Desperate For More

Seriously, desperate here. I mean, I’ve run out of things to work on during my trip and I’m not going home for a couple of days. Ugh. I really have gone through EVERYTHING that I brought with me that isn’t with test readers. I work too quickly apparently.

The mark of how desperate I am is that I’m making another run through The Nine, even though I haven’t yet entered the changes from the first round. I’m finding more things and actually getting more concrete about some of the general things that I had marked for fixing up. It means that I’ll hit the ground running to make these changes to the Word file when I get home. Worse things could happen πŸ™‚

I’m also still mulling the whole publishing method question. I think that some of it is feeling very close to being done with Bound (no guarantees on that though, it’s ready when it’s ready) Okay, I know that it has seemed like I was decided on self-publishing electronically, but I never said it was for sure. I’m back to vacillating on the subject. I suppose part of it is theoretically better exposure, but it’s also about how much time I have for writing. Self-pub would certainly cut into that as I would have to spend much more time doing the marketing and getting covers done, and everything else that goes into making a book because it would all be on me. Yes, that means that the ability to succeed is all in my hands, rather than hoping someone else does their job properly and no one else drops the ball, but that’s a lot of pressure, and time for me to spend on not-writing.
I find my thoughts circling a lot on the subject and I’m increasingly tempted to at least query a few agents, see what comes of it. One of the real problems I see if I go with the industry is the volume of writing I seem to be producing in a relatively short period of time. It certainly seems to be faster than the industry likes to go and there would be overflow, I can almost guarantee it. Of course, I can always look at self-publishing some of that overflow when and if it happens.

And none of this is for certain. I could change my mind back again tomorrow or next week. I just don’t know. It’s a big decision and I’m really not sure what I want. The good thing about querying some agents is that all it would do is delay getting Bound out there if it doesn’t work out. I won’t have lost anything but time. I’m trying to keep focused more on writing, rather than navel-gazing about this, but eventually I’m going to have to make the decision and with something this big, I tend to want to think about a lot before I actually make the decision.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Desperate For More

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    It’s a decision each of us has to make. The e-publishing opportunities have changed the playing field.

    The traditional agent route requires a killer query letter and synopsis. And there’ still no guarantee someone will offer representation. Then there’s no guarantee a press will take it. And if one does, it can be a couple of years before the book hits the shelves. That’s a long time to wait for gratification. And many presses expect the author to do 90 percent of the marketing on his own. It’s no wonder so many writers are bypassing that route.

    I’m leaning toward querying some agents when I finish Death Out of Time. But I don’t think I could take 20 or passes. (I hate calling them rejections. How can someone reject a book he hasn’t seen?) If I don’t get a nibble, I’ll e-publish.

    Have you tried putting together a query and synopsis yet? If you think you can nail the story and hook an agent with them, you might want to give the traditional route a try.

    And you can always change your mind. πŸ™‚

    • Julie says:

      yeah, I’m definitely not talking about hitting double digits for agents queried. Maybe just a few. Believe me, I know it’s hard to get them, but I don’t think I have much to lose by trying a few.

      You’re right though, with how much we’re expected to do, for such a small cut of the money, I’m not surprised that writers are revolting against the old system.

      I’m not really in a rush for gratification, but I just wonder if I’m giving up on the industry for the wrong reasons. I don’t know. I probably won’t know what I want until I get a cover made πŸ™‚

  2. 4amWriter says:

    I hear you. Even though I want to go the traditional route, I haven’t ruled out self-pubbing either. I guess it will come down to a matter of how much interest I can get from querying. If there are nibbles then I’m more likely to push on. But if it’s absolutely still, no action whatsoever I’ll be thinking self-pubbing to be the way to go.

    I agree with JM. If you spend some time on a query/synopsis and get some people to read it before you start sending it out, that might help you get a better idea if you really want to jump through all of those hoops in the publishing industry. Because, querying is definitely a hoop πŸ™‚

    • Julie says:

      To be honest, even nibbles will only hold me for so long, especially given the response times I’ve heard about from some agents. And the hoop jumping… I’ve never been a fan of that. I hate feeling like a trained seal :p

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

