Going With The Evolution

Oh my god, why is it morning already?  All right, bear with me.  I had a late night last night, what with my brain deciding to go into overdrive after I called it a night and tried to go to bed.  Terribly inconsiderate timing, given how long this past week has been.  I am so glad to see that one go out the door and be officially labelled “Past.”

The editing of Where The Ether Flows is still going slowly, but it’s definitely going well.  I’ve rewritten whole sections, and I’m happy enough with the results that I don’t mind the amount of work I’m going through.  But then, when do I ever mind writing-related work?  So far, the answer is never, though time will tell if it stays that way.

In case anyone is wondering why I’m going through so much work and rewriting, it’s just one of those things that happens.  By the time I finished the first draft, I had a better idea of what the whole story was, what it needed to be in the beginning chapters.  Beyond that, the feedback I’ve received on other pieces has made me realize something I hadn’t balanced right in the first draft of Ether Flows.  The good news, and something I take as a sign of growth for me as a writer, is that I can see that I need these things and I’m putting it in now, rather than giving into the lazy side that everyone has.  You know the one.  It whispers in your ear, “You don’t really feel like doing that.  See if anyone notices it’s missing.  Just fix the basic stuff.”  Thankfully, I also have a really hard-working, relentlessly-driving professional side that won’t let me listen.  I wasn’t trying to listen that much anyway.  I want every story that goes out to be everything it can be, to grab you and not let go.  If that means I have to go through and do this kind of work to get there, so be it.  That doesn’t happen without the work anyway.  So we’re getting there.  I just finished Chapter 7 and am more than halfway through Chapter 8, so I’m almost a third of the way through the entire manuscript.  I’m up to 86,725 words for the manuscript, so those playing the home version, please mark down that we are +9,006 words from the original total.  Oh well, they’re good words, and the book still hasn’t cracked 100k.  Beyond that, it’ll take as long as it needs to for me to really tell the story.

Speaking of stories, I should probably explain, while I’m in that kind of mood, why I was up late last night.  I’m sure a few of you have guessed, and anyone who follows me on Twitter already knows, but I got jumped by another story idea last night.  I was half asleep, and decided to stop editing.  I’d have just needed to back over and redo anything I did at that point when I woke up anyway.  Yes, I was that kind of mind-mush-tired.  I put my laptop and iPad aside for the night and crawled into bed.  For some reason, the idea of drawing had been kicking around my head all day, but suddenly painting got added to the mix as I lay in the dark trying to fall asleep.  Unfortunately for that plan, the painting made everything fall together into a coherent idea that made sleep temporarily impossible.  You have no idea how grateful I was that “putting the iPad aside” really means shoving it onto the other half of the bed, so I didn’t have to get up at least.  I put my glasses back on and spent the next hour frantically tapping away as my brain geared into maximum overdrive.  What came out is… wow, fantastic, awesome, challenging, wonderful… I need more words, but those are a good enough start to give you a hint.  Then it took a while to actually get all the way to sleep.  I’ve reread the notes this morning.  It still looks awesome.

That one, which will go by the name Painted Picture for now has been added to the Project Status page, along with Wings in the Mist.  That thing (the list on my project status page, I mean) is getting way too long.  I need to get stuff out the door so it’ll come off the list.  I need to write more, faster.  I need 3 of me to keep up.  I also need to get around to doing my planned post on ideas.  I’m aware that not everyone has this much inspiration, this volume of story ideas flowing through their brains. I wish they did.  I wish this on everyone, and my hope is that perhaps it’s something that can be learned to a certain extent.  If that’s the case, then my further hope is that it will help others if I post about why these ideas all seem to gravitate into my brain.  We’ll have to see.  I’ll get there, really.  Those kinds of posts just take a lot of time, and all of mine seems to be getting eaten these days by the twin poles of day-job and Devan.  Not that I’m complaining.  Devan’s totally worth it and I need the day-job to pay the bills.  Stupid rent and food needing money…

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Going With The Evolution

  1. Ottabelle says:

    You never cease to amaze me. And the words for your new story make me so excited! I love seeing you as you get ideas and get the fire underneath you to get them done. It’s so awesome, actually! And you really need to get that post written, haha, cause i want your fire.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! The hard part is getting that fire back when you have time to write the idea into a whole book. I’ve done it, but it takes me a little bit to reconnect with the idea on that level. You have to be a bit disciplined though and make the notes then let it sit or you never finish anything because you’re too busy chasing shiny new ideas all the time. I know this is true because it’s among the many mistakes I’ve made on this journey.

      As for the post on ideas, I’m going to get to it, really. I’ve got a draft with a bunch of notes for it and I may take tomorrow morning to write it up at last. It’s just that there’s so much editing to do. I know I’m making good progress, but the first round of edits always feels slower than molasses to me because I’m used to working at a faster pace. Oh well. Back to wrestling with myself.

      • Ottabelle says:

        You can do it, I know it. Editing sucks to me. I’m hoping it will feel better when I start rereading Abstaining from Permanence and have the intense love and faith in in back. I have a strong feeling I will fall back in love with it, flaws and all.

        I think, for me, it isn’t idea hopping, but more letting my internal issues block what is most important. That’s my big issue I need to overcome. I know Rome wasn’t built in a day, but it sure would feel nice to be truly happy again, for more than just snippets at a time.

        • Julie says:

          Having gotten the fire back on Necromantic, about 6 months after I started thinking about it, I’m sure I can do that when I need it, but that never stops me from wondering, really.

          Part of the reason I love editing is that for me, it’s about smoothing out the rough spots and making the work as awesome as possible. So for me, it’s a hopeful process. And that’s the important part, remembering that it’s a process, not everything in one step, which is impossible.

          • Ottabelle says:

            That’s a good thing to remember and a good way to look at it. When I’m happy, that’s how I think of it. Then I remember how daunting it all is. I want to think of it with hope, always.

            I need to kill the self-depreciating monster. Like now. Someone, give me a sword.

          • Julie says:

            I believe that’s what we have imaginations for, inventing swords when we need them. 🙂

            As for editing being daunting, just take it a small chunk at a time and focus on that chunk alone. Taken that way, it’s less daunting and you’re done before you know it. Yes, that really is how I do it.

          • Ottabelle says:

            Hmm.. what is the best size chunk, do you think? A chapter at a time, 10 pages at a time?

          • Julie says:

            Depends on the length of your chapters, whether we’re talking manuscript format, how much dialogue, etc. The short version is whatever you feel comfortable with. Maybe start with a scene, and see how that goes. You’ll have to find your personal comfort zone. For me, it also depends on how many editing passes I’ve already done on the manuscript. The first, as I keep saying, is the longest and hardest, in my experience, requiring smaller chunks.

          • Ottabelle says:

            That’s good advice. Thanks. 🙂 I went through a bit of edits a while ago, while I was stuck. Nothing major, just making sure I remembered exactly what happened in the first half of the book. It was fun, so I don’t know why I worry so badly. I think it’s more worrying about grammar checking.

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    I read some of that last part as “Devan’s getting eaten these days” and I was like- WHAT?! O_O Now I see my brain was just tired. But I was disturbed there for a second. 😀

    Yay for ideas!

    • Julie says:

      oh my, someone needs some sleep. Tell me the sleeplessness was at least caused by writing, because then it’s worth it. 🙂

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        Actually it’s not so much sleepy as just really scatter-brained. I’ve had some weird days, and yesterday I was too busy making a bookshelf to get any writing done. Finally I don’t have so many books just lying in heaps on my desks (since I have over 500 in my room currently…) So no writing, but bookshelves are worth it too! 😀

        • Julie says:

          Call it a related project. It’s a place to store your own books in future 😀

          • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

            This makes me laugh. 😀 I can hope, though…

          • Julie says:

            Just keep working at it. That’s the hardest, most important part. Remember that the book won’t write itself (stupid non-self-writing books, grr) and do the Butt In Chair thing.

            And I love to leave people laughing, though I doubt my writing will EVER accomplish that. I don’t write humour. Ever.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

