Sunshine and Words

It has definitely been a busy weekend for me, as predicted.  I’ve been working off and on the whole time on the outline and have gotten a significant chunk of it done, perhaps as much as two-thirds.  It’s always hard to say before I’m done. It’s like when I’m writing a draft and someone asks how many words the book is going to be.  I just shrug and keep banging away at the keyboard until I have an answer for them.  It gets me some odd looks from the non-writers I know.

The really hard part of working on All Stitched Up is that it makes me just about desperate to go back and reread Ether Flows already. This is a problem as it’s only been, what, 4 days?  Not nearly enough time.  And I’m losing the will to resist, which is worse.  I swear, Devan’s taken over my headspace.  I just about want to live in his story.  That’s going to be a huge problem tomorrow, when I have to go to the day job and actually work.  Grr, stupid rent and every other bill that needs to be paid.  Well, at least next weekend is a 4-day long one for me.  Yay!

The progress on the outline, as I said, has been good. The skeleton I started with has been evolving some in the outlining.  This is pretty normal for me as I work kinks out or find holes.  This one seems to be evolving wings though and taking off into something bigger and more complex, yet also murkier at the same time.  I’m still in the state of stunned bewilderment at what’s coming out. There’s a lot, and much of it is more layered and complex than I usually get at this stage, though I’m still wrestling with a few things and Devan’s suddenly playing coy on one specific thing that I actually need to know.  I’m going to have to have a talk with him about that, but I’m sure he’ll come around.  Besides, that kind of thing is why I always come back and review an outline before I start writing.  Now, if I can just resist the urge to read Ether Flows again long enough to do other things that I simply have to do, I’ll be laughing.

The sun cooperated some yesterday and I got out to shoot some more.  The only problem was that my camera batter didn’t cooperate and it died with only about half of what I wanted to shoot done.  Ah well, maybe I’ll go out this afternoon.  The sun’s out again and the light looks beautiful.  Here’s one from yesterday though.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunshine and Words

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    Don’t you love it when characters get coy? Usually something good comes out of it, though! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Yes, but I’m wondering why Mr. So-Cooperative is suddenly playing coy. And about something important! Right when I need him to be helpful, all he’ll do is hints and dibbles. It had better be good when I get it out of him. If he wasn’t entirely too adorable… Well, no, he’s been so helpful to this point that I can’t get mad at him, but I’m hoping he doesn’t make a habit of it. 🙂

  2. sixpuns says:

    How do you approach your writing in regards to goal-setting? Is it time or content-based?

    • Julie says:

      The answer sort of depends on what part of the Writing umbrella we’re talking about. There are a lot of aspects to writing.

      For writing draft (usually aka first draft), the goal is so many words over so many days, which computes to a daily goal. Most of the time for me it’s 60,000 words over 30 days, giving me a pace amount of 2,000 words per day. I almost always go over that. Sometimes by a little, sometimes by a LOT, but there’s something about hitting that pace number that gets me eager to just keep going and see how far I get. It’s essentially a customized version of NaNoWriMo, but I find that’s what works best for me, gets me reliably to The End. It’s only taken me the whole 30 days once though.

      For editing, it’s much looser. I mostly go with “as much as I can get done without making my eyes bleed or my brain scream.” For the first round of editing, the most bloody, I usually end up in the range of 1 chapter per day (so about 12-22 pages in manuscript format) on a day where I have to go to work, 2 per day on the weekends. Sometimes it’s more, but not always. Subsequent rounds of editing go more quickly usually.

      Outlining generally takes me a week to two weeks, depending on how well the ideas and thoughts are flowing. Notes on ideas, developing a new project, that’s done on the basis of whenever they come to me, and as long as it takes to be ready.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

