Love Notes From My Inner Editor

So much for the weather cooperating. After that very nice, misty Sunday, it went back to being overly warm, and I’m going to use that as my excuse for not posting sooner. Well, that and I didn’t feel like I had anything to report that was worth it.

No, that doesn’t mean I’m not making progress. I am, it just hasn’t been what I view as really reportable progress. I spent the last two days doing the PDF mark up for chapters 13, 14 and 15. But just doing mark up doesn’t seem like any big deal to me. Part of the reason I feel this way is that often the notes I make are vague, things like “smooth this”, “something’s missing”, and the inevitable, “did you really write this shitty sentence?”. Yes, I’ve written that (and worse) on my own manuscript. Hell, I’ve said far worse to myself in my markup notes, though I’d never write that on anyone else’s work. I’m easily my own worse critic, merciless really.  I keep telling myself that it’s all in search of better writing, but at some point I might need to call my inner editor to task for self-abuse.  That’s going to be a fun conversation.  I don’t think she’ll listen either. 😀

Really, to me, the harder work begins when I start making actual changes on the manuscript and I have to address those formless comments with actual fixes. Then I can’t just breezily state that the section is off-key, I have to figure out how to bring it in tune with what it needs to be. Not an easy task sometimes.  There has been much reworking, sometimes two or three whole pages that just get rewritten from the ground up.  I mean it.  I open a new Word doc right over the old one and start writing.  I suspect that the next pass of editing is going to involve a certain amount of checking for consistency, given a few of the changes and adjustments I’ve made.  I’m trying my best to keep things tight and consistent now, but it isn’t easy and we all know that a single pass will never do it all.  Multiple passes of editing are just part of the professional landscape.  I’m cool with that, as it sort of takes some of the pressure off for me.

So, that’s really what’s on deck today and probably for the next couple of days at home.  In the meantime, I’m going to try not to let the day job come home with me.  I thought that was going to settle down and be less stressful for me and instead, someone’s kicked it up a notch until I want to kick them in the head.  Trust me, this person deserves it, really, truly deserves it.  That’s all I’m going to say on the subject.

On the plus side, I had another idea show up the other day, coming out of a phrase.  I don’t even remember where this phrase came from, just that it lit up my brain in the most delightful way and now I have a bunch of notes for another idea, Through The Eyes.  I’m never going to get caught up on these ideas, you know.  They show up faster than I can hope to write.  There are way worse problems to have. 🙂

And finally, in other news, I have a new toy (yeah, I know, I just got one, and now I’ve bought another), a new lens for my camera.  It’s a zoom-macro lens, 70-300.  When I used to shoot with film on my old Minolta X-700, I lived out of a lens nearly identical to this one.  It did basically everything I wanted it to.  I almost never switched to anything else, even though I had two other lenses for that Minolta.  While I had always planned on buying this new lens, it was going to be my Christmas present to myself.  The thing is, I went to look it up for a friend who was asking about it last week and there it was, $100 off and free shipping.  I went and got my credit card.  There really wasn’t any thinking done, largely because consideration wasn’t needed.  I just picked it up yesterday and am looking forward to playing around with it this weekend.  I have too much work to do right now and Devan begging me for attention, but I think I can get him to share me on the weekend.  He gets enough time then to sate anyone. 🙂  I’ll have to share the results of said playing with new toy when I get out with it.  In the meantime, you’ll have to deal with this picture from one of my older lenses.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Love Notes From My Inner Editor

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    YOU ALWAYS HAVE SUCH BEAUTIFUL PICTURES AND JUST AAAAHHH! ❤

    (If you weren't a writer, I'd probably follow your blog just for the pics. :D)

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    New toys are fun to play with. 🙂 Have fun with the edits, too. I’m trying to develop a better attitude about them and not see them as so much hard work!

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, some sections are like a boxing match and I’m not totally sure who won, but I’m getting there. All to make the story better. That’s the mantra I keep chanting in my head. The cats look at me funny if I say it out loud.

  3. 4amWriter says:

    The new lens will be good to play with when you need that editing break. I’m with JM, edits would go so much easier if we had a friendlier relationship. But those words keep fighting back!

    • Julie says:

      They do, the words and whole sentences even, they fight back. At least they aren’t venomous when they bite. 🙂 My problem is the usual impatience. I feel like I should be moving through it faster, even when I look back and see how much work I did on the parts I’ve completed. I need to work on this.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

