It Grows On Me

This book won’t stop getting longer.  I swear, I’m starting to think I was simply writing too quickly to get all the words in.  Stupid brain and fingers that clearly don’t work fast enough.  Devan and his impatience too.  I’m now into editing Chapter 5 of Where The Ether Flows, and so far have added approximately 5,000 words so far.  At this rate, I just might break that 100k mark on this book as I’d originally believed. I guess I just didn’t get it all in there on the first round. I’m really not trying to make it longer.  I’m not padding it at all.  I’m just fixing things and adding to places where I didn’t do enough characterizing or treat something with enough importance. That’s all.  And yet it grows…

All that said, I’m really happy with how it’s shaping up, which is good, because the amount of editing I’ve had to do was a wee bit discouraging at first.  I have to keep reminding myself that this is like sculpting and I’m just smoothing in the shape I was originally going for, as well as fixing what I screwed up.  Except with writing, it’s easier, because you can add more scenes if you need to.  Marble doesn’t grow back so you can sculpt it again but differently this time. 🙂 Except maybe in my imagination.  Oh, maybe there’s a story in that.

In other news, I’ve been playing an old favourite game, Final Fantasy 9, in order to give my brain little breaks so it doesn’t overheat while I’m editing.  The joy of editing is that I don’t feel the need to do it at break-neck speed unless I have a major deadline (see the end of May, with June Camp NaNo looming over me), unlike writing, where I have to write fast or my inner editor catches me and kills the book.  Trust me, she’s got experience at that, but apparently can’t run 2k words a day.  Thankfully, I can write that fast, or I’d be out of business.

Yes, I’m a little wired this morning.  No, I don’t know why.  Honest, I only had my one usual coffee and no, I didn’t make it extra strong.  I think it’s the whole long weekend, 4 straight days of full time writing thing that’s causing this.  In my mind, it bodes well if I ever manage to do well enough with this to write full time all of the time. 🙂

Okay, back into the word trenches.  Happy Canada Day, everyone.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It Grows On Me

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    I’ve missed several blogposts because I set myself a writing goal that I wouldn’t allow myself online until I hit 25k on my latest project. Hence I wrote 3k yesterday and 3k the day before and there I was! 🙂 The tale was flowing and I’m giddy I tell you, it’s so fantastic and fun!

    Anyhow, it’s good to hear you’re doing well in your edits! Sometimes edits do tend to make things longer, don’t they? And good luck on Writers of the Future! And on keeping those bunnies corralled and not writing themselves!

    That latest picture you posted looks very suspiciously like a kind of flower that I just randomly put in my story the other day, and the coincidence has my brain reeling…

    As for the post on length and brevity, I found it very interesting. (I am also tempted to be enormously and tragically depressed that you didn’t like The Lord of the Rings, seeing as how it’s my absolutely totally favorite book EVER. *sniffles* Still, I shall try to overlook this and remain your friend. 😉 ) I’ve only “finished” writing two books so far, one of which was for Nano at 50-some-K, and the other of which is currently in the 95-100K range (though I need to rewrite it0. My point is that I think I, too, am a shorter-writer like you. But, unlike you, I seem to often have a LOT of characters… 😀 Anyhow, interesting, and I agree that there definitely is a market for medium-length fantasy books.

    I think that’s it on my thoughts on the last three or so posts . . .

    • Julie says:

      At least I’m honest about what I like and don’t like. You’ll have to learn to live with that. I loved the story, I just don’t like the way some of the parts go on and on about what I consider nothing.

      Glad to hear your own writing is going well and that you’re setting some good priorities. You work should be more important to you than other people’s blog posts. Yes, even mine. 😮

      As for the flower, I’ve always loved calla lilies. I have a general fondness for lilies actually. The ones in the picture just happened to be there when I was out with the camera after a rain shower. I like that particular one, but there were several other shots of them.

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        I personally love the detail because I love his writing and world and characters, but it’s very understandable that some people can’t get through it, so no biggie! 🙂 And hey, honesty is a very good thing in this day and age! 😉

        Even yours? :O Wow! 😀

        Mine was a different kind of lily (arum, I think?) but it looked kind of like that. I love pictures of flowers with raindrops on them! That one was particularly lovely.

        • Julie says:

          calla lilies are a type of arum (there are two), from what I learned recently.

          And I still say you need to get your blog going. Hint, nudge.

          • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

            Aha, that would explain it then. Except I called them by part of their scientific name Zantedeschia and had my characters repeating it. ‘Twas fun. 🙂

            *twitches slightly* Um . . . okay . . . >.>

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    Happy Canada Day! 🙂 Hopefully I can get some more new scenes written this week with some extra time available. I’d love a 2,000-word day again. 😀

  3. subtlekate says:

    I have the same problem. Every time I look at the thing it grows. It’s like Audrey and I’m feeding it my blood.

    • Julie says:

      Lol, yeah. Mine are all like that. Bound started out at 73k, and now sits at 87k. Oops. Oh well, I’m find with it as long as I’m doing what the story needs, rather than padding it. I refuse to pad. But adding because my test readers say that they need more of X… Well that’s a different story altogether. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

