The Distractions of Heat and Sexy Books

Well, things have been going a little slowly lately (by my yardstick) but I have a reason.  That doesn’t mean I’m not making progress, because I am, it’s just, as usual, not as much as I’d like.  The weather is partly to blame.  It’s rather warm here now and I don’t have air conditioning.  This does make doing things other than half-sleeping quite difficult, trust me.

I’ve spent the last couple of days doing markups for Chapters 11 and 12, and am starting to actually work those notes into Chapter 11 but again, the heat is making concentrating incredibly difficult.  I’m slowly getting through it, though I may take a nap or something, just until the sun goes down and it starts to cool off.  I can sleep in tomorrow anyway, which means I can stay up as long as the toothpicks hold out…

I have to admit to something else slowing me down.  I got off to a late start after coming home from the day job the last couple of days due to a different kind of distraction. I was reading, and kept wanting to go back to the book, even when editing.  It was that good.  Distracted me from Devan a bit.  Wow.  Oh, the book? Shadowfae, by Erica Hayes.  Seriously fantastic.  One word of caution though.  This is not a book for the faint of heart or remotely prudish.  Don’t say I didn’t warn you.  What I loved is that the relationships and characters and world were so rich that the sex in the book didn’t seem (to me) overdone or inappropriate in it’s inclusion.  It was simply a necessary part of the story, which I suppose shouldn’t be a surprise in a book where the main character is a succubus.  I mean, that’s got to be an obvious implication.  I can tell you right now though, I will be a) picking up the next book and b) rereading this one in the future.

So yeah, now you know the two reasons why I’m not getting as much done on the editing front as I’d like.  Arguably, their both heat-related.  Now, back to editing.  At least it’s the weekend and I can pretend I’m a full-time writer for a couple of days.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Distractions of Heat and Sexy Books

  1. Ben says:

    yeah, a book that’s good AND sexy does make it hard to focus on other things. I hope you’ve got a fan to keep cool!

    • Julie says:

      I do have a fan, but in the afternoon in my west-facing apartment, it’s woefully insufficient. 😦 At least it’s now cooling off a bit and I can feel my wits returning. A little anyway.

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    Summer seems to bring the heat—in more ways than one. 😉 A little slow down on the writing, editing, and plotting isn’t a bad thing. Besides, you’re in Canada. Wait for it—it’ll be cold before you know it! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      The part I’m in these days doesn’t get that cold, which is one of the reasons I moved there. As for the slow-down, I’m okay with it since I’m not racing a deadline really, and what’s coming out is worth it. Trying to keep it all in perspective. 🙂

  3. 4amWriter says:

    I’m glad you mentioned a hot, steamy book other than that 50 Shades of Sex or whatever it’s called, lol. Editing can take turns with a good book to read, IMO, so don’t feel too guilty!

    • Julie says:

      I’ve managed to avoid reading the 50 Shades book. After watching the youtube video of Gilbert Godfrey reading it supposedly for the audiobook edition, I don’t think I’ll every be able to without howling in laughter. I’d just hear his voice. 😀

      Besides, Shadowfae was really good, where I’ve yet to hear someone say 50 Shades was an excellent book (at least, not someone whose taste I know and trust).

      And I keep trying to tell Devan he’s supposed to share me with the rest of the world. He doesn’t listen. I think he’s author-deaf sometimes. But only when he wants to be. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

