Of Editing and Sulking Necromancers

I simply cannot tell you how glad I will be tomorrow when the weekend starts. I’ve had worse weeks, but I’ve also had better, and I’m just getting tired of a few things.  At least the training session went well today, and I don’t have another one on the immediate horizon.  More time for my own stuff 🙂

I’ve learned something very important in the last few days.  Necromancers sulk when they don’t get their way.  I swear, I think Devan’s been sulking since I finished The Nine, because it wasn’t immediately his turn.  No amount of explaining to him that I had a deadline has helped either.   I can see this one isn’t going to share well.  At least he seems to be over it now, mostly. He whispered something incredibly delicious to me as I walked in the door of my apartment after work.  I like it and it leads into a subplot for the story that I wasn’t aware of.  I think I’m going to forgive him for sulking, as long as he doesn’t do it again. I prefer it when he tells me his secrets willingly, rather than having to chase him down for them.  Much nicer when they’re being cooperative.  I’m also thinking that it’ll help if I read back through all of my notes for this one, just to refresh my memory.  I have, after all, written almost 93k since I last worked on this one.

I’m still working on another pass through Possession, and have realized that some of the edits I made to Bound added things that need to continue for at least part of Possession, so I’m doing that.  I’m working on Chapter 5 of 22 right now.  The problem I’m having tonight is that, after standing up and talking in front of a class as a trainer for three hours straight (not to mention the prep time beforehand), I seem to have total ADD.  I can’t seem to settle to anything, or hold my attention where I want it.  I think I should have grabbed that second coffee on my way out of work.  Lessons for tomorrow, I think.  I’m fairly sure that, after I finish this chapter, I’m going to take a break for a little bit, play some God of War, completely shift gears for a little bit.  It might help.  I’m hoping so, but whatever comes, comes.  I’ll have gotten in a chapter for the night, and that’s enough for me.  Sometimes you just have to listen to your body and brain when they try to kick back on you, right?

All of this means that you’re in for a short blog post too.  So short that it’s over.

About Julie

I'm a writer and photographer. I always have something with me to take notes for ideas or writing projects I'm thinking about or have on the go. I also like to go around with my camera and take pictures of anything that strikes me as beautiful or evocative. I'm perpetually working on one story or another, while waiting for enough distance to judge the last one (or more). I'm always working on several projects at once, developing the next book, even as I'm editing the last. Beyond that, there's always plenty of scraps and twists of ideas rolling around in my head, eventually turning themselves into full blown stories.
This entry was posted in Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts/rants/irritations:

