Lack Of Sleeping In = Great Productivity

Ah the glorious weekend!  The time of relaxing and sitting around doing nothing but soaking up the sunshine…  Wait, sorry, I have that confused with someone else’s life.  Let me try again.

Ah, the glorious weekend! The time of furious all day writing work where I forget there’s an outside world unless I need groceries (and sometimes I ignore that too).  Yeah, that’s more like me. 🙂

I don’t even do the sleeping-in thing on the weekend.  I wake up at 6 am on weekdays.  On weekends, I’m lucky if I can sleep in until 7.  It was 6:45 this morning, and I think I only made it that late because I seem to be coming down with a cold.  I’m going to have to kick its butt though, because my big two-week trip is in two weeks.  I’m looking forward to that, because it’ll be the first time in nearly two years that I’ll get to see my family and friends.  I miss them, and so far I feel very popular, as many of them seem to be vying for their piece of my time back there.  This is going to be fun.  Don’t worry, I’ll almost certainly blog some during that period.  I’ll have internet access, so it’ll all be fine.

I’ve been busy the last couple of days, as always.  I’ve been working through the latest round of work on Possession, and really been wrapped up in that.  I’ll be starting Chapter 16 of 22 this morning, and I have this feeling that I’ll be done very soon, possibly by the end of the day, certainly by the end of the weekend.  Then I’ll give it a little time in the drawer, check it again with a pure read through and decide if I’m going to hand this to my test readers as well when I go back.  Right now, it’s looking very likely, but not certain.  I know I was happier with the new ending I worked in last time I edited this, but I think I wasn’t completely satisfied, so I’m not sure what will happen when I get there this time.  We’ll see.

I will not be pulling The Nine out when I’m done with this round, really.  It’s WAY too soon for that.  If I post here that I did that, please slap my hands and tell me to put it back in the drawer.  I sometimes have more enthusiasm than sense.  Okay, often.  All right, all the time.  Not the point.

I have to tell you, I’ve come to the conclusion that, unlike Tavis, Devan responds to suggestions, which is a nice change even if he’s a bit grudging about it.  I’m basing this on the way things have gone lately.  Since pointing out that he’s been sulking (rather like a child) over not getting his turn when he thought it was, he’s been much better behaved.  I’ve put together a small ream of new notes and I think that I’ll be back to outlining the first book of Necromantic soon.  I really do prefer it when he’s well-behaved.  He’s been letting me in on some of his personal history, as well as his past with his family, and I’m wildly intrigued.  I have to say, I like where this is going.  I doubt I’ll be in any position to start writing until sometime after my trip, particularly since I don’t expect to get a lot of writing work done while I’m away, but I’ll be ready when I’m ready. I’m not in any rush, really.  At least I’m getting somewhere with it.  I still need to figure out the ending, both of the first book and the trilogy before I get back to outlining, as I need to know where this journey is taking me.  I do have a general idea, but I want something a bit more specific.  Like I said, I’ll get there.

Before I forget, I’ve been tagged for a third time for the lucky 7’s meme, this time by Tanya Spencer.  I’m still deciding what I want to do about it, which is why I haven’t posted about it.  I’m of two minds.  Part of me wants to just pick a random excerpt from Bound, something I particularly like (and I think I know what it would be, but I’m not sure), while the rest of me wants to go with something from Possession, so that I can hit page 77 again.  I’ll post when I’ve decided.  I may also say that twice is enough, though I appreciate that people keep wanting to see more from me.  🙂

And to close this post, the picture of the day, from my last outing.  I should go out this weekend, catch the evolution of the neighbourhood flowers.  It’s supposed to be nice here, with good light.  Of course, that means tearing myself away from my writing…

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Personal, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lack Of Sleeping In = Great Productivity

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    Take care of that possible cold. There’s nothing worse than being sick on a long anticipated journey!

    And I’ll bet that when you get home, your characters will give you no rest until you catch up on their lives. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      Yeah, I’m usually good at kicking colds, thankfully. I fully anticipate Devan not giving me a lot of peace on the trip, but that’s what I have an iPad for, to make notes and beyond that, he’ll have to be patient 🙂

  2. Wow, reading that makes me wonder just how thorough of an outline you construct before sitting down to write? Also – wondering how you’re not a zombie by now… how can you get up that early? I’d die.

    • Julie says:

      There are a couple of layers of outline that go on. One for the whole story that includes all the events, then I do one for each chapter just before I write it that includes more detail and nuance. As for the zombie thing, I just never find writing that draining, and I normally get up early, so it’s not a big deal. 🙂

      • That’s pretty thorough! I only do a loose plot overall before I start. That’s pretty cool that you outline that well, I imagine it makes things run along a lot simpler. I just can’t seem to do so. It takes most of the fun out of it for me. I don’t find writing draining either, I enjoy it. I’ve never been a morning person though. Definite night owl!

        • Julie says:

          I actually still have. Lot of fun, but I think that’s partly because I’m still willing to deviate from the outline or redo it entirely if I need to or something isn’t working right. It’s all about being flexible. I does, however flow more smoothly and quickly most of e time if I do the outlining work. I also find that it leads to better first drafts usually.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

