Moving Forward, Deliberately

I suppose it’s time to update everyone on my progress.  There’s a short version and a long version.  I’ll start with the short version, for the impatient out there and then fill in with the long version.

Short version: Slower than I like but still making progress.

Long version: Nothing in my life ever goes as fast as I want it to, except maybe writing my first drafts, and even then I always feel like I should be pushing for more.  Neurotic, I know. I’m good at it, lots of practice.  Given the magnitude of the edits I’m doing, the fact that this is the first round, I really should be happy with the amount I’ve done so far, and I sort of am, but at the same time, I feel like I should get more done, just because I’m just like that.  I am definitely happy with the quality of what’s coming out the other end, the after-edit version.  I’m trying to keep from rushing myself to maintain some arbitrary pace and instead letting it take as long as it takes.  Really, I’m trying to practice zen writing. It’s mostly working, except when I think too much about it.

I’ve gotten the first 6 chapters fully edited, and mark ups done on 7 and 8.  I’ll be working tonight on entering 7.  It’s a weekday and we’re moving office location at the day job, so that’s all I’m likely to get done.  Nothing takes it out of me like moving.  Trust me.  There’s a reason I hate doing it with an unholy passion.  That and it always ends in a saga.  No, I’m not getting into that.  No one needs to hear the many tales of Julie Moving.  Just trust me on that one.

In the meantime, several ideas have been fighting over my brain taking turns whispering in my ear. Those that have checked in just over the last couple of days include Wings in the Mist (big time on this one), Spire of Time and Queen and Raven.  Seriously, getting harassed over here.  I’m going to have to make some time for my planned post on ideas, if only so that people will maybe understand why they seem to come to me in swarms.  But that will be one of those longer, thoughtful posts, rather than being about what I’ve been up to, unlike this one.

It’s supposed to be sunny here this weekend, which would be nice.  If it is, I think it’ll be time for another trip out with my camera, maybe even visit a new public garden or something, switch things up a bit.  We’ll see how it is and how I feel.  Also, whether Devan will let me out for a while.  There’s always that question.  I think he gets jealous when I spend time on anything other than Necromantic.  At the moment, so do I.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Moving Forward, Deliberately

  1. LMAO @ short version vs long version!! I’m about to jump my plane but wanted to say hi first. Or bye or both maybe *grins* Bloody hell it’s cold. -2 this morning. Brrrrring on Summer (only 5 months to go doh!)

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

