The Web of Plans

All right, I now feel like Superwoman.  No, not wearing the costume, in case you were wondering.  No capes!

I took the afternoon off work today because a) there wasn’t much to do, b) there was almost no one in the office and c) it’s a long weekend (this contributed to/caused a and b, btw).  This, of course, meant I had a lot of time to get stuff done at home.  And have I ever, thus the start of this post.

To give you an idea, the list of things I have accomplished include:

  • putting in what I think are the final edits on Bound (yes, that can change, but I think it’s ready, a sentiment shared by test readers)
  • contracting an artist for the cover for Bound (Eeeeeeeeeeep)
  • writing up something for a secret small project to be announced later (I love a little cloak and dagger teasing)
  • 15 minute power-nap (stupid heat has returned, though I don’t know who invited it back)
  • made coffee

Once the coffee, presently cooling given ambient temperature, has been drunk, I will be diving back into editing Where The Ether Flows.  I’m now halfway through Chapter 22 of 24.  I have mark ups almost to the end of Chapter 23.  I shall conquer this edit by the end of the weekend, likely before.  Wow.  I’m wired enough that I had to make sure I hadn’t drunk my coffee already and missed it.  You know it’s good coffee when the smell of it alone makes you feel like this.

Back to the update on Ether Flows though, I passed through 111k last night. 😮 Seriously, this thing is getting long.  I don’t think this is a one-time thing either, just from the complexity of the trilogy.  I’m already making mental notes (yes, dutifully written down too) about what I need to do with the outline for All Stitched Up.  I still have some vague thoughts of, if I can whip that outline into shape over this long weekend, getting a late start on Camp NaNo for August.  Why not?  I usually finish early anyway, and if I don’t finish before the end of August, I’ll just keep going.  I think we can all agree that winning (aka the 50k word mark) isn’t likely to be a problem for me.  Then it’ll be on to outlining Book 3 in that trilogy, and a round of editing for The Nine.  Then?  We’ll see, probably another round on Ether Flows, if I have time before November starts, when I’m doing NaNo with a friend (my plan is to write Book 3 for that).

You know, I shouldn’t be surprised at how fast this year has been going by.  I look at everything I’ve done since it started, and then look forward to my plans for the rest of the year and, well, I feel amazed and exhausted all at once.  Yet I know I’ll get all of it done somehow.  I’ve had enough times this year where I’ve agonized over whether I could get something done, then had it pan out just fine that I’m sure I have nothing to worry about there.

Okay, on to the next evolution of my day.  I leave you with:

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Web of Plans

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Let me just say you continue to be amazing, Julie! Yup. 😀 I’m sure you’ll come out with those goals just fine. Now keep it up!

    I was looking at my goals for the rest of the year too, but they’re smaller than yours. 😉 I have decided to try to finish the “new” book I started in April by the end of September, which may be slow for you but it’s going super fast for this person! Six months for a non-Nano book would be fabulous. It will require a lot of writing though, so wish me luck! 😛

    Also, lovely pic, as always! And woohoo for covers! I look forward to seeing it. 🙂

    Now off to write…

    • Julie says:

      You know full well that I never expect anybody to work at my pace. I’m not even sure it’s healthy. :p

      I’m definitely wishing you luck on that, though I don’t think you need luck. You’ll get there. I’m looking forward to congratulating you on finishing the book when you do. One question though, how am I going to find out? Where will I send said congratulations?

      And you know the cover reveal will be a big thing for me and will go up here on the blog. I’m looking forward to that too.

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        Probably not healthy, no. 😉

        Thank you! I know I’m going to need it, actually. 20k this month? Heh. That’s going to be hard for me. >.> As for congrats, we’ll see but if I make it I’m sure I’ll pop on here to bubble about it. 😀 You could email me though if you wanted [celticforestdweller(at)yahoo(dot)com]. Or maybe I’ll have a blog by then, who knows. 😉

        Yay! Cover art is so fun! 🙂 Looking forward to that!

        • Julie says:

          The key to getting that 20k done is to know how many days you can reasonably expect to be writing, then divide it into the 20k. Know how much you need to get in, though of course things are sometimes longer or shorter than you expect. Goals help keep you going along the way. It can also take the pressure off of you regarding the whole goal, by focusing on that day’s goal. I know you can do it. 🙂

  2. Em says:

    I like this but it also made me sad…because you said that you’re going into the final edits of Bound and here I am with my big plans to actually start properly editing it for you this weekend. I feel awful that I haven’t been able to devote the time I’d be hoping to it and am absolutely kicking myself now that you’re probably too far into the process for my inputs to be of much worth.

    On a lighter note, I keep trying to tell you that everything is better in costume. Though I agree about the No capes!

    • Julie says:

      No feeling awful. All I’ve done is get started on getting the cover done. I’m just not anticipating substantive changes (ie total rewrite), especially since you’ve already seen this once and there weren’t huge changes then. No feeling awful, but I was definitely hoping to still get your input. In fact, that’s why I said going into, rather than done. Please don’t kick yourself. Wasn’t I the one who told you to put your mss first? I knew what I was saying.

      In keeping with the lighter note, you’ve seen me do costume exactly once in like 8 years. You should know better by now. And, of course, since I can’t fly (curses), the cape issue might be moot. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

