Savoring the Madness

It’s been a fun couple of days for me.  You will all be glad to know that I’m slowly getting better, though I’m still a bit loopy.  And I didn’t even take any medication to get there!  There have been a few side-effects of this craziness, which have somehow reinforced the state that caused them.  It’s an odd cycle, in an odd person, so what do you expect, really?

The biggest thing has been some awesome progress on Where The Ether Flows.  I’m having way too much fun with this, and watching Devan develop as the story unfolds is utterly wonderful.  I know I liked the guy from the moment he introduced himself to me, but now we’re well beyond that. I’m having trouble making myself stop when I reach a good place to pause for the night.  Every Damned Night.  Seriously, where’s winning the lottery when you need the opportunity to stay home all day and write?

As far as the numbers go, I should update a bit of my last set.  The last time I posted, I said I was at 2,584.  I kept going, because I really seem to have a problem with stopping, and hit 3,006 words for Tuesday. Yesterday was even better.  Around cooking a giant pot of chicken soup (I freeze the leftovers so I have stuff to eat without stopping long enough to cook), I put in 3,067 words.  I haven’t started yet today, but I suspect it will be an equally good day, because that’s just how things have been going lately.  No, I haven’t been pushing myself, especially with still trying to get better, but it’s just flowing along that well.  My last chapter flowed so well that I didn’t have time to do my usual in depth outline of it. It just hit the screen.  Didn’t leave a mess or anything.  I mean, time in a drawer will help me judge it better, but I think it turned out very well so far.  Ether Flows is now 21,961 words long and the best is yet to come.  I’m not taking bets on total length at this point.  Way too early and I’m way too busy being enthralled with Devan and his story to even think about it, really.

There’s something else I should probably explain, before a few people try to find a way to reach through the computer screen and smack me for keeping them in suspense.  In a few responses to comments yesterday and one status update on Facebook, I alluded to my brain exploding.  It really did, honest.  I was walking home and then suddenly this idea jumped me, just burst into my head and took over my thoughts entirely.  I stood there on the sidewalk for a good 5 minutes scribbling frantically.  To tell you the truth, I can hardly read it now and it reminds me why I never write draft long-hand. It would be a brilliant and utterly illegible story, and wouldn’t that be a waste?  But back to the brain-imploding idea.  It’s the third book in the Necromantic trilogy.  I’ve always had a fairly good idea of the major events in book 2, but the final book was a bit murky.  Actually, it was more mysterious than midnight, but that’s not the point.  The point is that I understand what it’s about now, and what events and facts it turns around.  And it’s amazing.  I wish I was the kind of writer who could share before they write, and who could live with the enormous spoilers doing so would give you on a book I haven’t finished writing (plus one I haven’t started yet), but I’m not.  Suffice it to say, after I finished scribbling, I stood in awe of what my brain had presented me with.  Total and complete awe.  Yeah, I know, build it up much, why don’t I? It’s just that it reflects an implication of something I already knew, but I hadn’t considered the effect of that thing. And that a whole book will revolve around this thing and be driven by it, that’s just… wow.

As if that wasn’t enough, and I promise that I wasn’t trying to be greedy, I had two other smaller explosions go on, some key details and early events in both Masques and Spire of Time.  Each were whispering to me yesterday, and I suspect there will be more in the days to come.  I feel like I’m in a total groove that somehow encompasses both creativity and productivity.  I know it’ll probably come to a screeching halt at some point, whenever it isn’t convenient, but how I am enjoying it at the moment.  This feeling is something to savor!

I know, being on overdrive probably isn’t healthy, but I don’t feel like I am.  It’s just all coming together in my head at once.  I can handle it, really.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Savoring the Madness

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    I probably say “wow” a lot on your posts. 🙂 I can’t imagine writing so much at such a pace!

    • Julie says:

      That’s okay. I keep sitting back and saying “wow” at the end of every night’s writing, so know that you’re not alone. Honestly, I can’t usually do 3k every single night after a full work day, but Devan’s beyond cooperative. He drags me in and won’t let me go until I’m begging for sleep, swearing to return the next day. And tomorrow’s Friday, when I can’t use work the next day as an excuse for why I need to go to bed. This is going to be a wordy, sleepless weekend, I think. 🙂

  2. 4amWriter says:

    Liking our characters has a way of keeping us writing. Glad you’re getting better!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! And you’re right, it is easier to write when you like your characters. It’s also easier when they’re cooperative and let you in their head. Devan’s being both thankfully. And believe me, I know how lucky that makes me.

  3. subtlekate says:

    You always impress me with how much you do.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

