Excessive Giddiness Causes Shrieking

All right, back to our regularly scheduled blogging now.  Today we have the expected (anticipated?) update on writing progress and other awesome things in my life.  I had a serious case of giddy yesterday, and it’s mostly continued into today.  I’m more than fine with that, since there was definitely good cause.  Yes, some of it is about Devan, but not all of it, shockingly enough.

Let’s start with an update on how Camp NaNo is going at the moment.  Sunday’s number was awesome, 6,519 words written, all while getting my laundry and a grocery trip done.  I’m rather impressed.  Monday wasn’t a big number day, but I got a late start, very late, and was somewhat distracted for the first while before I zoned in totally.  That said, 2,997 is nothing to sneeze at and I have this suspicion that no one other than me would complain about it not being impressive enough. *runs for cover from assorted marshmallow guns wielded by people who are irritated with the attitude that it’s not enough*

This bit of productivity has brought Where The Ether Flows up to a whopping 43,695 words.  Okay, so that is kind of impressive for 11 days of writing.  Even I have to admit that.  And while it is definitely a first draft, will certainly require plenty of smoothing and other finessing, I’m rather impressed with what I’ve written.  I’m still loving the way Devan is unfolding and growing on me.  Who would believe you could adore a Necromancer this much?  It’s probably not healthy, but I can’t seem to make myself care.

However, I don’t think Devan will be very happy with me by the end of the day. My plans for writing tonight include bringing him to his knees.  Every story needs those moments, so I’ll try not to apologize to him too much, especially since it helps bring him to a better place in his life.  The worst thing is that I think this time, there will be more than one.  *hangs her head* I think I’m going to end up on the cruelty to characters panel at this rate.  We won’t even discuss the things I’ll be doing to Devan in books 2 and 3.  Reah is in for even worse, and yet still won’t leave me alone.  They’re gluttons for punishment, these characters of mine.  Maybe that means Devan will forgive me by morning. 😀

So, by now at least a few of you are probably getting impatient to hear what made me so giddy yesterday, since it definitely wasn’t all related to Devan (though he’s been responsible for an alarming amount of that from me since I started writing this book).  I was finally able to get the reward for finishing the Mirrors trilogy that I’d been promising myself since February, when the money for it fell into my lap. I bought myself a new Macbook Air for writing. And when I say new, I mean they only announced them yesterday morning.  Fortunately, they also shipped them to the stores in time for selling yesterday afternoon, because I really didn’t want to wait any longer.  The setting up of and giddiness over this new toy was, of course, the source of my distraction, but I think I’ll be okay tonight.  Or maybe next week.  *squeals over new swanky toy again*

Of course, one of the nice things about this new toy is that I’ll also be able to edit on the go, rather than only when I’m at home.  This is good in many ways, partly because I might actually try leaving the house occasionally as a result. The entire world will be shocked.

*Shrieks with delight at the new toy again*

I apologize for that.  I will try to contain myself.  I will almost certainly fail, but you will not be exposed to it (probably) because I’m now done writing this post.  It’s time to let Devan kidnap me again for the night.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Excessive Giddiness Causes Shrieking

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    *joins the ranks of marshmallow-gun-wielders* You have no idea how much I would love to write 3 words short of 3k and consider it “slow going”… I wrote 600 words this morning and was proud of myself, that’s how pitiful I am these days XD

    That’s fantastic that you’re doing so well! Then again, we’re really not surprised, are we? *looks at crowd, who shakes heads* Nope. You just are SO prolific it’s not surprising anymore! 😀 Good luck though, and hurray for new computers! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      600 words isn’t pitiful, to use your phrase. It’s 600 words you didn’t have before. You sat down and wrote. Plenty of people don’t. They talk about wanting to write and never do. They never try, or they give up. You are trying and you’re not giving up. That’s awesome, definitely worth being proud of yourself. Just remember to sit down tomorrow and do it again.

      Thank you for your kind words though. Cooperative characters and stories help with the attempt to be prolific. I don’t know how long I’ll be able to keep this kind of pace up, but I’ll give it a go for as long as it all flows. And at least I do realize that my perspective on what makes a good day might be a bit off. 🙂 Okay, maybe a lot off, totally not the point. I’d blame NaNo, but they only ask 1667 words per day and I expect at least 2k before I get to think about even slowing down.

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        I suppose that’s true . . . Sometimes I need a different perspective to listen to 🙂 Thanks. You’re also right about cooperative characters and stories — I started a new story in April and it’s just been flowing along like nothing I’ve written in a long time, so I’m quite pleased about that! I think I needed a change of pace, because I’m trying a different kind of story than I usually write.

        2k’s really good — keep it up, Julie! You give us hope! 😀

        ~D

  2. New laptop is cause for shrieking, definitely! So how do you like it for writing?

    • Julie says:

      Absolutely love it. The battery life is pretty killer and I love having a full sized keyboard again. My old road warrior was a netbook with a shrunken set of keys. This is way better. Been rocking the word count since too, but it was going well even before this new toy. 🙂

      • Yes, I asked because I had a netbook and a full sized 17″ laptop (until netbook died) and I found it hard to type fast on the 10″ netbook. I would use it to watch my favorite Spanish mini-series in bed at night though. That’s a sweet looking laptop, enjoy!!

  3. Pingback: Missing The Mad Dash « Word Flows

  4. 4amWriter says:

    Hooray for a new toy–that’s a great treat to give yourself! I don’t use a Mac but I have heard wonderful things about them.

    • Julie says:

      I’ve been using them for a long time (1999) and still love them. The really nice thing about the Macbook Air and iPad combo is that I can basically carry my entire writing set up with me everywhere relatively easy. Together they still weigh next to nothing, really. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

