Winning While Still Running

So I guess we call today’s story “How I won Camp Nano-June Edition in 13 days.” Yes, you read that right.  No, I don’t get to slack off, not one bit.

When I say I won Camp NaNo last night, what I really mean is I hit the requisite 50k.  Actually, I went past it, but that’s not the point.  Tuesday, Devan kept me up writing Where The Ether Flows until midnight-ish. He really didn’t want to let me go to bed at all, but I noticed that my typos were becoming legion and told him to save it until the next day, that 3,641 words was enough for one night. Not content, he haunted my dreams until morning. No, I’m not complaining, but he is persistent, isn’t he?  Last night I picked up where I’d nearly passed out left off and proceeded to bang out another 3,497 words, which brought me to 50,833 words So yeah, I won NaNo again. Not being done, I shall continue unabated.  At least I like writing at this pace.

Yes, for the curious, I definitely brought Devan to his knees and then, before letting him recover from that, challenged him in a very deep, personal way. No, I’m not going to tell you how. You all know I don’t get into story details here, especially while I’m still writing the book in question (teasing like this doesn’t count). But it did go well and, with some polishing, I think it will live up to everything it should be.  That’s always a nice feeling.  Truthfully, I feel that way about the whole novel so far. I like the way it’s building and the next couple of days will see some serious tension and conflict for my characters.  It’s always fun when they don’t know who to trust. 🙂

Today, the plan is, shock of shocks, more writing. Yes, more risks and challenges for Devan. I can definitely feel the build toward the climax starting.  I still have no idea how long this is going to turn out to be, but I don’t really care.  It’ll be as long as it needs, and my stuff always seems to become longer in editing, chronic under-writer that I seem to have become.

The other thing that’s going on in my head is that I’m considering whether to enter one of my two short stories in the current quarter of the contest my Mirrors story is in.  The joy of a contest like this is that you just keep plugging away until you win or fulfill their definition of a “Pro” and can’t enter anymore.  I’m sort of thinking about entering The Nandora Tree, but I’m not sure, nor am I sure if it’s ready.  I’ll have to mull this over a bit.  Maybe I’ll just send it out to other paying markets.  Really don’t know.  I’d say I’m going around in circles on it, but honestly, I just keep getting distracted by Devan and Ether Flows, so I don’t get any further in thinking about it.  Since that short story is about him, you’d think he’d let me think about it more, but not so much it seems.  Oh well.  I have until the end of the month to decide, and there’s always next quarter if I don’t make a decision in time.

Of course, in the back of my mind, books 2 and 3 of the Necromantic trilogy lurk as I’m writing Ether Flows.  So does Reah.  I’m trying to figure out the two men in her life. I don’t know that the usual labels entirely apply to them.  One is more of less an antagonist, but not entirely.  And the other, well, he’s more than just a love interest.  Nothing is going to be simple with that project, I suspect.  We’ll see where that ends up when I eventually turn to work on that seriously.  That won’t be until Necromantic is complete though, in first drafts at least.  So probably about 6 months from now.  She’ll be screaming for attention by then, I think.  Oh well, it seems to make for better ideas anyway, letting them stew while I work on my current project.

 

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Winning While Still Running

  1. Em says:

    Congrats! Happy to hear that nothing is slowing you down, Ms. Brilliance. 😛

    • Julie says:

      *watches her ego inflate until it pops*

      I told you to be careful with that word. 😀

      In semi-seriousness (best you’re going to do with me while I’m high only own writing), thanks. I’m not sure anything can slow me down. I seem stuck on heedless plunge forward. Worse things could happen. You did say you wanted me to write this series and give it to you. Devan is trying to cooperate with your wish. Isn’t he sweet? 🙂

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    I think it’s safe to say you were born to write! 🙂

  3. Pete Denton says:

    Wow! Congratulations. That’s a fantastic effort. Keep riding the wave 🙂

  4. 4amWriter says:

    Exactly what type of fuel does your engine run on??????

    • Julie says:

      Um, words, hot chocolate and characters who whisper sweet nothings in my ear apparently. There are way worse things I could use for fuel, I suspect.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

