Idea-Splatters

You know, Tuesday is wonderful because it’s not Monday, but the joy is diminished by knowing that Wednesday, Thursday and Friday still stand between me and the weekend.  Oh well, you can’t have everything.

The week has been going surprisingly well, so I’ll go with it.  The day job is behaving (knocks on every piece of wood she can find) which is nice.  It’s been sucking away my energy far too much lately.  Maybe I’ll be able to get some serious forward motion on the edit for Where The Ether Flows this week.  So far, the signs are good.  Sunday, after posting, I put in a good day’s work, finishing Chapter 16 and 17.  I didn’t do mark up on chapter 17, but I think it’ll be okay without it.  I might reread that one before moving on, but really, I’m sure it’s fine.  It still underwent a lot of alteration anyway, and that’s always a good sign in the first round of edits, right? By the time I finished all that, I found that something amazing had happened.

Drum roll, please.

The manuscript was over 100k.

I have to say, the crickets I hear in the background really highlights your lack of surprise.  Oh look, there’s a tumbleweed.  Okay, so even I’m not exactly surprised.  I did originally expect to be over 100k with this book, but only by a little.  As I still have 7 chapters to do, this is a bit earlier than I expected to clear that hurdle.  At the rate I’ve been adding, the book will be about 110k when I finish this round.  Except I think I have a lot more adding to do in one or two upcoming chapters.  And I can’t remember how happy I was with the ending, which suggests not all that happy.  The last two times I wasn’t that happy with the endings, it took about 3-6k words just to get that right.  In the case of Bound, I added a whole extra chapter, just to get it right.  I know that the chapter I’ve done mark up on so far has a bunch of additions and things that need smoothing.  So we’ll see where this ends when I’m done.

In the meantime, I’ve also been planning out some of the things I need to add to my outline for All Stitched Up.  I haven’t opened my outline yet to look, but there are some things that I know I have to work on, complications I need to put in place sooner, or just have happen in the first place.  It’ll get there.  It would likely take a miracle to have that ready and the edit done by the beginning of August, but I remember saying I might not have The Nine’s first round of edits done in time for June and I managed that.  I’m thinking it unwise to rule out anything, especially when I feel the pressure on, or just a surge of self-competition. 🙂

There have also been more notes about the many ideas wandering around in my head.  I think Reah knows her turn comes after this trilogy, because she’s whispering, and so is Saul, who is definitely living down to how impatient and insistent I thought he’d be.  I love it when my characters go to war over my brain.  The resultant idea-splatter on the inside of my skull is often exciting, if only because I love the story arcs it describes. Now that’s a lovely mental picture, isn’t it?  I aim to please. 😀

No, I haven’t been out yet with my camera, but yesterday was icky.  There’s some beautiful afternoon sun streaming in right now, though, and I can hear my camera whimpering for attention.  Just as soon as I get this posted, I think I’ll take 20 minutes or half an hour and see what I see.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Idea-Splatters

  1. Em says:

    haha, you’re learning to write like me! Congrats…I’ll be interested to see what the final count is. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      No, still not in your league. We go in opposite directions, so far as I can tell. It’s kind of like our heights. I’m short, you’re tall (well, long in fiction). 🙂

      I’ll let you know the count when I’m done, whenever that is.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

