Holy Bloody Hell!

I really tried to think of a better title for this post, but there isn’t one, so instead, I’m going to say it again.

Holy Bloody Hell!!!

Yes, I had to say that.  You might echo it, or come up with your own version when you find out exactly how well yesterday’s writing went. 6,929 words.  Yes, a personal best for this draft so far. No, I wasn’t pushing, and yes, I’m trying to take care of myself so I don’t get any more ill than I already am (stupid stubborn cold).  It just all flowed through, a bit here, a bit there. Oh, and how the story is coming together, oh my god.  I’m discovering textures and details to the story and characters I hadn’t suspected.  My good idea and subsequent good outline are taking off, becoming something more, something fantastic.  I mean, I’m not going back to reread things (much), but it feels fantastic.  I love the way it’s unfolding. I’m at 34,179 words total for the book now and I can’t tell you how much of a struggle it was to stop for the night last night and go to bed.  I think I could have written all night (thank god for touch typing).  I’m sure I’m in for another good day today too, despite the need to go to bed at a reasonable hour.

One of the neat things is I can see some of the little places where I can subtly set up the next two books, and in the little bits that I have reread, I can see other places where I’ve done it subconsciously.  I’m looking forward to working on the next one almost as much as I’m enjoying working on this one.  I feel like my brain is on fire right now.  In a good way.  Yes, there is one.

I know I owe an awards post, for a couple of awards now.  I keep meaning to get to it, but then writing and posts about writing keep getting in the way.  I’ll get to them, really, I will.  I just need a moment where I come up for air.  I seem to have really learned how to breath story lately.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Holy Bloody Hell!

  1. Pete Denton says:

    That is a fantastic effort. Particularly when you have a cold. Keep up the great work.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! It always helps when the story and character are being cooperative, and Devan is in every sense. Now if I could just make this cold go away…

  2. Seriously impressive stuff Julie! You deserve some pom pom waving and cartwheels! 🙂

  3. winsomebella says:

    You are amazing!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! The feeling’s mutual. 🙂 You know how much I always look forward to your next pics. I wish I was half as good as at photography you are.

  4. dex says:

    Wow. That is impressive! Congrats on that. You have to run with the story when it just flows…

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. It’s more like being kidnapped by my main character, I swear. Devan kidnapped me this weekend and almost refused to let me go to work this morning.

  5. 4amWriter says:

    Quite amazing. Maybe you need to be sick more often 🙂 Just kidding.

    • Julie says:

      Lol, writing deliriously? Who knows. I think it just means I need to write full time, but that might be me dreaming, rather than thinking 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

