Just Loving To Run

I thought I’d get an update in here before I slide back into Devan’s world and lose track of the rest of the night.  Yeah, that means it’s going well.  Very well.

The good news is that, well, I’m all caught up.  You read that right.  I started writing on Day 5 and caught up on Day 6.  I’m actually ahead, or I was before you add today’s word count, but that will be a breeze to knock out.  Heck, their pace number’s a few hundred shy of my personal pace, and even that shouldn’t be a problem.

Have I mentioned that I love starting a new book?  Because I do.  I really do.  All Stitched Up is flowing very very well so far, 3 chapters and 10,344 words into it.  I actually ended up writing 4,200 words exactly on Sunday, then 6,144 yesterday.  I didn’t even feel drained after that.  I only stopped because, well, I had to go to the day-job today.  I really need to be simply a full-time writer.  Except that I already write what some might name too much, and I think full-time writing might lead to, well, more writing.  Yes, I know for a fact that it’s possible, as strange as the idea might seem to some.

Tonight’s looking good too.  Hell, the whole book is starting to gel in my head something fierce and it’s wonderful.  I don’t want to come up for air or stop or slow down or anything.  I just love this feeling, this electric energy that comes from the words running so sweetly.

Between that and the new 10 Years album that came out today (I got to dl it from iTunes last night), life feels well beyond awesome right now.  Even the not so great points just don’t matter that much, not next to this.

This is what I was born to do.  I don’t care if I never succeed.  This is what I was made for.  It’s now that I feel most alive.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just Loving To Run

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Not surprised but . . . Whoa. 10k in two days? I need to borrow part of your brain (it’s always working overtime so you wouldn’t miss a little…) or your swift typing fingers or something. How fast do you type?

    • Julie says:

      I don’t think my brain comes apart like that. It does more of a crash into a messy lump on the floor type thing. I’m a bit surprised it hasn’t done that in the last year.

      As for typing speed, I think last I checked, I was in the 50-60 wpm bracket, but I’m not sure. It’s been at least a couple of years since I last took a typing test, and Devan says I don’t have time for one now 😉

  2. Ottabelle says:

    Have you looked into anything freelance you can do that would pay enough to support you as a day job?

    • Julie says:

      I’ve had that suggested to me before, including specifically writing technical and training manuals (something I’ve helped out with in my day job), but I like the fact that my day job is something different, because then there’s no way they can bleed into each other. Also, I really just want to write fiction. I’m mostly okay with the day job as it is, and I suspect that good things in writing are around the corner. Thanks for the suggestion though.

      • Ottabelle says:

        You’re welcome, I didn’t mean to like, push it or anything. I may have said it before, bad memory. Anyway, I just thought you may like it. I’ve thought about it but I don’t know where to begin or if I could actually do it. Bad self esteem, bad! -glares at it-

        • Julie says:

          Oh, no, you didn’t push, and so far as I can remember you haven’t said it before. As for how to get started, see if you can find someone that you either know or you might contact online and talk to them about what they do, the realities of it and how they got into it. That’ll maybe give you a better idea of whether you want to do that or not. And I’m sure you could do it. Just understand what you’d be getting yourself into. One of my issues is that it means you don’t always have a steady income, something that’s important to me if it isn’t me writing fiction. If I want non-steady income, well, I’ll just write full time 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

