Temptation While Sailing On The Ocean

I know, I just posted yesterday, but I passed another milestone today and had to bitch celebrate.  After spending all morning (and early afternoon) editing away on Where The Ether Flows, I have now passed the mark where the manuscript is 25,000 words longer than when I started the editing.  *headdesk*

That said, there’s good reason for it, and I swear, I’m not padding this thing.  I adamantly refuse to pad any writing and I firmly believe that padding is very obvious in fiction.  I’ve also added a sort of minor villain this morning, and re-ordered some things.  This is getting good.  That said, some days editing feels like being on the ocean. It seems endless when you’re in the middle of it, no matter how many times you tell yourself there’s a shore out there somewhere.

The other thing I wanted to share was that Saul, being the impatient sort, did a little more than whisper to me last night.  He insisted on me writing a fragment of Ashes and Angels for him, part of a scene that will MOST DEFINITELY be in the book.  Oh dear god, it was good.  It was way too short, and I want to go back and write more of it, to explore it and the implications it has for his back story and future, but I really should focus.  Naughty Saul, doing that to the poor writer.  I always miss writing draft when I’m not doing it.  I think he’s playing on that, trying to tempt me into throwing over everything I’m in the middle of to go write him.  And he almost won too.  Did I mention he’s not a nice guy?  Oh, I did.  Hmm, well, now you have proof.  Evil tempter, how I love him. 🙂

So, that’s it a short update for a few things.  Now back into my editing hole.  I really don’t mind, since I’ve been looking forward to editing the next scene since, well, since I finished writing it.   No, I’m not going to tell you what it is.  That would spoil a lot of things, including the surprise.  But it’s one of those times where I think Devan should turn around and say thank you to his writer.  Trust me.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Temptation While Sailing On The Ocean

  1. Pete Denton says:

    Well done. I know there is this supposed rule about cutting when you edit. I think editing is about continuing to hone the story into what you want. More or less, it’s all good.

    • Julie says:

      Yes, I’ve heard the rule, which I think came from Stephen King, that you’re supposed to cut something like 10% on your first pass. I think that it shouldn’t be an absolute because, to me, it depends on your writing style. I know people for whom that rule is almost a must. They’re over-writers. They throw everything in there and then some. It’s too much, really, so they have to cut.

      I’m an under-writer. I have parts where it’s all dialogue, no tags or actions or reactions, or other parts where I didn’t realize how important something would become later. I need to expand those parts, so my second draft grows, on average it seems about 15-20%. This one is going for records all over the place, but that makes sense to me in several respects, primarily because it’s the first book of a new trilogy and thus a new world and characters. So much to learn and therefor incorporate.

      But yeah, everything in service of the story, which should always be king. Or queen, depending on your main character.

  2. Subtlekate says:

    You are doing some great things with your editing. I’m so impressed.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I’m going to file that one away for the next time my inner editor breaks out the whip. Oh wait, I think I see her brandishing it now… 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

