Wrapped Up In The Words

I love the smell of words on a Saturday morning.  It drives me on, because for a moment (well, two days actually), I get to feel like I’m a full time, professional writer.  Yes, I put in the hours and try to maintain the attitude of those things every day, but for the weekend, I get to forget briefly about the day job and wrap myself in my writing world, which makes me very happy. Viva the weekend!  Viva Camp NaNo!

The past couple of days have been good, with me writing steadily on Where The Ether Flows and being fairly happy with the results.  No 3k days, but that’s okay. My personal pace number is only 2k, and I’m still beating that every day, despite the cold/whatever this ickyness is refusing to go away.  Thursday saw 2,604 words and last night I put in 2,685.  I probably could have gotten more last night, but I felt like playing God of War (again) and I think I needed a few hours after work to just chill after the week from hell (again).  I also got distracted by a Facebook conversation with my friend SJ, but it was a very productive distraction.

She’s one of my test readers, who is currently working her way through the new draft of Bound.  We talked a bit about that. I mentioned that I was also working on the blurb for Possession, though that’s total first draft and I’m not rereading it until I’m done Ether Flows.  Too busy, Devan won’t let go of my brain, all the usual excuses. I teased her with very early tidbits from Ether Flows and I think she wanted to jump through FB and smack me for it. 🙂 But we also talked about cover art for the books.  I’m almost 100% back to definitely self-publishing (no, I don’t expect anyone to be surprised in the least by that since I’m not), though I’m giving serious thought to paying the extra bit and getting a dead-tree (print) edition out there as well as the ebook.  There are a lot of reasons, but the biggest one is simply, why not.  It isn’t that much extra to do it after all, and I hate the idea of limiting my potential market for such a small bit extra.  That just seems silly to me. Note to self, remember that it’s an investment.

Anyway, we were discussing cover art possibilities and came up with some good ones. I now have at least one good option for each of the Mirrors books, and Bound and The Nine both have two options.  It’s marked down in a file of cover notes and I’ll think some more about it in the meantime, see what I think and maybe chew them over with a few other people, including at least a couple who haven’t read the book, just to see how well it draws someone into wanting to try the book out.  We’ll see where that goes, but yes, things are progressing as far as me actually releasing some of this work I keep going on here about.  It’s just that writing, being an iterative process that requires a certain amount of time and distance, isn’t an overnight process.  It’s more like a glacier slowly but surely moving across the land.  I’m getting there though, and you all must realize by now that it’ll be all over this blog when the time comes.  I promise to at least try to avoid being obnoxious about it, really.  Not promising success, but whatever. 🙂

I want to say thank you, by the way, to my friends and family, definitely to my test readers, and to my loyal followers here on this blog. The support and encouragement you guys all offer me is beyond my ability to put a price on.  I swear, it’s like a fountain that refreshes the spirit when life gets you down.  You all mean the world to me, and I appreciate you sharing this journey with me.  I feel very lucky every time I hop on WordPress and see all the people rooting for me.  I should mention that, after my last post, the most amazing thing happened.  I passed 100 followers!  And I mean real followers.  I’ve noticed that for some reason, WP includes your FB friends in your follower total when you link the accounts, and I don’t think that’s really accurate.  For one thing, just because someone’s you’re FB friend, that doesn’t mean they go and read your blog posts. Also, I know in my case that at least a few people are in both camps, which is why I didn’t say anything when the ticker first showed I was over 100, because to me, I wasn’t there yet in a real, honest sense.  But either way, I’m there now, and totally amazed to be.  When I started this blog, I seriously didn’t think anyone other than a few family members and friends would care.  I remember when I got my first follower who wasn’t on either of those lists. It was quite a rush, one that I still experience a bit every time someone clicks the button.  Thanks, guys, for joining me, for being here and reading.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Wrapped Up In The Words

  1. quix689 says:

    I agree that it’s a good idea to do a print edition, as well. I know I, personally, prefer reading books in print. I feel silly saying that when I own a Nook Tablet, but it’s true.

    It’s so exciting that you have ideas for covers! I always find it interesting what people decide to put on the covers of their books. I look forward to the day when you have covers and share them with us.

    Congrats on all the writing you’ve done so far! I’m still blown away when I think of how much you’ve accomplished simply since I started following you after NaNo. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      The sad truth is that you don’t get a lot of choice in Industry publishing for your cover. I’ve heard from a number of sources that they’ve disliked the cover chosen for their book, so I try not to judge the author on the cover they’re given (some of which have made me wonder if the artist read the book). To me, that’s one of the nice things about doing this myself, it’s all my choice.

      And thank you. I’ll admit though, I’m starting to get nervous about Bound, since I’m nearing that point of putting it out there. It’s going to have to stand on its own. I think that it’ll be ready for that by the time I nudge it out the door, but… Still nervous.

      • quix689 says:

        I was mostly talking about the covers I’ve seen people make for NaNo and Script Frenzy. I know that traditional publishers don’t give the author a lot of say. It’s kind of sad that they can give you a cover that you absolutely hate.

        And I completely understand why you would be nervous. But hey – if you weren’t at least a little nervous about it, it probably wouldn’t be something worth getting excited about, right? 🙂

        • Julie says:

          Too right about anything worth something is worth getting nervous over. I know that’s part of it, but maybe that’s also the reason I’m throwing myself into other work at the same time. I never have time to get overly nervous.

  2. Words smell?

    I’d stick with “word flows” as your blog name k ..

    *grins*

    • Julie says:

      Believe me, wasn’t planning on changing the blog name. I’m still amazed at how tremendously appropriate *that* has turned out to be. And I suspect only writers might get that one. Trust me, it’s like victory. It shouldn’t have a smell, but it does. 😀

      • It has to be frustrating to do what you love (and are good at) “part time” and the other stuff wot pays the bills (for now, anyway!) full time.

        Hey, will you remember me when you’re rich and famous? I will be name dropping you all over town when that day comes either way heheh

        • Julie says:

          I will always remember my favourite kiwi, whom I have deeply missed! You’re totally allowed to name drop if my name becomes worth dropping. You can even tell them you read an early short of mine 😀

          And yeah, mondays suck extra hard because it’s the end of full time writing until the next weekend, in addition to the usual reasons for it being unpleasant. Cheers on the for-now bit though. I’m keeping my fingers crossed while I work hard to make writing full time a someday-soon.

          • Heh, too true .. I may even sell your story to some tabloid (just so you can be prepared k!! heheh) I have been insanely busy but healing, if that doesn’t sound overly dramatic lol.. and about to get even busier I THINK .. looking at a job that will have me travelling every week, so that could be fun. Watch this space. And hurry up with some books for me to read when in planes and airports k!! I have to say it will be a total buzz to see one of your books in a store and stare at it going “wow I chat to her” .. I can only IMAGINE what a thrill that would be to BE the writer then!! :):)

  3. For now tho (starting a new comment cos I dislike the nested comments after a few .. yeah crazy, much? LOL) I am going to hang laundry and do some gardening. It’s a frosty but beautiful Sunday morning here and I have heaps I need to get thru’. Wish me luck. All these same jobs were needing doing yesterday and I went out instead >> easily distracted, what can we say 😉

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    Well I know many of us are curious to read the books when they’re released! And a sneak peek at the covers would be fun, too. I’ve got covers in my mind for my first two novels. Would a traditional press go with them? Hmm, don’t know. But if I do e-publish, I think someone could do a good job with them….

    Do get some rest so you don’t get pneumonia! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      My understanding, and remember that I’m not an expert, is that you’d have trouble getting them to go with what you want. It’s more like here’s your cover, learn to love it.

      I fully plan to preview covers here once I have them, sort of a pre-release hype building thing. Plus probably a sample chapter when it’s ready (I think I’ve mentioned this before though). Thanks for the encouragement. I’m looking forward to seeing where you decide to go with your own books, progress updates and all that good stuff.

      And I am resting. Sort of. My version of it. I made myself stay in bed until 7:30 am. The writing until 1 am was a total accident. How about I promise to have chicken soup?

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

