Missing The Mad Dash

I would like to start this post out by saying that I will do an awards post, almost certainly next, as I have now another two awards from more wonderful people who kindly included me.  As much as I feel like thanking them now (Thank you!), and that I’m remiss for not having already done so, I’m sure that everyone will understand that I have slightly bigger news to share that would preempt, well, anything and everything short of actually publishing a book.  But I will do that post up soon, really.

An update on Camp NaNo-June, before I go any further.  I’m sure you all understood that the reason I hadn’t posted anything in the last few days about it is because I’ve been busily banging (gently) away at the keyboard of my new toy. And believe me, I have been. After last Saturday’s big number, I made the decision I mentioned and dove ahead because, well, that’s how I write, as you all probably know by now: Full Speed Ahead. I’m going to list the numbers below, since it’s more than a couple day’s worth.

Sunday: 5,118

Monday: 3,582

Tuesday: 2,925

Wednesday (today): 2,152

Why only 2,152 today?  Why am I stopping so early (8:32 pm my time, when that’s the hour at which I usually get revved into writing hardcore for the night)? 😀 That would because of the bigger news:

It’s done!!!!

Yup, you got it, 20 days, 77,719 words and the first draft of Where The Ether Flows is complete. I’m reasonably happy with it, but as I keep saying, we’ll see how I feel when it comes out of the drawer in a month or two (or less if I get impatient/insufficiently distracted by other stuff). You know you’ll all hear about how that goes.  At least I’m reasonably sure that I won’t have to throw it out and rewrite it from the ground up, unlike the first draft of Bound.  I can still make people cringe with the story of how I did that.  It’s hilarious.  It would probably be less funny to me if I didn’t feel the lessons learned from that experience living on in every book I’ve written since, especially Ether Flows.

This, of course, leads to the inevitable question. What next? And you all know I’ve got a couple of answers to that. I always do. I think the first thing I’m going to do is go through some detailed feedback I got from my test readers on The Way Out Is Through.  I have some hopes of sending that out… somewhere… soonish, whenever it’s ready.  Could I get less definite than that? Possibly, but it would require turning into something that squirts ink everywhere, and no one wants to see that.  Yes, I’m a little giddy.  Again.  Live with it.

After that, I’ll probably start getting serious about preparing book 2 of the Necromantic trilogy, which will therefor probably have its title revealed soon.  Part of the reason for this is I miss Devan already.  I have a problem, I know. One day, you’ll understand why I have this problem, really.  I also have the book blurb for Possession to go over and likely edit/tighten up, since I haven’t looked at that for a few weeks. And maybe in another week, I might pull The Nine back out of the drawer and go through it again, out loud this time because I think it’s time for that round of editing.  Yeah, me of many many irons in the fire. And, of course, notes on every idea that wanders through my frenetic brain.  Can’t forget that, even if I forget meaningless things like food. 🙂

I have a couple of writing-related posts simmering in the back of my brain at the moment, and you’ll likely see that in the near future, since I’m not writing a book now. These aren’t specifically related to any project, just thoughts on my experiences as a writer, what works for me and explanations for a few things that I’ve been told are… unusual about me as a writer (in a good way, apparently).  All shall be revealed in good time, honest.

And, before I forget that too (honest, I ate dinner tonight, really), I should mention the change that some of you may have noticed in the blog navigation bar at the right. I have a Twitter account.  Yes, it’s official. I’m a twit.  We all already knew that, so let’s move on.  I’m not going to make it a place where I just post up links to blog entries (though they will be there) and endlessly flog my books once they start getting published.  That would be both obnoxious and pointless, things I try very hard to avoid being. Instead, it’s likely to be passing thoughts, minor updates that aren’t yet worthy of blog posts (though they might get rolled up into blog posts the next time I do one, as I’m aware that you may not all want to stalk me follow me in every conceivable venue. I’m going to do my best to keep it interesting, though I’m still on the fence about this whole 140 character limit thing.  We’ll see if I can complete whole thoughts and not lose my mind at the lack of grammar while engaging in this little experiment.  If it disappears, you’ll know I failed and I’m sticking to longer forms like this blog.

I also need the sun to cooperate out here so I can go out and get a bunch of new pictures. My stock of what I have that is good enough (in my admittedly highly self-critical opinion) for me to post them is getting depleted far more quickly than I expected, so I need to refill the queue. The only problem lately has been that the sun seems to keep waiting to come out until I’m so totally head down in writing that I hardly know there is a sun, much less when it’s out and shining.  Very inconsiderate of it, I’m telling you.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Missing The Mad Dash

  1. quix689 says:

    Congratulations! And it’s always fun to find new writers to stalk on Twitter. 😀

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I’m still working on who I want to stalk first. So many possibilities. Except that I desperately want to make sure that, like this blog and FB, Twitter doesn’t interfere with the far more important work of writing. No one will ever pay me to do those things, where I still harbour hopes/dreams that one day people will pay for my writing. 🙂

  2. Wednesday (today): 2,152 words – slack tart..tsk

    takes away your “girlie swot” award………………………………………

    And heads off to stalk you in twitville.. heheh

    • Julie says:

      But, but…. Must be Girlie Swot! Gimmie back!!!!

      *hangs head in shame, crying for her award*

      • hey I don’t MAKE the rules, I just adhe……wtf am I saying, omg have it back …. heheh

        What time is it there and why aren’t you in bed or at work (am sure you should be doing one of these things) 😉

        • Julie says:

          It’s only 10 pm here, not time for either of those. Instead, I’m refilling my ereader’s stock of book samples in the quest for new writers to read. It’s something to do on the bus to work.

          • Do you find as a writer it’s easy or hard to find reading material?

          • Julie says:

            There’s tons of it out there, and I love the ability to grab previews to try out at my leisure (yay ebooks), but at the same time, I definitely have high standards for authors to live up to before I fork over money, and I’m very willing to put a book down if they can’t make me care about what’s going on. Those things have always been the case though, so I don’t know that anything’s changed since I started writing.

          • E-rules lol good call!

            PS I once got told I should be a children’s book writer. Was he taking the piss?

          • Julie says:

            Without knowing the context of that remark, it could go either way, to tell you the truth.

            I know I’d make a lousy children’s book writer. I tend to have sex in my stories, and apparently that’s frowned upon. Who knew? 😉

          • Kids these days, so sheltered .. lmfao!!!!!

          • He said it positively, meaning I talked shit well I guess? 😉

          • Julie says:

            Could be. If it interested you, give it a shot. What will it cost you but time (though last I heard it sounded like that was in short supply for you)

          • nonsense, tiiiiiiiiiiiiiii iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiime is on my side *grins* I’m having a musical evening. It’s inspiring a tragic post – should be done in a day or two gah

  3. Pete Denton says:

    Congratulations on finishing your latest first draft. Fantastic effort. Twitter is great so long as you don’t let it take over your life. You seem disciplined in your writing so enjoy the twitterverse. I will stalk you on there shortly. 🙂

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    Congrats on completing the first draft! But for now, I’ll continue to avoid Twitter and focus on blogging. So no stalking here. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      That’s okay, I don’t expect everyone to stalk me everywhere. That would be a bit too much like… never mind. Either way, thanks. 🙂

  5. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Congrats! That’s awesome! 😀 Less than three weeks, eh? Not bad, not bad. 🙂

    In other news, last night I stayed up writing until two a.m. … I normally try to resist but one of my characters was being too awesome in my head to ignore. And then I got 5 hours of sleep. I wonder if I’m coherent today… XD

    Good luck on your future endeavors! I somehow have a feeling that the next in the trilogy will not let you wait until August Camp… 😀

    • Julie says:

      You know, you really need to get that blog started… Hint, nudge, poke with a sharp stick.

      Glad to hear your own writing is going well. And you know I understand when a character won’t let you sleep and you love them for it.

      Book 2 will almost certainly wait until August camp, as I haven’t even started outlining it, let alone having enough to get started (which would require all of it), Devan will have to be very cooperative and a bit patient. That said, I did make some excellent progress on piecing it together during lunch today at the day job. I’m cautiously optimistic that I’ll be writing that one for camp. Then… well, then it’s a month to prepare and write the third one for NaNo Classic.

      Yeah, I don’t keep busy at all. 😉

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        *laughs* You know, I was figuring I’d just pretend I forgot about it and no-one would notice that I didn’t have one yet. That being said, you’re the second person today to ask me about it. Which may mean I’d better do it. I don’t seem to have the time right now to blog but I’ll try to keep it on my to-do list to get one soon. Anyway, who would want to read a blog by silly ol’ me. *dodges sharp stick* Thanks for that, actually. You’ll keep me in practice for dodging in case my characters start after me with sticks. 🙂

        Yes, I know you understand. 😀 Normally I can resist but not last night–it was just TOO GOOD.

        Okay, well, we’ll see . . . I’m still thinking you usually start something before you think you will. In any case, it doesn’t matter because either way it will happen quite sooner than if it was any other writer in the world . . . 😉

        • Julie says:

          While I acknowledge (and encourage) that the priorities should remain always along the lines of writing first, blogging second (or lower, depending on what’s in your life), no, I wasn’t going to forget. *keeps poking with sticks* You don’t have to post that often, but seriously…

          As for the “who would want to read a blog by silly ol’ me” comment, you know, I said the same thing once, when I got my first blog follower. You might be surprised. I am every time.

          Further, on behalf of your characters, why would you WANT to resist when they’re in the mood to be cooperative? I don’t even try. Ever. (Yes, Devan, I’m coming)

          The main thing that will hold me back from starting book 2 before august is the sheer amount of other stuff on the go, including things I really want to get to before diving in again with Devan. I swear, nothing else seems to matter as much when I’m writing this trilogy… I blame Devan. It’s totally his fault.

          • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

            Quite true in theory, however in practice I fear the blog would take over a higher priority than I wanted it to… Aww, why not? Just forget and everyone will be the happier. 😉 *dodges stick again*

            Hmm. I suppose so…

            Yeah, they’re not always. I’m surprisingly pleased with this latest batch in my new contemporary fantasy — they’re quite cooperative, in general. It’s fantastic, really. So yeah, I agree.

            I remember back when everything was all Tavis’s fault. 😀 I wonder who will be next after Devin…

          • Julie says:

            Devan forgives you. And after Devan, it will be Reah’s fault, trust me. Then… We’ll see, but probably Cayle.

            Believe me, cooperative characters are recent for me too, but I’m starting to think I’m at the start of a trend here.

            I will leave off bugging you on the blog front. For now. 🙂

  6. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    *facepalm* Spelled Devan wrong. Apologies, Devan…

  7. Pingback: Lovely, Tasty Words « Word Flows

  8. 4amWriter says:

    I have a twitter account, so I’ll be sure to follow you and I’ll stop short of stalking you 🙂 Right now, I don’t do much with Twitter, I just can’t get to it. But because it is automatically set up to tweet any blog posts I do, that’s pretty much all I use it for. That and I tweet about posts from my fellow bloggers. Maybe you’ll get more out of it than I will.

    • Julie says:

      I’m slowly getting into using mine for a bit more than just tweeting my blog posts. We’ll see where it goes. I’m still not fond of the character limit, but that’s the writer in me. Maybe it’ll reinforce past lessons in brevity, not that my writing really needs it…

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

