Routine Disruptions

It’s been a slightly odd time since I posted yesterday.  A bunch of things have happened totally out of any expectation that I might have had for this weekend, though most of them have been relatively happy ones, so I’m trying to avoid complaining about the disruption in my normal routines too much.

I’ll get the irritating one out of the way first, so that we can move on to the good news portion of this post.  The washing machines in my apartment building are broken.  All two of them.  Argh.  I do laundry on Sunday morning, while everyone else is at church.  This morning I went down and there was a sign on the door of the room saying that both of the machines were out of order.  Now, there is a laundromat that is almost literally right next door to my building.  I could go there, but I won’t, and not just because it disrupts my routine (even I’m not quite that neurotic).  No, I just really hate those places and I have nothing I can use to take my laundry over there.  I use a laundry basket to both corral my dirty clothes and take it downstairs to be magically turned into clean clothes.  None of this is oriented around going outside, so I’ll just wait and see if the machines are fixed when I get home from work tomorrow.  I don’t care.  I’ll live, it’s one flipping day.

Now that I’ve gotten that out of my system (I am neurotic enough that it needed out), I can move onto the better news.  I’ve made a few notes on Necromantic, and I have a few ideas for some supporting characters I’m going to need that I hadn’t thought of before.  I was working on that when one of the supporting characters I already knew about, Pras, INSISTED that I had to write about him.  I mean, he really wasn’t willing to even take “later” as an answer.  So yesterday I started a short story about him, called “The Way Out Is Through” and finished it this morning. It’s a bit longer than Cost of Duty was, almost 4600 words, and it’s interesting partly because I think some people might find the point the story turns around… odd.  Maybe even a bit creepy or off-putting, but there was no way I could get around it. In the end, it’s what the story had to be about. I don’t know if I’m ever going to try to get this one published, still too early for that and it’s really more something I needed to be aware of as I write the trilogy.  That doesn’t mean it isn’t a story, and it does centre around not one but really two decisions that Pras needed to make to lead him to where he starts out in book 1 of Necromantic.  I’m just not sure at the moment if that is a really good idea, or if it gives too many things away, or if it’s even appropriate.  Time enough to decide that later.  Right now, it’s in the *very* full drawer.

I’m starting to wonder if that drawer ever explodes from being overfilled.  Right now, mine has 3 novels and a short story in it.  Cost of Duty isn’t in there simply because, being in the contest, it technically counts as out on submission and I don’t do anything with a story when it’s in that status, no editing, nothing.  Hell, I even try to avoid rereading things that have reached that point, though I’ve broken that with this story on more than a few occasions.  I couldn’t help it, I like that story.  I can’t even blame Tavis for that.  He’s not in it at all.

On the subject of Tavis and things which are his fault though, I was converting the file I wrote The Nine in to a Word document (my netbook doesn’t have Word), and making sure that the formatting was correct for the chapter headings, when I kept getting VERY sidetracked.  I think that by the end, I had ended up rereading at least 4 of the 27 chapters (and the number is probably higher, but I’m trying to avoid checking, since that will end up leading to me reading more), and I have to say, I think I just might have done a good job on it.  I’m not pulling it out for a full edit until I get back from my trip, so I can’t say for sure yet. Really, I’m not.  Nuh-uh.  Yeah, I can hear you all laughing now.  I’m even laughing a bit at myself, because I doubt I have that kind of strength of will to resist my last fling with Tavis that long.  Really, I’m going to miss him. A lot.

I haven’t gotten out with my camera this weekend because, though the weather’s been fairly nice, it’s still been a bit cloudy and the light hasn’t been great, so I suspect that this weekend will end up being a wash.  Oh well, it’s not like I don’t have a backlog already of stuff I want to share.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Routine Disruptions

  1. 4amWriter says:

    I hate Laundromats, too, because they creep me out.

    I don’t think a drawer can over be ‘overfilled with material’, so to speak, although it can feel stressful knowing how much you might have going on! And you’re right, don’t count any that are in the submission process. That should help. 🙂

    I think you’re smart not to touch any pieces while they’re out and about–take advantage of the time away and work on something else. Makes sense to me.

    • Julie says:

      Thanks. The other half of not touching what’s out on submission is really a sanity preservation move. If I start tinkering with it, I’ll drive myself crazy thinking that I should have done so before I sent it in, that it’ll get rejected because I didn’t… You get the picture. 🙂 That neurotic self speaking up again, really.

  2. Celtic Forest Dweller says:

    No, it is a magical drawer that cannot be overfilled. Fortunately for you 🙂

    Ha, I knew you wouldn’t be able to resist writing something about Necromantic! While it’s not the actual story, it’s pretty close. I know you too well.

    Also, that picture is the most beautiful one you’ve ever posted! ❤

    • Julie says:

      It wasn’t a matter of resisting, that one jumped me, I swear. I wasn’t going to write it, but it insisted. I’m just glad that, according to you, the drawer won’t explode in my face, spewing words everywhere. That would be messy. 🙂

      And thanks. I have a print of that one up on my wall, actually. It’s a particular favourite of mine too.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

