Ashes, Ideas and Wrinkles

Ah Sunday, how you make me melancholy, with your chores and reminder of work the next day.  Oh well, such is the life of a grown-up with bills to pay and all that.  It could be worse though.

I’ve at least been productive this weekend, which is good.  I got some errands done yesterday, then it was time to dive in to editing Where The Ether Flows.  That went well, and I’m now done the first 14 chapters. I’ll be done 15 by the end of the day and back into mark up mode.  And yes, before you ask, it’s still growing.  I passed the 99k mark last night, and expect to beat the magical 100k today.  The more important thing is that I’m very happy with what’s coming out of all this editing.  The next pass of editing (which I’m generally trying not to think too much about yet) will tell me more, but my feeling about it is good at this point.

I don’t know what it is about being in editing mode that makes my brain see other stories, but I’m noticing it’s the way things go. On my way home yesterday from those errands, I saw something that sparked another idea. I’m not sure yet what Ashes and Angels will be, but it seems more like Urban Fantasy than anything, which is somewhat unusual for me.  Saul is not a nice guy, by any stretch of the imagination, but then I think he has ample reason.  That’s all I’m going to say about it, except that I have a nice pile of notes for him now.  Seriously, I need to write faster.  Scary thought, but true at the rate my ideas come.

I’ve also been making notes on things I’m thinking of for the outline of All Stitched up.  I need to add some wrinkles, but those are coming and they’re going to be interesting.  Also, the way the outline is written, the story is too linear for my liking, but I think I can change that. In fact, that’s already in the works. 🙂 I’ll get there.

I swear, my tagline should be “Story Juggler.”

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ashes, Ideas and Wrinkles

  1. Candace Knoebel says:

    I feel your pain!

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    Story juggler, indeed! I’d be comatose if I tried to deal with so many stories at one time, even if some of them are just at a “note taking” stage!

    • Julie says:

      It’s amazing how quickly you learn to let it just percolate away in the background when they’re just at the notes stage, and time-share your brain when they’ve gotten at least to the stage of having been outlined.

      Besides, I’m terrified that if I don’t pay attention to the ideas, one day they’ll stop entirely and I’ll have to stop writing… eventually. When I run out of stock. Oh my, that could take a while. 🙂

  3. 4amWriter says:

    Yes, you’re definitely a story juggler. But you enjoy it, and that’s why you handle it all so well.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! I think most of my problem is wishing I had more time to get to them all. It’s like being in a candy shop and wanting to taste everything. 🙂

  4. Pete Denton says:

    I’m about to start a new WIP for August Camp NaNo and so have that and my other novel that I’m editing going round in my head. That’s only TWO. I don’t know how you do it, but well done. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thank you. The secret is a lot of notes and a mind that never seems to stop. Even for a second. Don’t ask how I manage to sleep then, because I think that’s why I wake up in the middle of the night sometimes with a story idea. 🙂

  5. wordsurfer says:

    Your posts always make me feel lazy in comparison, but that’s a good thing, really – it motivates me to work more.

    • Julie says:

      I think that rates both a thank you and an I’m sorry. I appreciate the compliment, but I definitely don’t intend to make anyone feel lazy. However, motivation is definitely a good thing, however you might get it. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

