Lovely, Tasty Words

I was going to do the awards post today, really, I was.  Then something happened. I want you to keep one thing in mind.  This is ENTIRELY Devan’s fault and I’m not ever remotely mad at him.  More in a state of stunned bewilderment.  I just… How the hell did that happen?!?

I guess I should back up for a second and help everyone catch up with my apparently warp-speed brain.

All right, now, I just finished Ether Flows a couple days ago.  I’m not sure what happened since then.  It’s a bit of a whirlwind.  I had a Notes document I’d sort of been throwing ideas for book 2 in for the last couple of weeks, but it wasn’t anything that serious or coherent, just thoughts and maybes and stuff like that.  Somehow, in the last couple of days, a flurry of more-notes were made, and I have the skeleton of my story.  Actually, it’s more than a skeleton.  It’s pretty much all there.  The whole thing, beginning to end, or near enough that I could probably skip straight to outlining the book right now.  Whether I will do that, I’m not sure yet, though it’s very likely.  But seriously, wtf?  I didn’t know that was already in there.

As this seems like the perfect time for it, given I’m obviously going to be posting more about this book going forward, I thought I’d share with you the title for Book 2 in the Necromantic trilogy: All Stitched Up.  It’s going to go by the short (lazy writer) name of Stitched.  Seriously, it doesn’t get shorter.  The book, on the other hand, might be a long one.  A lot going on, though I’ll admit, it’s only likely to be long by my standards, since I write short to begin with.  Brevity and all that, right?

I think I’m going to have to apologize to a certain commenter, or at least agree that I’m eating my words.  I may not make it until August before I start the next book.  I probably will be able to hold off until Camp NaNo-August Edition, if only because I would like to get a round of editing done on The Nine before then, but that won’t take more than a couple of weeks…  We’ll see how fast and well I burn through outlining Stitched.  I suspect it will go quickly, and August is still 5 weeks away.  And I have all weekend.  This is going to be fun. 😀

Oh, did I mention I’ve already started the notes for Book 3?  Yeah, that’s already churning around on me.  These next few months are going to be very busy I suspect.

And, in the meantime, I’ve done the edit on The Way Out Is Through, so it’s back in the drawer for a couple of days before I go another round of feedback probably. And Queen and Raven is also adding to the pile of notes that project is accumulating, as is Masques.  Too much going on in my brain.  I’m going to hit overload at some point and totally fry.  I suspect it’ll be a good show when it happens, but I doubt I’ll be in any state to enjoy it.  And for those of you even thinking about telling me to take it easy, I would, but the ideas won’t, so I’m just going to go with them at this point.  It’s all too enthralling to ease off the gas at this point.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lovely, Tasty Words

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Yes. Eat your words, Julie. Eat. Your. Words. 😀 *laughs* I know you better than you think I do and possibly better than you know yourself. Heh. Basically, whatever you think you’ll be able to do, I know you’ll end up doing more. I’ll look forward to hearing when you start Stitched — I have a feeling it won’t be five weeks from now. Still, we shall see. 😉 I love that feeling though, that feeling that it’s all there, waiting . . .

    • Julie says:

      You know, you’re not supposed to gloat quite so obviously. 😉

      It was mostly that I thought I had more work to do before outlining than I did. It’s a bit startling, actually. Oh well, I’ll have fun with it this weekend. And there are still other things I *have* to accomplish before I can start writing Stitched, honest. (Be patient, Devan, be reasonable.)

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        I was joking and you know it. 😀

        And hey, of course it’ll be fun! Also, I’m pretty sure Devan, from what I’ve heard, is far from reasonable… 😄

        • Julie says:

          Thus the winking smilie.

          And yes, he’s very cooperative but far from reasonable. I don’t think he’s going to let me have a moment of rest until the whole thing is done, to be honest. Somehow, it isn’t in me to complain.

  2. quix689 says:

    I doubt there’s anyone reading this blog who’s surprised by this post. 😀

    I actually sort of know how you feel. I’ve been writing down a lot of notes on other novels recently, and I’ve been getting more of an outline in my head for each of them. I can’t exactly relate since your outlines become real novels and mine tend to stay as outlines, but I can still relate to the excitement that new ideas bring. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Yeah. Truth be told, even I’m not that surprised, by the need to post this that is. I thought I might get another day or two of chilling in, but I didn’t really think it would be much.

      And mb it’s time to take one of those outlines and hang sentences and descriptions on it. You know, turn it into one of those crazy real novel things. 🙂 Just saying. Nudge, poke. Just start and don’t let anything stand in your way. Ideas are wonderful (dear god, do I know that) but watching it shape into something real, now that’s indescribably awesome.

      • quix689 says:

        I’m working on turning them into real novels. I’m actually really close to finishing the one I’m currently working on. I’m realizing I need to change quite a bit of it, but hopefully that’ll just involve adding scenes rather than rewriting.

        There’s another novel that I’m planning to write for the August version of camp, assuming I don’t start it sooner. I have the beginning and ending planned with that one – I just have part of the middle and one of the three characters to figure out. I just tend to write a first draft, decide it needs to be fixed, throw that draft out, and never actually end up with something I’m proud of – just a bunch of drafts that are okay-ish but not really there yet.

        But I’m working on it. 🙂

        • Julie says:

          Excellent. It was the comment about yours staying outlines that made me nudge. I just seem to work fast (I don’t know why, beyond slave-driving characters and an inability to say no to one more sentence). I’m not even sure my pace is healthy. As long as you’re getting drafts done, you’re turning them into real novels 🙂

          And every story grows from the first draft, additions, changes, realizations, all of it. That’s part of the process. In some ways, it’s part of the fun, rubbing those rough edges off and seeing it become more what it always wanted to be. Also, I find the process teaches me things I can apply to the next first draft.

  3. Slow down? Never!!!!!! Go with that creative flow and have fun.

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    Yes, no surprise at all! 🙂

    I’m thinking when you first publish, you won’t start with one book like most of us mere mortals! You’ll have an entire trilogy ready from day one! 😀

    • Julie says:

      Sadly, they won’t all be ready and I’m not patient enough to hold Bound back until the other two are ready. But there won’t be a long wait between books. Once that avalanche starts to fall, it’s likely to be 2-3 months between books (assuming they’re ready). It’s a process. 🙂

      Thanks for the vote of confidence. Except I’m pretty sure I’m still mortal. I don’t want to test this, as the result could be unpleasant… not to mention messy 🙂 And definitely still mortal in the sense of having major crises of confidence. Lots of those.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

