A Meme Revived

All right, I’ve been holding on to a Lucky 7 nomination for a while.  I could have used it for Possession or The Nine, but being the second and third books in a trilogy and Bound not yet published, I didn’t want to spoil anything.  And there would have been spoilers, I checked.  Instead, I’m going to use it now for Where The Ether Flows, the first book of my Necromantic trilogy.  Having just gotten past page 77 in that manuscript, I looked at what was there and decided it was ready to share.  I cheated, as usually, going beyond 7 lines or sentences, and even a bit past 7 paragraphs, but I think it’s worth it.  Enjoy.

*      *      *

Mocks didn’t appear to be listening. “You helped her,” he repeated, looking at the ground now, his tone brooding but touched with surprise. “You really were trying to help her find what she needed to move on.” Again, the spirit was silent for a while, and then he looked up into Devan’s face. “You don’t know.”

“I’ve told you that before. No one does.”

“I don’t understand how it’s possible for a Necromancer to not know what happens to spirits when they go to the otherworld.” The pleading in Mocks’ voice made it impossible for Devan to get angry at being asked to explain again what seemed obvious to him.

“The otherworld isn’t part of death, Mocks. At least, I don’t think it is, because you’re right, if it was, we’d be able to find out what happens. Something else exists beyond that boundary, and I promise you, I don’t know any more about it than you do.”

“You really can’t tell me.”

Devan shook his head. “No. I would have done so when you got here if I could, Mocks. There’s no reason for me to keep you here. I want every spirit to find the otherworld before it’s too late and they become trapped in the ether as a ghost, or worse, fall victim to my family’s depredations.” Devan took a deep breath and decided it was time to say something about what he’d realized earlier. “But it was never about knowing, was it, Mocks? You could have gone and found out what was there, if it was just about wanting to know. You’re afraid. I’m not sure what of, but it’s fear that keeps you here, isn’t it?”

Devan could see Mocks’ struggle with the question, felt the way it made the ether around him vibrate. Finally, he said, “I- What if it’s something worse than this? What if I don’t know who I am anymore?”

“I’ve been watching the ether my entire life, Mocks. Spirits who remain there always go mad eventually. I’ve seen maybe a handful who don’t and believe me,  you wouldn’t want to pay the price they have for that. All the others become ghosts and try to hurt everyone around them, because they forget themselves and everyone they ever cared about. Do you really think that what’s out there is likely to be worse than that certainty if you stay?”

*      *      *

So, there you have it, a taste of my current project (the book and the trilogy).  I kind of wanted to revive this meme anyway and send it running back around the blogosphere because, well, I like it and love seeing how other people’s work is shaping up. In that spirit, I’m passing this one on to the following writers:

Katie

Pete

Richard

Gabrielle

Kate

R.K.

Peggy

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Meme Revived

  1. 4amWriter says:

    Thanks for the share. I have done this, but since editing it is entirely possible that my 7’s are all different now. If so, then I shall post soon!

    I like your passage. I can see why Devan has your ear. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! I’ll admit, I kind of saw this as an opportunity for everyone to find out why Devan demands and I do. How could I resist him? More to the point, why would I want to?

      The changes editing can make were kind of what I was thinking when I decided to include you. I got to do the 7s twice with Bound because editing changed it to a completely different passage at one point. Even if it’s not different, feel free to cheat and post a passage you’re proud of. How often do you ever see me follow all the rules? I’m looking forward to your post in any case. 🙂

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    He does sound like an interesting character. 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading your books when they’re available!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! It’s a long road at the start, but we’re getting there. I’m still hopeful about that end of summer thing, but we’ll see. You know I won’t keep that to myself. 🙂

  3. quix689 says:

    Aw, thanks! And thanks for sharing this passage with us. If there had been any doubt in my mind about wanting to read your novels, this would have taken care of that. I don’t really know anything about necromancers, but you’ve definitely got me intrigued. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. In some ways, it’s my own particular brand of Necromancers, for a number of reasons, but I’ll admit that what started out as a challenge to myself has turned out very well so far, even if I’m not done editing yet. I’m looking forward to your own post. 🙂

  4. Peggy Isaacs says:

    Love it. Can’t wait to read more. And thanks for passing it along! I will get it up this week. 🙂

  5. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    You have a good voice. And so does Devin. 🙂 Nice!

  6. Pingback: Smiling High « Word Flows

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

