Words With Wings

Wow, it’s Friday.  Yay!  Time to work!  Well, write, which is working, only better.

Yet again, I’m fighting the urge to leave everyone and everything hanging and slip back into All Stitched Up and Devan’s world. Drugs and alcohol aren’t this good, or addictive.  I sit around all day at the day-job thinking that I just want to go home and write. But I really should update, since I realized I haven’t since Tuesday.

Things are definitely going well.  All right, that’s a massive understatement. I feel like I’m flying, they’re going so well. Tuesday, after posting, I wrote 4,212 (yes, after a full day at the day-job). Wednesday, I wrote 3,508 words.  It’s taking a lot of self-control not to include the word ‘only’ in that sentence.  I know it isn’t only, and I stopped because it was a good place, but there’s something about knowing it’s my lowest total so far that tacks an ‘only’ in there, at least in my head.  In any case, last night, I totally shocked myself, pulling off 5141 words!  Um, er, I wasn’t trying to do that. It just sort of… happened.  I totally blame Devan, and I’m sure he’s one smug bastard about it too.  I kept meaning to go to bed, then I couldn’t.  I couldn’t make myself stop writing.  And it was good stuff too (on the first draft continuum at least).  That brings Stitched to a total of 23,205 words.  In 5 days.  Even I’m looking at that and thinking “Damn!”

There’s still a fair ways to go though, from looking at my outline. I’m not a quarter of the way through this, by any stretch. Hmm, this really is going to be a long first draft.  Oh well, more time with Devan.  YAY!!!!!!  Yeah, okay, I like my Necromancer a little too much.  What’s your point?  I swear, you will all understand one day why I love this guy so much.  Really.

Oh, and that new 10 Years album?  Awesome is too tame a word.  Right now, I keep going back and forth between Writing on the Wall and Forever fields, with a leavening of the whole album.  I don’t think I’ve listened to anything else all week.

I’ve got some good stuff on deck for writing today, and it’s now demanding my attention.  Must dash and bang on keyboard to make story.  I’ll leave you with a picture though.  Until next time!

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Words With Wings

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    I’m going to go out on a limb here and say I think you’ll make your Camp NaNo goals. 😉

    • Julie says:

      Somehow, I suspect you just might be right. Honestly, the only real question is whether I can finish it before the end of the month. That’s in doubt largely because this is looking long. But I’m off work next Friday, which gives me an excellent opportunity to get a lot done. I’m up for the challenge 😀

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    😮 You . . . I . . . So much!

    …I’m totally incoherent, aren’t I? Okay, well . . . that’s just amazing!!! 😀 I’m sitting here going O_O because . . . yeah.

    Also, over there it says “This would be way better than spam” and … it just showed up in my spam. -_- And I was sorta yelling at my email going “Julie is NOT spam! She’s amazing and so cool and cut it out!” So . . . yeah. Hmm, apparently your amazingness causes me to babble incoherently about nothing. So I will just stop now. Yes.

    (Oh, and lovely picture!!)

    • Julie says:

      That’s okay. Sometimes I run out of words to use after I write that much. 🙂

      As for my better than spam thing, I knew that there was a fair chance that spam filters would mark post emails as spam, so I was making a funny that at least something good might be in your spam folder.

      Thank you for the many compliments, including babbling in semi-coherency at your email program. That’s a new one and made me totally LOL. 😀

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        Highly understandable. Except that I don’t have an excuse because I haven’t been writing. I shall have to go amend that…

        A new one, eh? Well I’m glad it provided some humor. 😀

  3. Subtlekate says:

    Do you find writing energising? I think you do. I definitely to. It’s like a drug.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

