High On Words

Now that’s what a weekend should be.  And those weekdays too, but that’s more of a dream to strive for at the moment.

Yes, that definitely means that things have progressed well on Where The Ether Flows.  Oh. My. God. Has it ever.  I think it might be possible to get a serious high off of words alone.  It must be, because I swear, I am.

Let’s get the numbers out of the way so I can talk about more fun stuff.  Yesterday, I clocked in a very nice 5,184 words.  On a brand new story in a brand new world, with a new cast and main character. And it was only the second day of writing.  I’m going to call that fabulous.  I had to look back at my stats for the first draft of Bound (back in November), to get a bit of perspective.  I didn’t have a day that good until nearly the end, and even then, it required a 4-day weekend to get me into that territory.  Did I mention that this is already a better book than that one was?

And today? 4,230 so far (no, I’m not done yet), but I spent an awful lot of that time apologizing to Devan. Worse, I’m going to end up doing a lot more of that by the time I wrap this trilogy up.  I’ll make it up to him, and he’s going to make some good friends along the way, something he’s never had before, but at the same time, this poor guy is going to get hurt on numerous fronts.  Really, I’m sorry, Devan.  Please forgive the writer. She means well, honest.

By the way, this means that, on Day 3, I’ve already passed the 10k mark!  In fact, I blew it out of the water with 11,447 so far.  How awesome is that?

So, on to the more fun stuff, as I said. It’s been a while (7 months) and a lot of work on the Mirrors trilogy since I was at this point in the writing process.  This is only my second new world that has a hope in hell of going anywhere, and the wonderful thing is how much better it is this time.  It helps that I’ve been thinking about the Necromantic trilogy longer before starting than I ever did with Mirrors.  I mean, Devan introduced himself in January, and I’m only just getting to writing him, where I had less than a month between getting the idea for Bound and when I wrote the first draft for NaNo.  And such a difference it’s making. The world feels more solid to me, and the characters are better fleshed out.  I’ve done a better job thinking through the events of the story and their ramifications this time too.  It’s still too early to be sure, but I really don’t think I’ll end up in the same position I was after finishing NaNo last November, where I have to throw out a whole draft and start over.

I can’t tell you how happy this all makes me, and it isn’t because I don’t want to waste my time.  I mean, no one likes doing that. I learned so much from that first draft of Bound that I can’t call it a waste of time, and I swear I’d feel that way about any draft I learned something from.  I guess what’s going on now is more about the amount of personal growth as a writer I’ve undergone in the last seven months.  That makes me happy and hopeful.  I’m sure I’ve said it before, that my eventual goal is to make this my sole, full-time job.  I’ve always been aware that the odds are long on making that happen, but I’m seeing signs of hope as I go through the act of testing out my new world, of actually putting it to use instead of just thinking about it as I’ve been doing for months.  I’m starting to think that I might be able to really do this.  Of course, the proof will be in how things turn out when I eventually get books out to market, but again, I’m hopeful.  I know I’m doing the necessary work to make what goes out the best it can be.  I mean, let’s face it.  I could slap a cover on Bound now and throw it out there, if I really wanted to, but I’m holding back, polishing a little more.  There’s still a plan in place for that to happen in the not too distant future.  That said, I refuse to rush it.  If I want to do this, and do it via self-publishing, I have to be able to temper my enthusiasm with sufficient professionalism to hold back on publication until I’m reasonably sure it’s ready.  I’m willing to do that though.

Right now, I don’t think I could describe for you the level of my enthusiasm and energy.  The thought that keeps circling around in my brain is to wonder if they’d notice if I called in dead for a week at the day job.  I don’t want this weekend to end, I don’t want to have to step back into the real world, even knowing that I’ll be back at the keyboard almost the moment I get home.  I can see already that remembering to do mundane things like cleaning and making food is going to be a challenge for the next however many days it takes me to finish this book.  I suspect that, as usual, it’ll be less than the budgeted 30.  I seem to run around the 20-25 day mark, depending on how much time I have off from work during the writing.  I’m trying to imagine how much more I’d get done if I was writing full time.  You have no idea the giant grin the thought brings to my face.  At the risk of sounding egotistical, sometimes I really think that I was born to do this.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to High On Words

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    Enjoying what you’re doing is what life should be about. And I’m looking forward to seeing these works make their appearance in the world. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. I’m looking forward to that too. It’s the kind of thing that has a long lead time. Each book of the first trilogy is still steadily making it’s way through the editing, revision and feedback cycles, progressing toward that point of being ready to go out into the world. I’m starting to suspect that, since I keep writing new stuff during this process, by the time Bound is ready and goes out the door, it’ll be the start of something sort of reminiscent of a slow avalanche… Worse things could happen. 😀

  2. 4amWriter says:

    Love the enthusiasm and knowing that things are going well for you!

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! How are things with you? Well, I hope, with as much of my enthusiasm as I dare wish on another person (this kind of thing can get exhausting after a while, you’re just to busy with it to notice for a while).

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

