Closing And Opening

The vacation is going well so far, enjoyable and relaxing. It’s hard to feel anything else when you’re cruising around a lake on a pontoon boat with the sun caressing your skin, crazy but lovable relatives around you. It’s only a couple of days into my trip, but I’m already very glad I came back. I’m going to have to try to avoid it being so long again though.

Being on vacation hasn’t stopped me from getting writing done though. I think it would take severe injuries at least to make stop. I am please to announce that I have finished the outline for Where The Ether Flows. I think I figured out the missing piece I mentioned before, but well see about that. Now it goes into the drawer and I try not to think too much about it for at least a week (or however long I can hold out).

So, now what? Two things, which I’m likely to do simultaneously. First, is to start working with my initial ideas for book 2 on a general notes level. Some of it will have to change a bit because of what’s in the outline of Ether Flows, and I need a more concrete idea of what I need to accomplish in this, but I can do that. I likely won’t concentrate too much on that, simply because I want to see where writing Ether Flows takes me and that won’t start until June, when I will be doing at least the first of the two Camp NaNoWriMo months (June and August this year). I wouldn’t normally wait until then, but the timing works well with when I get back, and I’ll be writing this one NaNo style as always, so why not?

The other thing is that, after nearly a month, it’s time to take out The Nine and begin editing that one. I’m a bit nervous about that, especially as I’m about to hand the first two to my test readers (second round for Bound), but I think it’s time to start that process. A month away from it, a lot of which was spent wrapped in Necromantic, should help me have the critical distance I need to do this well though. It’s the close of the trilogy, what people will remember most, whether I do it well or not and I want to make it something excellent, well worth the journey. I’ll start seeing what I have to work with tomorrow, as tonight I’m just too tired and my iPad needs a charge. Tomorrow will be time enough.

As I said before I left, there won’t be a picture with my posts while I’m away and you’ll have to forgive me for that. Maybe I’ll do a post with a few pictures to make up for it once I’m back home. We’ll see how I feel about the idea when I get to that.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Closing And Opening

  1. beckony says:

    Wow you’ve got a lot of projects!

    Points for writing while traveling, too. I always find that hard to do.

    • Julie says:

      i think that the writing while traveling depends on your process and what stage your at. I’m just outlining and editing. I don’t know that I could write draft while traveling. I tend to tell the world to leave me alone then, and lattices object when you do that 🙂

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    Hope you’re having a great visit with family. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

