Missing Pieces Located In My iPod

I’m going to give you all a short respite from me whining about how much editing I have to do before Friday.  There are two reasons for this.  First, I’m sure you’re tired of hearing it, and second (more importantly) I’m tired of saying it.  Hell, I need a break from thinking about it and this post should be just long enough for that.

I’m going to talk about something wonderful instead.  No, Bound isn’t out yet. Just in case anyone out there was jumping to conclusions, please jump back into your seat in this audience.  Thank you. It’s considered impolite to jump on the person in the seat in front of you.

Those of you who have been reading this blog for the past month or so might recall me saying that I had a problem with my outline for Where The Ether Flows, that there was something missing.  I thought I had found it. No, I’m not going to get into specifics other than to say it had to do with a sibling relationship that I sort of spiralled into the story.  The only problem was that the feeling didn’t go away.  It damped down a bit, but definitely didn’t even retreat all that far.  I put the finished outline in the drawer with that feeling still plucking at my thoughts.

Fast forward a couple of weeks to my walk home from work today.  There’s a particular song by 10 Years that I’ve found very evocative of the mood of the world Ether Flows takes place in. It’s called Silhouette of a Life.  As I left the office, this song came on and I swear, my brain started sliding into the story and I could almost hear the whispers of the characters. That would be creepy if I wasn’t used to it from the Mirrors trilogy. Instead, it was wonderful and I let it intoxicate me all the way home.

By the time I got there, the most amazing thing had happened.  I had the missing piece, the thing I hadn’t put into the outline enough. Again, not going into details, but it’s a different sibling relationship.  I guess I was partially right the first time around, and it does explain the sort of false-positive I got before.  Either way, now I really need to go back and throw that in there.  I could technically try to pants those parts, but I’d prefer not to, as pantsing does seem to work for me on long fiction, and this is too important to risk screwing up that part of the story.  I also think it was one of the threads I needed to lead into the second book in the Necromantic trilogy.  Yes, I have already started to make notes on that. Thank you for asking.  What do you mean, I work too much?

And now to dive back in.  I still have a bunch of editing to do.  I think I’ll work on the outline at lunch at work tomorrow.  Or maybe tonight when I should be sleeping, if impatience gets the better of me.  It usually does, as most of you know all too well.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Missing Pieces Located In My iPod

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    Don’t you just love it when a previously misplaced idea reappears? 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Lol, absolutely. It renews my faith that, at least subconsciously, I know what I’m doing. The conscious mind, maybe not so much, but 50% isn’t too bad, right?

  2. 4amWriter says:

    That’s a wonderful feeling and I’m so glad you listened to the whispering in your head. Hearing characters from a WIP is the only time whispering in your head is a good thing 🙂

  3. gabriellan says:

    I love it when something makes sense! Haha. I’ve found that music that makes me think of my novel can be invaluable when I’m brainstorming and writing. I’ve actually based a whole book on a song, so that says something about how important my music is to me!

    • Julie says:

      I had a whole sound track for the Mirrors trilogy. I’ve put one together for Necromantic too, but it won’t be stable until around the time I finish the trilogy, whenever that is. After that, I even use it for editing. I’m totally music-oriented. I may not make any, but I live my life to it every moment I can.

  4. I am still ruminating about a piece of advice I got from a successful career author. When you feel it, write and when you don’t (and have the luxury to) don’t force it. Sometimes taking a break of a few days helps me clear my head so I can come back and be much more productive.

    • Julie says:

      I tend to go with that at least when I’m writing the outline for a story. That’s where I tend to make the major decisions about the story at that stage anyway. I don’t do it so much in writing the first draft, because I’ve found I can cripple myself searching for that right way of phrasing something, and besides, I can edit/rewrite a section later. I’ve done that a number of times and it generally works out.

      You’re right though, a break can sometimes be all you need. It depends on what the problem is, I guess. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

