Brain Explosions

You know, when most people tell you they had a 2.5 hour long meeting and during it, their brain exploded, it’s not a good thing.  But of course, this is me, wonderful, perverse, very-odd me.  So it is a good thing.

I really wasn’t expecting it to happen.  No, I definitely did not walk into my very long quarterly meeting at work expecting anything other than boredom and my name showing up on a couple of powerpoint slides (I’d been forewarned about that, but it was for good things). I did take my steno pad and a pencil with me because, well, that’s what I do.  Remember, this is the person who packed her writing things and forgot her house keys during the last fire alarm at work, so that shouldn’t shock you.

I was planning on paying attention to the meeting, honestly, but then I scribbled down a couple of notes for thoughts that came to me.  Then I went to a new page and titled it Book 2 (yes, for Necromantic, for all of you following along with the home version) and a massive outpouring of ideas occurred.  I tried not to scribble too furiously, lest it be noted too closely that I wasn’t paying full attention.  I made sure to look up occasionally.

When that slowed down, I tentatively flipped to the next page and headed it Book 3.  A few ideas poured out, accompanied by a bunch for Books 1 and 2. Then another flood, more Book 3 this time, and an ending! Yes! I know where this trilogy is going!  I have a direction for the overall story, I know what the basics of the individual arcs are, and I have 3 steno sheets full of notes, back and front.  I’m doing awesome!

I’m starting to wish we had quarterly meetings more often.  Sick, I know.

I suppose I should have suspected that it was coming.  At lunch, a couple of hours before the commencement of this meeting, I managed to get some more work done on the outline I’d started for Book 1 and I was feeling the stirrings within of a character ready to let me into his world completely.  Maybe part of that is the short story I wrote, helping me actually tap into the world of Necromantic.  I think part of it too is that it’s finally sinking in that I’m done writing the Mirrors of Bershan trilogy.  That doesn’t mean work on it is done, but having drafts of them all completed is a substantial thing, a major milestone.  I’m also almost done with the final read-through of Bound, and will be doing the first out-loud edit of Possession soon.  I think that this is all coming together in a way that is allowing me to make the transition from one story world to another, and it’s both wonderful and a touch sad.  I know I’ve said it before, but I’m going to miss Tavis.  Devan will just have to try to keep up.  I think he’s up to it. I already know that he’s never been one to shy away from a challenge if it was something worth doing.

So things are moving merrily along in my worlds, and I have this thought that I may be ready to start writing Book 1 of Necromantic when I return from my trip.  We’ll see.  I’ll keep you up to date, of course.

I love this picture, the colours and the springtime energy of it.  Another from a couple of weeks back, when I had my last camera outing.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Brain Explosions

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    Can you get some of your characters to convince some of mine that they need to be this helpful?! 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Well, I think Tavis is mostly free at the moment. I’ll have a chat with him, see if he’ll go tell your characters what’s what. 😀 I can’t promise it’ll work…

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    This should not surprise me but . . . ANOTHER trilogy? And you plotted it during a work meeting? My, my . . . *shakes head* It’s funny, because I was reading this post and I went “Aha! It’s going to be another trilogy” even before I got to the part about that XD You know, you are far too prolific for your own good. You’re going to put us all to shame and have written and published three trilogies before I even finish my third novel! 😀

    • Julie says:

      Oh, I had an idea some time ago that this was another trilogy, but now I know what’s going on, some of it at least, in each of the books. The deep details aren’t there yet, but those won’t be until it’s time to outline each book. It’s the way things went with Mirrors, and I have a feeling that it’s just the way my brain works. I will say, though, that I have tentative titles for each. And I suck at titles!.

      As long as quality remains good, prolific isn’t a bad thing. It’s just a matter of the hours I put into it, coupled with the volume of ideas I have. It works for me, where I’m not sure it would for everyone else. Or anyone else, maybe. My main worry, at the moment, is burning my test readers out, but time will tell on that. I may need to rotate through groups of them, for their own good 🙂

      As for the meeting, trust me, boring as sin. I plotted novels to keep from becoming comatose. In that sense, it’s actually a good thing we only have them once per quarter.

      • Celtic Forest Dweller says:

        Ha, I’m sure it was! I was actually being sarcastic. Believe me, I’ve read Dilbert. I know. 🙂 I mean, hey, you actually made that meeting PRODUCTIVE! Good for you, say I.

  3. Pingback: Vocal Editing and Singing Cats « Word Flows

  4. Joe Pineda says:

    This is the one great thing about writing. It’s not this ritual where you sit down, recline on your big sofa, smoke your pipe and think. It’s something you do because you can’t help it. I’ve had it happen to me during meetings, conversations with people and even in the midst of classes I’m teaching. It’s scary at first, but you get used to it.

    • Julie says:

      Oh, I’m used to it, believe me. I dive for my notebook all the time and love it. Once, the ideas kept me up until 3 am, but I didn’t complain too loudly about that either. To me, part of the creative process is being open to the idea or insight whenever it decides to show up. 🙂

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

