Writer Unfulfilled And Irritated

The buzz phrase for today’s post is “Should have brought the NetBook.” Everybody got that? I feel right now like I should have. I think I will firmly blame Devan and love him for it. Why do I want my NetBook? No surprise, I desperately want to start writing Where The Ether Flows. I mean seriously, need to start writing. I don’t think there’s any way I’ll be able to wait until June to start. Heck, I can see me starting as soon as I get home from the airport.

It’s such a problem that I’m having some difficulty going through and editing The Nine right now. I’m only able to do mark up on the PDF at this point, given the lack of ability to edit a Word document unless I steal my parents’ MacBook Pro, which they might resent. I mean, I’m getting through it (already on chapter nine in fact), but behind every line I read, every note I make, I have this burning, whispering voice that begs to be written, and I’m sure it’s Devan. He’s doing his best to be louder than Tavis, and I think he’s on the verge of succeeding.

Yes, I know that I said I’d get killed if I brought the NetBook, and I still think I would have been. Which to me means I might end my vacation dead anyway, as I’m sure I can find some way to write while I’m here. I know I need to review the outline before I’m ready to go, but I figured out my missing piece and I’m totally ready mentally to just dive in. I’m sure that none of you are remotely surprised, as I always seem to operate on an accelerated schedule, even from the fast pace I plan for. Definitely blaming Devan for this one, all the way, and I’ll thank him for it later.

I’m probably going to try to finish editing The Nine before I give in, but that may only take me another few days at the rate I’ve been going. Then it’s back to either trying to restrain myself or risking my life. Oh well, what’s life without risk, right?

Really wishing I had my photo collection to throw one up now, but you know what they say about wishing. Oh well. I’ll have to post a few when I get back 🙂

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writer Unfulfilled And Irritated

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    I am NOT surprised at this turn of events. 🙂 You can always try Amber’s suggestion of pen and paper. It worked for hundreds of years. 🙂 Or steal your parents’ computer for the rest of the visit!

    • Julie says:

      you are trying to get me killed, I swear. And the problem with pen and paper is that my brain writes much faster than I can hand-write, legibly or illegibly. But I’ll probably give it a go anyway, if for no other reasons than desperation and the need to reward certain cooperative, enthusiastic necromancers 🙂

  2. quix689 says:

    Yeah, pen/paper isn’t nearly as convenient as computers are. Like you, I don’t seem to write fast enough, and I really hate having to type up everything that I wrote on paper. It’s better than nothing, though. If your family gets mad, just make sure to remind them that you’ll buy them lots of stuff when you’re a rich and famous author! 😀

    • Julie says:

      right , because authors routinely ger rich and famous. :p

      I won’t write enough with pen and paper for them to get really mad at me at least. With the NetBook, I’d zone in and tune out. My cats are used to this, my parents less so. And I agree about the whole typing it out thing, and that’s assuming I’ll be able to read my own writing later. Trust me, that’s a big assumption 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

