the ways I fight melancholy, so I still do it on Sunday. I try not to let anything keep me from writing every day, even when I don’t feel like it, because I know after about twenty minutes or so of banging on the keyboard, I’ll be glad I did.

  5. jmmcdowell says:

    Some day, I predict a 10,000-word day for you—the first of many over the years as you transition into full-time writer. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Oh dear…

      *head explodes at the thought of a 10k day*

      Need to get to that stage of publishing before I can be a full-time writer though. Almost there with one though. 🙂

      On an unrelated note, isn’t it amazing how I can still type with my head exploded?

  6. 4amWriter says:

    If they had Daily Word Count as an Olympic sport, you’d win the gold.

    • Julie says:

      Yay! I’m Gold material! I claim this medal in the name of Devan! (his book, his victory too). Only I’ve heard people talk about 14k days. 😮

  7. Pete Denton says:

    I agree with 4amWriter. Gold medal for Canada!

    That is a very impressive daily total. Since I started keeping records 4k is around my limit, but when you get on a roll you have to go with it. Keep it up 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Lol, yay, I brought home a gold! I’ve been doing fairly well, and I know I didn’t push too hard, as the totals have still been good since then. I always worry about blowing a fuse in my brain when I have a really good day like that. Can you imagine how hard it would be to change one of those? And where would I got for a replacement? 😉

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

