There Is No Off Switch

Okay, I fail at distracting myself, and the rest of the internet apparently fails along with me.  I took 2 hours off.  That’s it.  2 freaking hours.  I did half the outline last night.  It was in better shape than I thought. I finished the rest of it this morning. Yeah, yeah, workaholic, addict, relentless.  Call me what you want, I’ve probably already called myself worse.

I just needed to work on something that wasn’t editing for a while. For me, the switch from editing to writing prep is as good as a rest.  After finishing the tweaks to the outline, I was fully recharged. Energized and ready to blast off. So I did.

I can’t think of a single person on the planet (who’s heard of me) that will be surprised to find out I started writing today. Yeah, All Stitched Up is underway.  Devan’s adventure moves forward.  Looking at the outline, this is going to be long.  Really long.  The first draft will probably be longer than Where The Ether Flows was at that stage.  I will be frightened if it ends up being longer in first draft than Ether Flows is now. *trembles* It’s not impossible.

For the curious, progress thus far (not done writing for the evening by a long shot I think) is 2,078 words. I bet I can lick this August Camp easily.  After all, it’s 31 days long, and I’m starting on day 5. That’s hardly late at all. Oh, did I mention that it’s a long weekend here?  I don’t need all 31, no, not me. 🙂  I’m guessing that none of you are betting against me, either.  Of course, having said all that, I now fully expect that some roadblock will come up and I’ll fail this one miserably.  It happens every time I get confident, honest.

I swear, when I finish this one, I’m going back to do another round of editing on The Nine before I even start working on Book 3 of the Necromantic trilogy.  I don’t need the outline for that one until the end of October, so there’s time and other stuff I need to get moved along the process.  Like the blurb for Possession, which I will likely require sooner rather than later.  It’s amazing how it piles up behind you.  It does not help that this year is zooming forward.  How is it already August? Wasn’t it February just a few days ago?  At this rate, I’m going to blink and find it’s December.  I’m not ready for the year to end!

Oh, and this picture is my brain on story.  I swear.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to There Is No Off Switch

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    We never know when life will make an unexpected turn and send our plans crashing. So write while the inspiration’s flowing and you can. 🙂

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Hmm, I remember back when you said your on/off switch was stuck on “on”. Now I see you finally realized there never was an “off” anyway. 😀

    Keep going; I have a feeling August Camp is already in the bag. 🙂

  3. 4amWriter says:

    Yeah, that off switch is tricky to find sometimes. Have a kid. That usually does the trick. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      I’m not sure it’s a good idea for the writer who barely remembers to feed herself to have a kid. And I could have sworn parents were always on. The ones I know seem to be, though sometimes I wonder if it’s in a good way… 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

