Diving Deeper Into The Ideas

Yay, another year older. Yeah, yesterday was my birthday. I decided not to make a big deal of it here. I wasn’t planning on mentioning it here at all, but it has me feeling a bit reflective this morning.

I’m actually looking forward to the coming year,  in a way I wasn’t this time last year.  I’ve gotten a good start in the last year on many of the things I want to accomplish in my life and I think that at least some of them may come to fruition this year. I just have to keep plugging away and demanding my best from myself.

In that spirit, I’ve been continuing to work my way through The Nine and I’m nearly done, 22 of 26 chapters marked up. Sort of nearly done would be a better description, really.  I’m still going to have a bunch of work to do on it once I get home,  as all of the concrete changes have to be entered and all the general problems have to be dealt with. There are sections I’ve simply marked as messy or needing work, because I prefer to do that directly into my document, as opposed to marking up a PDF. Sometimes it just works better for me that way.

I’m still dying to work on Where The Ether Flows, but those changes for The Nine will likely keep my nose out of that until June  1st, when I’m already planning to do an official NaNo with Ether Flows. Time-wise, things are coming together.  Now, if I could just learn some patience.  Yeah, right, cause that will ever happen 🙂

And, because I’m wildly incapable of doing just one or two things at a time, I’ve been making notes on a couple of other projects. I worked on my notes for book 2 of Necromantic, Masques and Spire of Time. Even on vacation, I do seem to keep busy. 🙂 In fact, Masques is finally starting to whisper to me and let me in a bit. That one will be quite the trip when I go to work on it, lots of interesting themes to explore. Some of it’s still in the mists, but I’ll get there in time. At this rate, when I finally get through all three books of Necromantic, it’s going to be a battle royale between Masques and Spire of  Time for which gets written next. I promise to try not to complain about too much inspiration, really.

I’m definitely sitting here thinking of how lucky I am, grateful for all the people I know and who believe in me.  Thank you all.  This is going to be a wild next year. 🙂

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Diving Deeper Into The Ideas

  1. Pete Denton says:

    Belated Happy Birthday for yesterday. I hope you had a nice day.

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    Belated Happy Birthday! And I’d love some patience, too—now! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Lol, thanks. And yeah, I’m about that patient to get patient too :). Maybe one day, but I doubt it. I was never good at patience.

  3. quix689 says:

    Happy belated birthday! Also, I nominated you for the versatile blogger award. Since you’ve done that twice, I don’t at all expect you to do all that stuff again, but since I read your blog all the time I couldn’t not include it on my list, and I figured you’d like to know. 🙂

  4. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Happy birthday! And I can totally see you accomplishing all your goals, girl! You definitely have the determination and perseverance! You’ve inspired me often, setting a good example for me as an aspiring author, and I’d just like to say thanks. Thanks for being there as proof that IT CAN BE DONE. Good luck to you and I shall enjoy watching as you continue your journey. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thank you! You always say such nice things. I’m glad I can inspire you, and I look forward to seeing you continue to push yourself to great things. I know you can do it.

  5. Peggy Isaacs says:

    Happy belated birthday!

  6. 4amWriter says:

    Belated happy birthday! 🙂

  7. Ottabelle says:

    We’ll be here with you every step of the way 🙂 Cheers and what not for the coming year 🙂

  8. S##!!@$%&&*! <– that's Kiwi speak for "damn I missed your birthday". Your year is gonna haul ass chickie, looking forward to stalki..uh, reading all about it here 😉

    • Julie says:

      Thanks, and my favorite kiwi is always welcome to stalk me a little 🙂 And since I didn’t announce the birthday until after it had passed, you didn’t miss it, you just weren’t informed.

  9. subtlekate says:

    This is a little belated, I am catching up on a few things, but yes, it’s going to be a great year 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

