Who has time to be sick?

It’s been a rough day today.  Feeling like crap would be an understatement.  I’ve been home from the day job almost the entire day because of it.  I did try to go in, but lasted all of twenty minutes before realizing I was barely coherent.  Thankfully, I only live 15 minutes from work.  I got home and slept for about 3 hours.  For me, that’s unusual.  I normally get up and stay that way until late at night.  Now I know I’m sick.  The sleep helped, though I’ve still felt far from good all day. At least I feel mostly like a human being now, instead of some zombie version of me.

That improvement, of course, is good, because I still have a book to write.  And write it is exactly what I’ve been doing since late afternoon.  Yesterday, I put in 3,358 words, which is excellent for a weekday, even better for a Monday.  Today, so far, I’ve clocked in 2,584 (no, not done yet, but I needed a break and to write this post.  Two birds, one stone).  This puts me at 18,472 total on Where The Ether Flows so far.  Not bad for being a sick writer (physically, the mental is a given).

Story-wise, things are flowing well and just starting to get exciting.  Devan just met one of the other main characters, who he’s going to be spending a lot of time with, so that’s pretty good. I’m quite happy with the pace of the story so far, and the way I’m layering in the world, though it’s anyone’s guess whether I’ll still feel that way once it’s finished and comes back out of the drawer for editing.  The amount that I’m getting done is good in another respect too.  I’m enjoying the story itself that I’m not even thinking about the word count.  It’s just flowing by.  I’ll do a few hundred words, give myself a short break and then come back and do it again.  It’s mounting up on its own.  It’s nice to forget about pace in that respect.  2k per day seems to be my sweet spot for goal, it seems, as I’ve suspected for a while.

Again, I think some of all this is the amount of time I’ve spent thinking about it in preparation.  I’ll have to remember that when it comes time to prep the second book, not to rush it.  That probably puts doing the August camp off the table, but I can live with that.  I’ll likely just do it unofficially in September, or whenever I’m ready.  I’m cool with that.  Nothing says I have to write a new book every other month, right? 🙂  Um, I’ve gotta go, I think I hear the grumbling of my backlog of characters waiting to be written about…  Maybe if I hide for a while, they’ll forget I said that eventually.  As it is, they’re already unhappy when I remind them they’re sitting behind two more books to be written in this trilogy, and the editing that still needs to get done on the Mirrors trilogy.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Who has time to be sick?

  1. MythRider says:

    Hate being sick. Glad you are doing better. Good to see nothing stops the writing.

    • Julie says:

      Never! I will write through anything. Except maybe death. But short of that, or if I become a zombie…

      I think I’m a bit loopy right now. I blame blinding inspiration that struck me on my walk home from work. See next post for details. 😀

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    Take care of yourself. If your body needs more rest, let it. I know too many people who pushed things when they were sick and developed pneumonia. Not a good thing!

    • Julie says:

      But if I let my body think it’s in charge, it’ll pull this crap all the time…

      But trust me, I know pneumonia isn’t fun. I had that last year. I’ll try to take care of me, but no promises. I’ve got too much going on in my brain to slow down much.

  3. Ugh. I woke up sick today. I almost missed my son’s graduation. Forced myself into the car with a bucket “just in case”. Made it through, thank goodness.

    All better now!

    • Julie says:

      Now, see, that’s what I’m talking about. Is it just me, or does it always seem to happen at the worst time, when the only option is to carry on anyway?

      Glad you made it through and you’re all better though 🙂

  4. 4amWriter says:

    Feel better! Don’t overdo it. Daydream instead of write. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thanks for the good wishes. Um… But… but I like to write 3k while sick (or well). Really. I slept a whole lot anyway, so I was all recharged. 🙂

      And I promise, I’m not flying high because of medication. Didn’t take any. I’ll try not writing until midnight every night at least, but I might fail. Definitely Devan’s fault. My sweet necromancer has a delightfully sardonic side apparently, and it’s making it hard to resist writing at the moment.

  5. Pingback: Savoring the Madness « Word Flows

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

