Much More Than A Polite Mouthful

Erm, I think I may have bitten off more than I can chew here.  While I wait for everyone’s shock to subside (even I’m a bit surprised that I might consider admitting that possibility), let me explain what I mean.

I’m having some doubts about my ability to get through everything I want to by the end of the month.  Never fear, I have ZERO intention of putting off doing the June Camp NaNoWriMo, let alone saying I’ll wait until the August one to turn my brain and digits over to Devan. In fact, I think one of my test readers might fly to Vancouver and do something unpleasant to me if I were to put off writing this series, but beyond that, Devan is his own reward. That said, I’m staring at 27 chapters (including the epilogue) of The Nine and thinking that it might be a bit much to hope I’ll get through the remaining 24 before the end of the month.  Especially when I still need to go over the outline for Where The Ether Flows again before that time.

Hmm, what to do.  Well, I like a challenge, so I guess I’ll just keep going and see how far I can get.  I mean, I probably could do it if I skimped a bit on this pass of editing, just fixed the worst of the rough edges, but what would the point of that be? I know I’ll have to come back in anyway, but if I’m going to half-ass it, why not just put it on hold now, before I get in too deep and make it wait the month.  Yes, I only whole-ass things, I’m telling you.  In all seriousness, I want to work on editing this book, even if it is rougher than I had quite expected when I finished writing it. I want to do it right and smooth everything down properly as much as possible on this pass, or why bother?  I think that, if I’m not entirely done the editing by the end of the month, I’ll just have to try to either time-share my brain through the early part of this NaNo (a first for me as I usually drop everything when I write draft), or just work on the rest of it after I’m finished the first draft of Ether Flows.  Which option will I choose? I couldn’t tell you, and it’ll probably depend on how much I have left when we hit the end of the month.  And who knows, I could surprise myself and get it all done.  Maybe it’s just the first few chapters that require the kind of time and work I’m putting into them.  A writer can hope, right?

And today’s picture, before I dive back into editing.  Enjoy.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Much More Than A Polite Mouthful

  1. subtlekate says:

    That is a lot to do in one little month but I think if you just work down the list you’ll get done what you can and the rest is always there for another time. Remember to breathe and eat.

    • Julie says:

      Technically, it’s a week to do all that editing, but you’re right, I’ll do what I can and worry about the rest later.

      And thankfully, I’m capable of breathing and editing/writing at the same time. As for eating… well, I won’t make any promises on that. I have a very bad track record there. I tend to get so wrapped up in it that I forget to feed myself. Oops 🙂

      • subtlekate says:

        It’s the thing I forget too and before you know it, my pants are falling off.

        • Julie says:

          Same. When I went back to visit my family, my mom didn’t immediately recognize me at the airport because I’ve lost so much weight. I think I lose about 5 pounds per fresh draft I write (editing doesn’t cause any real loss so far as I can tell). It could be worse. I think I can afford another two drafts before I start having to worry. 😀

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    Somehow it wouldn’t surprise me if you soon posted that it’s all done, and you’ve started outlining the next novel!! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      I’m almost certainly going to have to disappoint you there. My progress last night was slow, though it was still good progress, quality-wise. But thank you very much for your confidence in me 🙂

  3. So, a quiet weekend ahead then?
    *grin*

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

