The Squeak and the Brain Mechanic

After the way things went yesterday, I suspect that one day, Devan’s going to turn in his resignation.  Can characters resign?  I think I’m likely to find out.  No, it didn’t go poorly for me. The writing went well, but, well, I’m going to have to apologize to Devan, I think.

The part I was talking about yesterday went very well and I ended up writing more than I really expected, as far as story arc goes, which was awesome.  It was a good word day too, 6,239.  Took me well past 60k, and you all know how I love hitting milestones.  Currently, I’m at 63,942 words.  I suspect I have 15-20k left, but that’s a total guess in so many ways.  So much for my thought that this might hit 100k on the first draft.  I don’t know that I care if it doesn’t, and as I keep saying, the story will take however long it takes to tell.  Besides, mine always grow during editing, whether I plan on that or not. Actually, I never plan that, it just happens. 🙂

The next sections, the ones I’m most likely to get through today, are the set up of the final conflict, which means I have to make a decision.  There’s something that I know happens, but the background event that causes it is a bit murky in my mind.  That’s been okay until now, largely because I’m not writing that event. Devan isn’t there for it, so I can’t. But I think I should know what happens in my head, because it will probably affect how things unfold later, and certainly how someone feels about the event itself and the things that it leads to.  So that’s going to be part of today, I think, feeling out that behind the stage event.  All in all, though, I expect to be done this book by the time the weekend rolls around again at the rate I’ve been going.  I could be surprised and still spend next weekend on it, but it’s looking unlikely at this point.

As the end of this draft is sort of in sight (I’m mostly trying to keep focused on now, but an eye ahead isn’t a bad thing), I’m considering what my next steps will be after this one goes in the drawer.  There’s going to have to be something, because I know I’ll want to go back and reread this the moment I’m done.  Seriously, I won’t want to stop and let Devan rest.  I also won’t be able to go back and do any work on Bound or Possession, as they’re still out with the test readers and that’s one very hard rule I have for myself.  No working on things that are out with beta readers, ever.  I’m also not sure that I’ll be ready to dive back into The Nine, for a lot of reasons.  I think I may give myself a couple of days off to play some games, make some notes on ideas I’m working on, including the next book in the Necromantic trilogy, but no writing draft or editing for that period.  Certainly I’ve earned it, and I didn’t get any such moment of lesser activity between my last pass on The Nine and starting Where The Ether Flows.  There just wasn’t time without starting Camp NaNo late.  Besides, I was way to amped to start writing Devan to wait.  But part of my brain is starting to make this ominous squeaking sound that says I either need a mechanic or a couple days of taking it (relatively) easy.  As I don’t know of any brain mechanics, the later will have to do.

I also think that, if we can get some sun in the next week or two, I’ll take a walk about with my camera.  I haven’t done that in too many weeks.  There’s been so much writing to do, both editing and draft, that I’ve been holed up with it every day.  I’m not quite a hermit yet, but I think a little gear switching would be good for me.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Squeak and the Brain Mechanic

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Yes! You must take some time off soon! Definitely. That squeak is there for a reason. 🙂

    Also, how do you always take such LOVELY pictures?

    • Julie says:

      I’ve been taking pictures, first in film, then digital more recently, for many years.

      As for time off, it’s all relative. I’ll just let my brain stew on ideas for a few days. It’s as close as I’m likely to get.

  2. dex says:

    “…the story will take however long it takes to tell.” That’s how books should be written, whatever length (long or short) that makes them. Congrats on your progress! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I think that at the very least, first drafts should be written with an idea that it will be whatever it becomes. I understand why publishers have target word counts, but that shouldn’t be important in the first draft.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

