The End Approaches… Slowly

Gah, heat again for the past few days.  Why must it be so hot in the summer?  Oh wait, right, answered my own question.  My next place is going to be one I can do an air conditioner in, I swear.  Do you know how hard it is to concentrate on editing in this heat?  Ah well, at least it’s nice and cool now.  We’ll see what the weekend brings, today being that second-most-glorious creature, Friday.

I’m still steadily making my way through mark-ups for Where The Ether Flows.  This seemed to work well for me last week, doing mark up during the week and then actually entering changes over the weekend.  We’ll see how things go this weekend.   So far, I’ve got 3 chapters marked up, and now that it’s Friday, it’s time to start entering changes and working this into the manuscript.  We’re down to the last third, which is nice, but I’m glad that I said I might not end up doing August NaNo, because I don’t want to rush things and I doubt I’ll be done by then.  I’m certain the outline won’t be.  Of course, I could always start late.  It could work, especially since I generally finish early when I start on time, but I don’t want to pressure myself by committing to that idea.  One thing at a time.  I’m trying to learn to not get ahead of myself.

There’s really not a lot to say beyond that.  The slowness of the first round of edits leaves me little to post about, other than the fact that the ideas continue to percolate in the back of my mind.  No new ones since Saul introduced himself, but he’s still whispering and I think Reah’s getting irritated with him over that and is desperately trying to compete.  Oh well, there are worse things that could be going on in the back of my mind.

I’ve looked at the list of ideas and such in my notes thought and I’ve come to a stunning and slightly painful conclusion. I have determined that I need more hours.  Every single day, more hours.  If any of you have a spare supply, please send it, rush delivery.  Those things expire, after all.

I did end up getting out for a trip with my new lens just after my last post, in case you were wondering and I remembered why I loved that lens so much on my film camera.  The versatility of it is astounding.  I think that, if I ever need to replace my camera, I’ll just buy the body and one of these lenses.  A sample of its work, for your perusal:

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The End Approaches… Slowly

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Hot? Hot, you say? Has it been 108 degrees yet? Because here in Texas . . . yeah. I would seriously love to hear what temperature you consider to be hot. 😀

    I must admit it his quite hard to write when it’s hot. Or in this case when I have a sunburn from swimming. It just . . . makes me not feel like writing. Bleah. 😛 I should go do it anyway, but still…

    Good luck on that editing!

    • Julie says:

      At that kind of temperature, I’d be suffering from health issues, trust me. And heat’s very relative to what you’re used to.

      Go write a couple hundred words. You know you’ll feel better.

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        Well then, I’m just glad you don’t have it that hot. 🙂 Strange enough to say, it’s actually not all that bad when you don’t have air conditioning. 😉 Because that way I’m already adjusted to 90 or so degrees inside, doncha know…

        Eheh. I should. Thank you. Maybe I will.

  2. 4amWriter says:

    August NaNo, hmm. I myself have been contemplating doing that because I feel like the only way I’ll get started on a new project is through an event like that. We’ll see.

    Welcome to the weekend. Enjoy your time with your characters. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      I’d like to do August NaNo, because, well, I love doing NaNo, but I’m thinking it won’t be feasible, not when I know I need to work on the outline some and probably won’t be done this round of editing before August 1st.

      I will say, NaNo is a lot of fun, and it can force you to leave behind the internal editor and just write. I’ll be doing the one in November with a friend of mine who’s never done it, never written a novel before or anything. We’re kind of doing the buddy system and she’s busy prepping away for that now. I think it’ll be fun. When I did it for the first time last year, I didn’t know anyone, so this will be different. If you decide not to do August, but you want to do November and want to buddy up with someone, let me know. The more, the merrier. 🙂

  3. jmmcdowell says:

    Someday, maybe, I’ll try a NaNo, but I don’t think I’m ready. I need to get my first two novels revised and polished first. Maybe I’ll try it with one of their sequels….

    I suspect if you give your “forebrain” a little rest, your characters will snag that time to work on ideas in your “backbrain.” 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Well, NaNo gets run 3 times a year at the moment. The original time slot, November, and the two camps, June and August. Lots of time to choose from. I found it was a good experience for me in the first place, and June was even better in many respects, if only because I had spent more time preparing for that one than I did for last November 🙂

      As for the ideas in the backbrain, they never stop. I swear, really, not ever. I wake up sometimes in the morning with a host of thoughts on ideas. I’m walking home from work and get clubbed by another one. I’m sitting there editing one book and thoughts on another sneak in there. I don’t think my forebrain wants the rest. Either that or it’s being mercilessly driven by the backbrain. Great. Even the halves of my brain are at war. *headdesk*

      I’m going back to Devan. That seems easier than trying to keep track of my mental wars. *waits for Saul to start whispering again, or Reah, or any of them*

  4. wordsurfer says:

    Sending you over half an hour right now. I can’t spare more at the moment, but I hope it’ll help anyway. Use wisely and for something you enjoy! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Oh, thanks! *runs to plug in extra half hour and sighs with temporary relief* Every little bit helps.

      I have to admit, all donated time will be funnelled directly to writing. Fortunately, I enjoy that. A lot. 😀

  5. Peggy Isaacs says:

    I’m thinking about doing the August NaNoWriMo. It was very productive last time.

    Yeah, I’m with Celtic Forest Dweller…I can’t imagine not having air conditioning. But then again I, too, live in Texas and it was 104 here today. When I was a kid, we lived in Germany and had no need for air conditioning – you’re right…heat is relative to location.

    • Julie says:

      Yeah. I haven’t felt the need most of the time here in Vancouver, not since I moved here. It’s just been a bit too warm in the afternoons here lately. Like right now. Ugh. Oh well, I’m surviving.

      I’ll admit, there’s something about having goals and a timeline that sort of push you toward being productive. That’s why I always set them and announce what they are here, whether it’s official NaNo or not. It keeps me pushing forward when I write draft. Editing doesn’t work that well in such fashion for me.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

