Editing My Way Into (Relative) Sanity

To understand the title of this post, you need to understand that I’ve been having a long, shitty week at the day job.  I mean, seriously, I’ve been back from my vacation for almost two weeks and I’m now in need of a month-long vacation to recover. Either that or winning the lottery so that I can call in rich and write full-time.  Both are equally likely, resting in the long-shot to mission-impossible category.

It’s been so rough that, by the time I got home today, I wasn’t sure I’d be able to edit.  Really.  I was drained and wanted to curl up asleep for the rest of forever.  Mindful of my careful schedule of editing, I let myself play God of War 2 for a half hour to de-stress (and imagine doing bad things to certain people), before marshalling myself back to editing.  Shockingly, it worked.  Well, that and the editing itself worked.  Remember what I’ve said before, writing (and related activities like editing) is my prozac.  I’m not kidding.  After today, I’m certain that I’m not even exaggerating on that one.

So I’m feeling much better now, in addition to still being wonderfully on schedule.  I have this horrid feeling I’ll be in the same crappy state after work tomorrow, but at least I know how to do something about it so I can keep on track.  As it stands, I’m probably going to get at least most of the way through chapter 24 before I call it a night, out of 27 chapters.  I’m totally going to get it done in time.  You have no idea how shocked I am right now.

I haven’t read through the whole outline for Where The Ether Flows yet, but I’ve done a few parts.  I swear, I have a good excuse.  I spent some time at lunch yesterday adding in those missing pieces that had been hiding in my iPod, and the most amazing thing happened.  I’m sure I heard my outline sigh when I did.  You know that sigh you give when someone scratching your back finds the exact right spot, relieving the itch that’s been bugging you for weeks?  Yeah, that’s what I swear my outline did.  It feels like it’s right, even without having gone through the whole thing.  I will read through it all tomorrow.  That’s my plan and I’m sticking to it, but I now feel more confident about what will happen when I do.  Also, the parts that I did end up reading while adding those extra bits were excellent.  I think I’m well set up to have a great Camp NaNo.

Oh, the other thing those missing bits did was to unlock something I knew was missing so far from my notes for book 2 of the Necromantic trilogy, a thread of the story that needed to begin in Ether Flows, really.  Yay, so I sat there and scribbled away (well, tapped, because it was on my iPad).  Writing-wise, life is looking good.  If only the rest of my life would be so cooperative.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Editing My Way Into (Relative) Sanity

  1. is it kinda cool to have an escape when your “day” job is crap? I dunno if it’s good or bad ie tiring or a relief? To read your title it’s a good thing .. whatever, I’m sorry your day job is being a pig. Want I should hurt someone for you? I know people .. bad people .. well.. not really but .. oh ffs I’m full of it *grins* here’s a kiwi-hug k

    • Julie says:

      Aww, thanks for the offer to make someone pay for how sucky my day job has been lately. And definitely thank you for the hug. I needed that. I’m sure it’ll get at least a little better soon, probably after this week, but at the moment, I’m about ready to tell them I’ve had enough. Sound like anything someone you might know did recently? In all seriousness, I hope things are going okay in my favourite Kiwi’s world. Glad to see you, as always.

      It is a relief to have something to escape into. I just wish I didn’t need it so much at the moment. Oh well. Soon I’ll be writing with Devan, and then may the good times totally roll. Really looking forward to that. 🙂

  2. gabriellan says:

    Writing/editing is the best therapy. It was pretty much my lifeline during finals in school, and I didn’t mind losing an hour or two of study time to writing because it always helped me chill out and get my mind back in order.

    • Julie says:

      I have to agree. Writing always helps me get back in mental balance, even on the days when it drives me nuts (admittedly a rare occurrence).

  3. tedstrutz says:

    Work has a way of interfering with writing. It’s a bitch.

    • Julie says:

      Trust me, that’s one thing I try to avoid at all costs, letting the day job interfere with writing. Fortunately, most of the time my day job is the kind where you do your hours and then go home, leaving work at the office. It’s part of why I took that job, to be honest. Writing is what’s important to me, so I try to keep my life arranged properly around it. At least it’s working so far. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

