On The Writing Merry-Go-Round

You know, sometimes it amazes me how much I can get done in and around everything else that’s going on in my life. In the middle of a vacation that includes a lot of running around and seeing family and friends, I’m being quite productive. No, this does not mean I’ve given up sleeping, I promise. I’m even eating more than I would at home. Moms always feed you when you visit, I swear.

Yes, this means I’m done the PDF mark up portion of my first round of edits for The Nine. I still need to edit all of the changes in, including the vague notes that just say there’s something wrong. At the moment, I’m almost wishing they had Word for iPad, but I’ll live. It’s just going to take some serious time to get all of these changes in. Then The Nine goes back in the drawer for a month or so.

In the meantime, I’m doing another round on my short story The Way Out Is Through. When I saw my two test readers on Saturday, I expressed to them that I’m really not sure what I think of this story, or if it’s remotely publishable due to subject matter (long story, not going into it here) and was promptly told to hand it over. I only got out of that alive because I promised to send it to them after the next round of edits, and that means I have to get on it because these people aren’t patient. I generally take that as a compliment though, because it means they want more πŸ™‚ So I’ve got to prep that and enter those changes once I get home. I’m going to be very busy when I get back. I’ll probably start with the short story, if for no other reason than to get it done and out of the way, plus the feeling of accomplishment that will hopefully carry me into the work on The Nine.

After that, I’m not sure. Probably a review of the outline of Ether Flows, deciding how it is, whether it’s ready and making any tweaks I need to in order to be ready for June 1st. I’m sure I’ll be ready though. And yes, I’m still mulling in the back of my mind several of the choices I still need to make that I’ve mentioned here before. I’m getting there, slowly but surely. I’m a bit excited about going in and writing in a whole new world, one that’s very different from the Mirrors trilogy. Okay, more than a bit excited, but it’s totally not the point. πŸ™‚

Home again five days, so pictures will start again then. I can’t wait to see my cats and computer again. I know, strange priorities in my head. I’m strange in general, you all have to know that by now.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On The Writing Merry-Go-Round

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    I’m transitioning away from Word and into Scrivener for my writing. But I don’t know if it runs on iPads yet. It did start as a Mac program, so maybe? If so, you might want to consider it. According to the reviews I’ve read, both pantsers and outliners like it. That’s quite a coup!

    • Julie says:

      They’ve announced that they’re working on an iPad version but it’s not out yet. I have a trial of scrivener on my Mac, but haven’t tried it yet, as I’m fairly happy with what I’m using so far. I have heard great things about it though.

  2. Ottabelle says:

    Happy for you πŸ™‚ Give me some of your energy πŸ˜€

  3. subtlekate says:

    I’m so glad to read you’re getting lots done and being looked after. Great combination.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

