Ask And Ye Shall Receive

Wow, I really wasn’t expecting that end to the week.  I mean, really, he didn’t even buy me dinner, not that we’re done with this little assignation yet.

I suppose I should back up and give you a little context to the above.  Devan jumped me on my way home.  Not literally.  I’m not that crazy (yet).  No, I was just trying to get a bit more of a handle on who he is and instead, he insisted I write a particular thing that will be a short story in its own right, though one with him in it.  And by insisted, I mean the story idea ate my brain.  I stopped walking home, whipped out my steno pad and scribbled an outline, as it came to me in a long broad swath of story.  I could see the whole thing.  The good news is that it’s a pivotal pre-trilogy moment for him, so it will definitely give me the insight I asked him for, I just wasn’t expecting that kind of response.  I’m clearly not going to get much of the out loud edit of Possession done tonight, because I’m having trouble thinking of or concentrating on anything else.  One hell of a way for Devan to say “Hi, it’s my turn now,” but I guess I shouldn’t be surprised.  This is the one who introduced himself with a beautiful, brilliant image that gave me the nucleus of the story.  I can already see that he’s going to find his own way to be unruly, if in a totally good way. 🙂

The good news is that I’m through 15 of 22 chapters for the out loud edit of Possession, so I guess I can afford to be distracted tonight, and that really is gravy on my list of things I need to get done before my trip.  I’m not sure that my test readers will agree, but they’ll live.  There’s almost no way I won’t get through it in time, even with this.  Besides, I like being this excited about my writing. It’s fun.

I’m a little torn though, as the sun is beautiful outside and my camera beckons.  But then Devon beckons.  Argh.  The life of an over-inspired writer.  No, I’m not complaining.  Maybe I’ll just go out for a little bit, shoot the stuff I saw on my way home, then come back and write, let the story simmer a little longer in my brain. Then I can come home and let my thoughts splatter across the screen.  Delightful image, isn’t that?  In apology, I will leave you with this one instead:

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ask And Ye Shall Receive

  1. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    Actually, the image I liked best was this one: “Maybe I’ll just go out for a little bit, shoot the stuff I saw on my way home…” 😀 Taken out of context, that can be a really disturbing image! 😄

    • Julie says:

      Hey, I assume from the regular posting of my pictures, and the regular tagging of my stuff, that you guys can figure out the proper context.

      But you aren’t the first person to look at me a little funny when I talk about shooting things 🙂

  2. Em says:

    Sounds like you’re going to be providing me with a lot of reading material when you come visit, eh? 😀

    • Julie says:

      Apparently, though I harbour very serious doubts that this one will be ready in time, since I’m only writing it tonight and I leave in about a week. I haven’t even checked the last one yet, been too busy getting the books ready 🙂

  3. jmmcdowell says:

    It’s hard to resist a character like Devan, isn’t it? And when they’re charming and attentive, well, how are we supposed to say no? Why would we want to? 🙂

    • Julie says:

      I know. I think that’s how Tavis kept getting his way every damned time. Charm, attractiveness, and constant attention. Damn it, I need to start writing about ugly misanthropes. Wait, no one, including me, would want to read about that… 😀

  4. 4amWriter says:

    I love those characters that stick right by your side, even when you’re nowhere near your computer. I’ve always been susceptible to daydreaming so some characters take advantage of that. But they’re the ones I end up listening to most earnestly.

    • Julie says:

      I totally agree. I suppose that I’ve been lucky. So far, I’m on a streak with those. I’m starting to foresee good things for the trilogy if this short story is any indication of the kind of story I’m going to get out of Devan 🙂 But I shouldn’t get ahead of myself. I need to finish the short story first. And editing Possession. Need more hours!

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

