In The Bag

Not that kind of in the bag.  In fact, I’m generally the designated bartender because hours later, I’m still sober and therefor remember what goes into the drink, rather than just random alcohol in the cup.

No, Devan’s short story is in the bag.  I’m still trying to figure out a decent title to hang on this one, but I’ll get there. In the meantime, I’m giving it the tentative title “The Nandora Tree” until I come up with something I like better.  They can’t all come to me in a flash of insight like “The Way Out Is Through”, which incidentally turned out to be the title of a Nine Inch Nails song I love.  The things that lurk in our subconscious.  But back to Devan’s story. It’s done, clocking in at 5,781 words and I have to say, I’m relatively happy with it.  Unlike my last two, this one is really two scenes, rather than one long one, but I think I handled the transition well, and they relate enough that it shouldn’t be too jarring.  It goes in the drawer now, and we’ll see if I still think any of this when I pull it back out, which I still haven’t done with the other one I have in there.  It’s on the “would be nice to do” list for before the trip though.

Before I can even think about doing that, though, I have to finish those last several chapters of Possession and decide if I’m going to take that to the test readers in May along with the new version of Bound.  I’m almost positive I will, but I do reserve the right to change my mind.  I think it’s time though.  I’m mostly back to where I was when I sent them Bound, without perspective.  Like what happened with Bound, I know that it isn’t bad, but I can’t tell for sure anymore if it’s actually good.  I think it is, partly based on my experience last time.  I sent the test readers Bound and got back some good feedback and glowing commentary (plus they tore through it in a week or less for first reading, and that has to be a good sign).  So I’m starting to think that Possession isn’t as bad as I tend to think, but what do I know? I’m just the writer who shovels the words onto the page/screen. 🙂

I am a little surprised by the spurt of short stories, I have to tell you.  I don’t normally do them.  I usually suck at them, really.  Novels are more my home territory, and yet this is my third short in four months.  WTH? Not that I’m complaining, as the ideas are good and the results have been helpful.  I’m just a little baffled as I follow the inspirations around.

I’m also having some vague thoughts about Spire of Time while all of this is going on, including a short to explore Reah’s early history and why she ended up in the situation we find her in at the start of that book/series (not sure yet which it is, thinking at least two though), but I’m trying to keep focused on Necromantic.  Devan was very very patient (well, relatively very patient), and I’m seeing some serious potential in that trilogy, so the man deserves his turn at my relatively undivided attention.  I will probably have to explain to him first that I do get distracted and he’s not my only character out there demanding attention.  Hopefully he’ll be understanding, but I have some doubts.

Yes, I did get out yesterday while the sun was out and shining, which is good because I think from the forecast that it decided to have a weekend away.  Oh well, such is spring in Vancouver.  Here, however, is one of the several good results from yesterday.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to In The Bag

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    I’m not usually good at short stories either. But when they relate to the larger novel, for me there’s something easier then.

    I’m leaning towards them being extra content for the website when the books are published. But who knows. Maybe they’ll form a stand-alone book to accompany the series…. I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it!

    • Julie says:

      Well, I still have the one out at that contest. The other two are still too rough for me to even think about it yet. The one I finished today at least I’m thinking about trying to shop around to a few of the pro markets once it’s been polished up and I’m ready to let it out into the world. I don’t know. Too far in the future for me at the moment.

  2. subtlekate says:

    I’m another one who is no good at the short. You did have a very productive time…fantastic. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Thanks! It’s nice to feel the brain really revving up for the new project. Now I just have to sit down with the notes and partial outline I have for the first book in the trilogy and get that completed. That’s for while I’m on my trip though, as it just requires the iPad and my Steno pad. 🙂

  3. Pete Denton says:

    You really do manage to keep the words flowing. I’m impressed.

    I know you have been nominated before, but I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Your posts have certainly kept me thinking about knuckling down and writing some more.

    http://petedenton.wordpress.com/2012/04/29/50th-post-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

