Crossing The Finish Line

I did it!  I made it!

Um, I think I fried my brain.

But I managed everything I wanted to do by the end of yesterday  Yay!  Who needs a fully functional brain anyway? Not this writer. 😀

Oh wait, I do need one for today, and the rest of the weekend.  Um, actually, I need it for the next 30 days.  Eep, I think I’m in trouble now.

So, yeah, as I was saying, all of the edits for the first pass of The Nine are in.  It got longer (no surprise), and now stands at 95,442 words.  Wow.  It also got better though, which makes me happy.  After that sprint of editing, the manuscript goes in the drawer, and I move on for a while.

This, of course, means that it’s NaNo time, Camp style.  NaNoWriMo started doing the summer camps last year, and so far I’m signed up to do the June one.  Your guess is as good as mine regarding me doing the August camp.  It depends on whether I feel ready to do the second book in the Necromantic series then, or if I’m drowning in the need to edit the Mirrors trilogy then.  For now, June is the focus.  As I’ve said before, I’m going to do Where The Ether Flows for this one. I took a look through the outline yesterday (yeah, cutting it a bit fine, I know) and after a few small tweaks, I’m happy with it.  I even started my notes for chapter 1 today at work, the first step before I write the chapter.  I’ll have to finish those notes before I crack open the netbook and show it some love after a month and a half with nothing.  While NaNo is supposed to be 50,000 words in 30 days, and Camp is no exception to that, I’m going to do my usual 60k goal, for the daily goal of 2k.  It works for me, so I’m not going to mess with it.

I’m really excited about this, seeing how this unfolds, and letting Devan have his way with my brain.  This is going to be fun.  I just have to keep focused and not let my day job take up too much of my energy.  That shouldn’t be a problem.  Writing draft usually just pumps my energy levels up, rather than drawing any off.  It’s wonderful, trust me.

Okay, I’m off to get going.  I have a novel to write and Devan’s been so patient, in his own way.  Time to reward him for that. 😀

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Crossing The Finish Line

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    Good luck with summer camp! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. Having just finished the day’s prep work, I’m excited to dive in, but I have to do the dishes first… Stupid dish fairy never seems to come to my house. It’s so not fair.

      • jmmcdowell says:

        So true. And I wish she would show up with her sister, the vacuuming fairy!

        • Julie says:

          She’s actually in the Housework Fairy Gang. They go around to people’s houses at random and just clean the crap out of it, cause they’re just like that. And yet they never seem to find my apartment. I guess it’s too small to be satisfying to them.

          Okay, now you *know* I write fantasy 🙂

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    I actually had NO doubt you would finish everything you were trying to do before Camp. 😀

    I wish I was doing Camp, sort of, but I didn’t plan for it and I figure at the moment I can only carve out ONE month of crazy writing for myself. So. 🙂 I’m already looking forward to November though, even though I don’t have that book entirely figured out. . . Must. Work. On. (Btw, I HAVE been around and reading your blog and watching your business, I just have been busy and not communicative . . .)

    Good luck on Camp!!! I know you can do it! (from experience :D) May Devan’s story be awesome… 🙂

    • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

      *busyness

      • Julie says:

        You know, I love how everyone had more confidence in my ability to successfully navigate such a crazy schedule. 🙂

        And thanks for the wishes, I’m sure I’ll be okay with NaNo. That’s never a problem and I have a few under my belt now, though some of them are unofficial 🙂

  3. subtlekate says:

    Goodness. Rest your poor brain and be very proud of yourself 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Lol, definitely proud of myself, but what is this rest thing you speak of? I’m busy writing a new book, and loving every minute of it. 😀

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

