Marathon Victory

I feel like I should be handed a gold medal for Marathon Editing.  Okay, maybe I’m overstating it, but I feel like I’ve run a marathon.  Uphill.  Both ways.

You guessed it, I’m now done the first round of edits with Where The Ether Flows.  I feel like it took a hundred years, though it was only 23 days.  In that time, I added 34,884 words to the novel, bringing it to a total of 112,603 words.  No wonder it feels like I practically wrote another book.  That total, of course, does not reflect the many changes I made that netted out under the original 77, 719 words.  But the book is so much better now. That’s what I think now.  It’s what I’m telling myself. We’ll see if I still agree when it comes time to do round 2. with this sucker.  First, to the Drawer with it!

So, what now?  Now I’m going to go look at the outline for All Stitched Up and whip it into shape.  I should be able to come at it with fairly fresh eyes as I can hardly remember what happens in anything else I’ve written outside of Ether Flows.  Given the neucleus is there though and I just have to shift some stuff around and add a few things, it may only take me a day or two to do that.  No, I’m not starting tonight (probably). My intention is to give myself the rest of the night off.  We’ll see how well I stick to that.  If I can distract myself with something else, it might work.

After that’s done, we’ll see how I feel.  I may decide to get a bit nuts and try a late start, come from behind victory with Camp NaNo-August.  I’m feeling fairly good at the moment, and that sometimes leads me to be a bit reckless with my remaining shreds of sanity.  I know, it doesn’t look like I have any, but if you use an electron microscope, you’ll see the bits.  Trust me, they’re there.  I think they hang around to remind me of what I’ve lost.  Or maybe it’s so I’ll know what it’s supposed to look like.  I’m not sure.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Marathon Victory

  1. Congratulations! As usual, I am in awe of your work ethic.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I’m sure one day it’s going to get me in trouble, but at the moment, it’s nice to be motivated and productive. Much better than I was doing this time last year, certainly.

  2. quix689 says:

    Congrats! That’s some very impressive editing! I’m not sure if I should be encouraging the insanity by telling you to go for Camp August, but I know you could do it. And, really, what else are you going to do with your time, sleep? 😀

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, right, because I should really sleep that much. 😉

      To be honest, it’s one of the reasons I write so much, nothing else to do with my time once I finish with the day-job. As for doing the August Camp, my precise thinking is, “Gee, I usually only need 20-25 days anyway. It’s not too late…”

      Famous last words, probably. 🙂

  3. Subtlekate says:

    Now you have to have a cup of tea and put your feet up. You’re amazing.

    • Julie says:

      Thank you, but I have to be honest. I just lost the war to not work on the outline for Stitched. Oh well. I didn’t need the break that badly. A change is as good as a rest and all that, right? 🙂

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    I was smiling as I read this, knowing you’d be “in stitches” if you took off the rest of the evening. 😉

    How did a couple hours of sleep make you feel about a late NaNo start?!

    • Julie says:

      Lol, yeah, I didn’t think anyone would be remotely surprised. I wasn’t. There’s a reason my Twitter profile identifies me as a Writeaholic.

      As for how I feel about the late start, I feel pretty good. The outline is in better shape than I thought, with only minor tweaks and very little for rearranging. I think all these ideas and characters are starting to make my brain leak, so I thought it was worse than it is. All the more reason to write more, get them out. Of course, that will really just make room for more of them, but I can live with that. 🙂

      The late start isn’t really all that nuts either. It’s only the 5th now. I think that I’ll probably start writing either tonight or tomorrow, and since tomorrow’s a holiday here, no day-job for me, I can get a nice start on it. I’m not taking bets on me still finishing the novel before the end of August. I’m not sure I could find anyone who knows me to bet against me doing so. 😀

  5. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Congrats! That’s so awesome! Not that we’re surprised at your amazing accomplishments… And yes, I knew you wouldn’t be able to put off looking at the outline. 🙂 The very thought was highly amusing. As for Camp, I’m sure you could do it, so it just depends how you feel on it. Rooting for you all the way! Go Julie! 😀

    • Julie says:

      As of this morning, I’m feeling fairly good about doing Camp. I may even be writing by this evening, if I’m done with the outline (likely) and am feeling that beginning (wouldn’t surprise me.

      Seriously, I think I’m a total addict at this point. Must write more…

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

